We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with good food”
Review of Aldea Corazon

Aldea Corazon
Reserve with OpenTable
Aldea Corazon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Healthy, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tasty Mexican food with a view of 5th avenue and the most beautiful garden and cenote in the back.
Kempten, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with good food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The place is simply worth being looked at, a tiny tropical forest in the middle of the chaos of Playa del Carmen. The food was generally tasty but also kind of hit and miss. Worth a try: Tacos de Jicama and the seared tuna. Not good: Tacos de Arrachera. They might still have a promotion where If you buy your wine at La Europea you can bring your own bottle of table wine and pay no fee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smashing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    281
    91
    43
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Mexican Fine dining”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I didn't realise when we went to this restaurant but this is essentially like Mexican fine dining. The service and ambiance was really good (don't sit too close to the waterfall it does stink a little bit). And the food is a fancy interpretation of Mexican food.

I think if you are into fine dining you will love this place. I am not a huge fan so while I found the food tasty it's not somewhere I would go back to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank f44444444f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Steak and Cactus was Superb”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

we had a one night stop in playa last spring. we just happened into Aldea as it was next to where we were meeting friends. we had the best service. the steak with cactus on the side was very good. i just had to share.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tabac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“What a waste/such a shame”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I dined here tonight, overall it was so terrible in every aspect, I wanted to check it out on tripadvisor to see what other people think about this establishment... and boy am I surprised!!!! 4.5 out of 5? Are you serious people? If you are, then I can't take tripadvisor seriously!

Yes they have a beautiful deceiving back yard which managed to lure me in but no ambience can save this place, this restaurant is a great example of how to do it very very wrong. Overpriced horrible food, sluggish uncaring service.. A tourist trap, nothing more. Don't go here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gokay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgaxiola, Public Relations Manager at Aldea Corazon, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Gokay, thank you for visiting us and we are sorry your experience at Aldea Corazón did not match your expectations. At Aldea Corazón me strive to provide an excellent service and menu. We hope you come visit us again and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fajitas ever!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I made my husband stop here to eat during our visit and so glad I did!! I had the chicken fajitas and SO glad I did. The restaurant is a little hidden gem. From the front, it looks like a little bar with a couple tables. Once you walk in, it opens up to a little tropical outdoor paradise. It's beautiful. The food was great, the Mango Margaritas were fantastic. AND, they had some great options for my kids to eat there, too. Loved this place!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slbjax9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldea Corazon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aldea Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing