We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$293
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$297
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$486
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,927)
Filter reviews
1,927 results
Traveler rating
1,388
327
118
56
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,388
327
118
56
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsambar restaurantpatio suitecevichegolf cartoutdoor tubcenote suitebeachfront casitaamber restaurantcigar loungesteam roomconcierge officeall inclusive resortwalk in closetpool barquiet resortspa areahuge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
1,468 - 1,473 of 1,927 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent two nights here at the end of our two week stay in Mexico and it is a little piece of paradise. The suite we had was massive and the finishes very luxurious. The walk in double rain shower with marble and pebble floor was just stunning.
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.
The Aguamarina meal we had on our last night was outstanding I will be thinking about it for a long time. The standard of food was top class. We had a couples massage called the blue diamond exclusive and it was outstanding the best I have had. The spa itself is amazing.
Our only issue during our stay and we feel it is a big one was the service at breakfast. It seems they are either not trained well enough in the kitchen or our waiter didnt understand us but on both mornings we did not receive what we ordered. It also took over 1 hr 45 mins for breakfast. The waiter seemed to be working his socks off while other staff members observed. I would suggest a continental buffet to enjoy while you wait for your cooked order.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JunoSimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Diamond Riviera Maya April 4 and 5, 2012.
From the moment we stepped onto the property, the beauty was breathtaking. We had a room overlooking the lagoon and I would not call it a room. It was huge, just like a small house, it had a walk in closet and two showers (one outside) and a large bathtub. There was a large patio and everything about the room was great. The food in the restaurants was very good, especially the Ambar which is similar to a high end restaurant. The only downside is their house wine is terrible and better wine is not part of the all-inclusive. However you can order any mixed drink just like anywhere else in the resort for no charge.
The pool is right by the beach and there are two infinity pools. The beach area is nice and the entire experience was very relaxing.
One hidden aspect of the report that was amazing was the spa. You don't need to pay for a treatment to use the spa and it is amazing. You have full access to the spa two steam rooms, and they also have crushed ice that you can shower with afterward to cool off. There is an indoor pool with jacuzzi jets under a metal recliner that is in the water, so you can lie down in the pool with the jacuzzi. There is also a cooling off room and an outside pool. We were in the spa for over two hours and we were the only ones there so it felt like we had the entire spa to ourselves and the spa service was more than excellent.
I do have to agree with the other reviewers that the service was lacking in some places. The service in the restaurants was great but the concierge did not return some of our calls and we did have to wait for the shuttle beyond the time they told us it would take. However all you need to do is call them back and let them know that the shuttle did not arrive and they will send another one out. This is why I am not giving them 5 stars because we should not have to call them back. I advise for everyone to be proactive with all of your appointments and to call them ahead of time to confirm your spa and snorkeling appointment as our 9 am snorkeling appointment disappeared from their books and no one knew what happened. We did get a great deal on this resort online so it was worth every penny and I would recommend it to everyone outside of those that require perfect service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It's a lovely proprty, thanks to the quality that was demanded by mandarin when it first opened. Stunning grounds and villas, first class resort 'bones'.

But the management group is fumbling terribly, and made mistakes from the plain silly (screwed up names, un-answered emails, telephone calls not returned) to the downright ridiculous (spa appointments lost, no cash for change, 15 minutes to reach anyone at the desk, 2 completely spoiled bottles of wine...). It was really one ordeal after another, and even the resorts efforts to straighten out their errors were a disaster. One manager promised to fix our broken bed and appeared with 3 maintenance staff who accomplished nothing, the general manager offered to 'comp' a bottle of wine - which appeared on our bill!

The management company hasn't got the first clue how to run a high end resort - their bread and butter is low end all inclusive, and it shows.

It's a shame - the resort is stunning but the service is comically poor.

Stayed: April 2012
12  Thank pauljToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We, with another couple, had booked a 1-week stay at the Bluebay Grand Esmeralda recently. On our arrival day we were offered, and accepted, a free upgrade for 2 nights to the Blue Diamond by Bluebay, which is just a few resorts up the beach from the Bluebay Grand Esmeralda. We spent the last 2 nights of our trip at the Blue Diamond.

Our rooms were about mid-way between the spa (just past the lobby) and the Ambar restaurant/lagoon area (mid-resort). This resort is narrow across but very long from front to back, and the walk from our room to the beach area was approximately 15 minutes, and not shaded, so it was very hot. However, there were shuttles and the staff were happy to shuttle guests frequently. Guests can call the concierge and request a shuttle, or just wait for one to come along.

Our Jr. suites were absolutely gorgeous. They included huge windows/patio doors overlooking a private patio, a comfortable sitting area, a large closet and a beautiful bathroom with side-by-side rain showers. Our room also included a soaker pool on the patio, which could be filled upon request. We didn’t use ours because we spent more time at the beach, but it looked very nice. We were told rooms included an ipod dock, however ours didn’t, but our friends’ did. The mini bar was well stocked and we had turndown service while we were out for dinner.

The resort has 2 a la carte restaurants – the Ambar, which is in the middle of the resort and open exclusively for dinner; and the Aquamarina, which is beside the pool and overlooking the beach and served breakfast (buffet and a la cart), lunch and dinner. We enjoyed breakfasts and lunches at the Aquarmarina but our dinner there was a complete nightmare. We went late and there were only 5 occupied tables and 5-6 staff. After ordering and being served nachos and salsa, we waited 45 minutes before our first course arrived (which came BEFORE the amuse-bouche and the soup, which were both intended to be served before the first course). My friend almost got up to get our own wine, because the servers didn’t offer any, nor bring it even after we’d asked, and they took away our water glasses when they brought the wine, after the 2nd request. Despite the bad service that night, the food was good. The staff seemed to be always busy and rushing, but also very confused and we weren’t sure what they were busy doing, as I said there were only 5 tables occupied and the service staff outnumbered the tables. Service at that restaurant during the day was excellent, so maybe they were just training new people that night… Dinner at the Ambar was amazing. Great service and even better food. We also ordered a variety of snacks from the Seviche snack bar near the pool and they were also excellent.

The infinity pool is not very big, although it wasn’t very busy, being a smaller resort, and it was very quiet. There were no activities or games on the beach or by the pool. It was very relaxing. They did have shows in the evening outside beside the pool, however the facilities & lighting for this weren’t great and the 2 shows we saw had no more than 25-30 people watching, which seemed a shame. There is a bar (M-bar) open in the evening mid-resort above the Ambar restaurant. It had music playing but when we went there were no other guests there. There were a few people by the pool bar in the evening, but they mostly cleared out after the show and the music playing was resort-elevator music. We asked the bartender if it could be changed to something more upbeat and he said it wasn’t allowed. So don’t expect any kind of nightlife here.

There were lots of chairs available on the beach. The ocean bottom is quite rocky after the first few steps into the water, but it isn’t far before the bottom is sandy again. And although the water wasn’t clear, it was cleaner and less weedy than at the Bluebay Grand Esmeralda.

Wireless internet was free, worked well and was available in the rooms, by the pool and even on the beach.

Staff were very helpful, and engaging and overall service was beyond excellent.

This resort was beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay and didn’t regret going, but after 2 days we were starting to get a little bored and were glad to return to the Bluebay Grand Esmeralda for our last afternoon before travelling home. This resort would be perfect for anyone looking for something classier and more luxurious, more quiet and low key than the average all-inclusive resort.

Room Tip: All rooms were very quiet and private. Closer to the beach & pool would save you some walking.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gotta-c-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We just return from 4 days at the Blue Diamond, we spend the first 3 days of our trip at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda and they proposed us to change. The hotel site is wonderful and the rooms are great but we had a couple of problems. In our first room we didn't have hot water and the air conditionning didn't work, the first morning we had to leave early because we had an excursion, we ask for the shuffle but it take 40 minutes so we didn't had time to eat and they refused that we took food out of the restaurant. The hotel expend to a mile long so you have to take the shuffle. The second day they accept to change room because they still didn't fix the problems, we lost a lot of time calling them and waiting for them to call us back they said the room will be ready at 16:30, we call to be sure it was ready before leaving the beach but we finaly had the new room at 18:30. The second room was a beautifull suite next to the ocean with a terrasse on top, it was perfect.

We leaved the hotel very early for our plane so we ask the room service to be at our room at 5h20 for breakfast on our patio in front of the sea, they never showed! Finaly we went to the lobby and we received the breakfeast there (it was not what we order) and it arrived at 6:10 (the airport transportation was 6:20). Some people waited 3 days to have hot water and others were frustated because they waited an hour for the shuffle and were affraid missing their flight.

So the hotel, the site with the lagoon, the cenote... the rooms, the food are wonderfull, like in a movie but I would have prefer a less beautiful hotel and no frustrations.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are wonderful and you don't have to use the shuffle most of the time.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews