We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Playa Del Carmen luxury!!! Awesome hotel....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palm at Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palm at Playa
Ranked #23 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Playa Del Carmen luxury!!! Awesome hotel....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Super spacious room and they're brand new
Super comfortable bed
Service is superb
Double showers and basin
Large flat screen TV and cable tv in both lounge and bedroom
Air con in both rooms
Pool area is amaaaaazing. Incredible views. Lots of beds and the bar staff are great.
Had a problem with toilet seat....fixed in 5 minutes...
Breakfast includes coffee, juice or a fruit bowl, and a meal, breads. I feel this was adequate and quite tasty.
Multi-lingual staff

Cons:
The music from the rooftop pool bar is (way) too loud and goes til 1am(even when there is no one up there but bar staff). We thought it must have been going off for how loud it was so went to check it out but there were maybe 15-20 people on the Sunday night... By no means is it too loud that you can't sleep but is still heard faintly every night when trying to sleep...on sunday nights from 9pm the commercial electro dance music starts at full volume(like waaay too loud and aggressive for that time of the evening)...house music earlier and building it up to electro music would have been more welcoming...
NO fridge or microwave....we bought some leftovers home...shouldn't have bothered...

In saying that, we still absolutely love the hotel and would certainly stay here again and will be recommending it to all our friends...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jace_disgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez528, Sales Manager at The Palm at Playa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Jace,
We are grateful to you for choosing The Palm at Playa, and especially for sharing your valuable comment with us in detail.
We all offer you our sincere apology for the inconveniences with the music during your visit; I have taken note and will discuss these issues with the department head.
Despite these incidents we are very pleased to read all the positive notes you had for our hotel.
Playa del Carmen is a fantastic place and I’ll be counting days for your next visit. Personally I'll be glad to say hello in the early future.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Fidel Lopez
Sales Manager
The Palm at Playa
A Beach Lifestyle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    254
    53
    20
    22
See reviews for
120
677
62
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was my first time in the South of Mexico and my husband and I had a terrific time. The service and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel itself has an open and inviting feel, but at the same time is sophisticated. The room was big and the beds comfortable. The bathroom had a rainfall shower head, which was a big hit with my husband.
Because there were many tourists during the daytime, we escaped onto the roof top, which offers you the recluse, but not at the cost of catching some sun rays.
The level of service from the staff was just unbeatable, and that trumps anything else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Citylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez528, Sales Manager at The Palm at Playa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Citylo,
On behalf of the whole team at The Palm, I would like to thank you for your valuable comment.
I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your suite, the shower and the rooftop facilities while visiting this part of Mexico. Also I trust this visit allowed you to enjoy the fantastic beach lifestyle while in Playa del Carmen.
Hopefully you are coming back soon for another sun and beach experience, and personally I’ll be glad to say hello again.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Fidel Lopez
Sales Manager
The Palm at Playa
A Beach Lifestyle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Amazing hotel in Playa del Carmen. Small touches help to create the relaxed, anti-stress vibe. The rooms are done in neutral tones and natural materials, so your eyes are drawn straight to the pool deck, where the swimming pool is rimmed with loungers and the hotel is just a few steps from the beach. My stay at the hotel was simply perfect.

-Conrad Carter.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GE92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear GE92,
Thank you very much for choosing The Palm at Playa.
We truly appreciate your post and your excellent rating to The Palm Hotel. I’m glad knowing you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as our rooftop with the pool and the fantastic sea view perspective. While here we hope our location has allowed you to enjoy as well the magical lifestyle of Playa del Carmen.
Hopefully you are coming back soon for another ‘stunning’ experience. Personally be happy to greet you next time.

Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General Manager
The Palm at Playa
A Beach Lifestyle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have just got back from my second time in Mexico and second visit at Playa del Carmen. I stayed at The Palm for 5 days and had a great experience.

The hotel has a minimalistic/contemporary design. It is located at the heart of Playa and close to everything. On my arrival I was greeted by the friendly hostesses at Reception and was also given the opportunity to book a complimentary welcoming massage - which was amazing. Travel tips provided by Reception are also good. A voucher of 10% for the beach bar Sensi is also part of The Palm hospitality (would recommend going to Sensi in the evening, great live bands and good food)

The hotel and room is exactly as presented at the pictures. We were allocated a room at the back which gave us peace and quiet. Rooms are beautifully designed. As part of my job I travel a lot, staying at 4/5 star hotels and the rooms have nothing to envy from some of those. Only difference is that at the Palm you don't get to pay the pretentiously high premium price you get to pay at the others (and some times with no reflection of the price on the quality of the room).
The bottled water provided at the room every day was free of charge.

In terms of sleep quality overall was ok. It could have been better if our room wasn't lit because of a floor light at the bathroom - door was transparent and our room was lit as light was coming in - I guess minor detail for others but not for me as I enjoy sleeping in the dark!

There is a pool terrace which is magical at night; nice breeze, relaxed ambience/lighting, lounge music and good margaritas to kick off your evening. Bar staff was very cool and friendly - they have helped out to prepare a small birthday celebration for me :-).

Breakfast at the restaurant is good - you choose from the a la cart menue - and late timings until 11am are great taken that this is a party town and late mornings are scheduled for most days. Be alarmed though, even 5 mins after 11am and charge applies for breakfast. A bit of shame this lack of flexibility; one day we arrived at 11.10 and were told that we had to pay.

I feel there is some space for improvement around staff friendliness at the restaurant (although Eddie is a bright exception cheering our mornings every day), a smile is the simplest thing but does create a good atmosphere. Maybe it is a 'lost in translation' thing though.

A bit disappointed that my birthday wasn't noticed by the Reception staff, as seen at the previous reviewer's comment below. That would have been a nice touch! Maybe something to note for other guests in the future!

Overall, would highly recommend. Great for singleton groups as well as couples. Although if you are looking for a 'love nest' disconnected from the world this is probably not your choice as the hotel is very lively!

Room Tip: If you want more peace ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKbliss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear UKbliss,
On behalf of the whole team at The Palm, I would like to thank you for your valuable comment.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the suite, the restaurants and the rooftop area. Also I trust you could enjoy the fantastic lifestyle of Playa del Carmen.
Hopefully you are coming back soon for another sun and beach experience.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General manager
The Palm at Beach
A Beach Lifestyle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location if you're looking for easy access to 5th Avenue and the beach. New modern boutique hotel, very comfortable accommodation. On the downside, very noisy, rooms lack any sound proofing and you're exposed to internal and external noise, which at weekends can go on until the very early hours. Staff friendly, but lack consistency in service and very disappointed money taken from our room. Roof top pool bar excellent, cocktails thrown together rather than created. Hotel restaurant served great food.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank F_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear FM WIlliams,
Thank you very much for staying at The Palm and for your valuable comment on us.
I offer my sincere apology for all things you couldn’t enjoy during your las visit, regards to the comments about your experience I have taken note and will discuss these issues with the department heads.
We hope that despite these issues you had a pleasant stay, and I do look forward to be given the opportunity to personally welcome you again to The Palm at Playa.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General manager
The Palm at Beach
A Beach Lifestyle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Palm at Playa has less reviews than many of its counterparts, so we took a bit of gamble coming here. It has paid off. The room is appropriate for 2 people, it is cheaper than many of its competitors and the breakfast sumptuous. I would stay here again, in a heart beat.

Room Tip: 107 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderingpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Wanderingpuri,
Thank you very much for giving us this opportunity. We have no so many comments yet because we just open two months ago. Therefore we truly appreciate you post and your excellent rating to The Palm at Playa. Also, we hope our location has allowed you to enjoy the magical lifestyle that Playa del Carmen offers to its visitors.
Hopefully you are coming back soon for another experience in couple. Personally be happy to greet you next time.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General Manager
The Palm at Playa
Lifestyle Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Let me start off by saying this is the first review I've ever written, but I felt it was necessary for such a nice place. It was a little difficult to find (If you're walking toward the water and you've passed the burger King you went to far :) The main entrance was very nice, friendly staff, clean elevator. Our room was EXACTLY like the pictures shown. We went with another couple and stayed at their double room. Now, be sure when you go there you request the double rooms that are laid out IDENTICAL! There is another double room that the second is more of a kids room. If you go there with another couple, one is a Master and the other is NOT. We made sure we got the two Master Suite rooms. They appear to still be in the modeling phase as the main areas were a little bare, but who cares as the bedrooms were super super nice and we never hung out in the main area anyhow. The balcony/roof was cool with a pool and hot tub, with mojitos FREE at night (This could have been a promo so don't expect it). The breakfast was complimentary with a good selection of Eggs, Fruit, Coffee, Grapefruit juice, hashbrowns, and bacon. The only thing that they promised was a room full of bottle water which wasnt there and they charged for it (Small issue).

We DID hear the adjacent building roof party, but if you turned on the fan it drowned out 85% of the noise. Honestly though, this place was great for a Mexican hotel. Cleanliness was top notch, staff was great, location was PERFECT (3 min walk to water).

All and all, the only issue i'd see is if you were a really light sleeper you'd have some issues, but expect that with ALL hotels within a 3 mile radius of this one. No exception.

Bedrooms: Waterfall showers (FYI to make it warm turn to cold, wait 2 min, its backwards), Clean toilets, clean beds, soft, comfortable, spanish TV (Not really on much), Pics are accurate.

Gym: New, with weights up to 55lbs, little cardio and a few benches (No bench press)

All and all we were super happy with the stay and 100% recommend it. If you are a light sleeper maybe ask for a north facing room.

Room Tip: South facing, Third Floor. Master Double Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoyaAl, Gerente at The Palm at Playa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Steven R,
We are grateful to you for choosing The Palm at Playa, and especially so for sharing your experience with us in detail.
Our hotel is a special place for people who want the best of traveling and we are proud that you were able to enjoy your stay at The Palm. Also, as the hotel with the best location in town, we hope that this visit has allowed you to enjoy the magical lifestyle that Playa del Carmen offers visitors.
In The Palm at Playa will be waiting for your next visit. Personally I'll be glad to say hello.
Receive a warm greeting from paradise.
Alejandro Moya
General manager
The Palm at Beach
Lifestyle Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#9 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm at Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm at Playa

Property: The Palm at Playa
Address: Calle 8 Norte entre 5ta Avenida y 10ma | Manzana 29, Lote 5 Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palm at Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a boutique hotel in central Playa del Carmen, The Palm at Playa goes beyond the typical hospitality by offering the true lifestyle-beach character. With an accurate service, contemporary-beach design and a superb location by the "5ta Avenida", the town's most vibrant area, The Palm at Playa puts the best in town to handy distance.There are 69 resort-style accommodations which include lofts and apartment-like suites, very chic, generous in space and details. Our Restaurant Calle 8 offers Mexican contemporary cuisine at local prices, while the gym, yoga and holistic-themed therapy rooms at the Spa are still parts of the experience.But our star is the rooftop with the Bar and swiming pool. It's a perfect spot for celebrating the occasion in a stylish atmosphere, a place where dramatic ocean views and rounds of mojitos and margaritas flow constantly. The swimming pool, Jacuzzi and snack bar are the prefect set to relax under the warm and balmy Caribbean sun. But at night the whole terrace transforms itself into to a jazzy-vibrant stage. A chic and trendy place meaning the perfect setting for young souls seeking the groove, while gazing at the horizon and the sizzling lights of Cozumel Island.There are many things to know about The Palm, but the true is just feeling good factor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palm at Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm At Playa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing