We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Los Itzaes!! Fabulous location, very clean and was perfect!!”
Review of Los Itzaes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Los Itzaes Hotel
Ranked #92 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2010

A fabulous experience, and one of the nicest Hotels in town. Close to everything, safe to walk around even late night. The Wal-Mart was just 3 blocks away to stock up on water and supplies.. Awesome service, very clean and comfy. Loved the roof-top pool. Noone was ever there, so "no tan lines". The pool was a bit cold, but it didn't matter. The weather wasn't very hot, and cooler nights kept the water cool I suppose.
We really enjoyed Los Itzaes, and will be back. I'm a travel agent, and wanted to try something not all-inclusive and I am definitely going to recommend to my tour companies to offer more EP Hotels in Playa del Carmen. So much more affordable than the all inclusives, and the restaurants are wonderful in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlbsrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 167 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2010

The hotel entryway feels like a courtyard surrounded by hanging gardens and our room had french windows that opened onto a breezy balcony. The shower never warmed up much, but the room was very clean and had a fan and A/C, as well as a mini fridge, a safe, and a blowdryer. The hotel is located close to the Quinta, the beach, and various nightclubs, including the Coco Bongo---good if you want to shop, swim, and enjoy the nightlife--not so great if you need to get a good night's sleep. They don't furnish parking, but we found a free spot just up the block, and there is a pay-to-park lot around the corner.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oregonjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

My wife and I first stumbled on Los Itzaes about seven years ago when we did a day trip to Playa from Cancun. Since an ice storm was coming in on the weekend, we extended our stay a week and moved to Los Itzaes from Cancun never again to return to Cancun. We stayed there on our trips to Playa for a couple of years and were always very happy with the cleanliness, spaciousness, location and price. We now have a place in Playa, but I just moved to Los Itzaes for three nights since my wife had three friends coming in for a long weekend of bridge. The hotel has lost none of its charm and thev've even added some tables on the rooftop, with a small pool and a view of the lights of Cozumel at night. Finally, the staff (family run, I think) is the same staff that has been there since we first went there and they are competent and friendly. Each room also has a small refrigerator, AC, and cable tv. Unless needs (wants?) a luxury hotel, it's hard to believe you would be disappointed with Los Itzaes.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diogeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I stayed at Los Itzaes Hotel on August 9-10, 2009.

As other reviewers have said, the hotel is centrally located and close to so many places you will want to be. It’s just a short stroll to the bus station, great restaurants, shops, and the beach. The hotel is also a participant in Mamitas Beach Club, which would permit access to the beach if you want to use it. My travel companion and I never did use this service but it’s nice to know it’s there.

I was impressed by this property from the start. The lobby is gorgeous! There are vines and plants hanging down from the top of the four floor atrium and it gives the impression of a cool oasis. They have everything from long pothos vines to small palm tress growing in there. It’s marvelous.

We arrived late in the day on the 9th and at the reception we were met by Jose who we found to be friendly, welcoming, and helpful. It was nice to see a smiling face after our long trip to arrive there.

Our room was beautiful! Soothing shades of green and cream. The floors were marble tiles (be careful not to slip) and the bathroom was entirely marble with a beautiful walk-in shower. The water pressure was strong and a hot shower was reviving after a long trip. There’s a little balcony too with French doors that overlooks a busy street. Despite the traffic, when these doors were closed we could hear no noise. The air conditioner was strong and state of the art. When the balcony doors were opened, the system shuts off so energy is not wasted. Clever! The beds were super-clean and very comfortable. I slept so well! The mattress was new and firm.

We really enjoyed the rooftop pool. It’s really takes you away. You can see the ocean from the roof and all of surrounding Playa del Carmen. The pool is chic and stylish and a nice place to retreat to at the end of the day or even for a quick swim before you head out.

On our last day we stored our luggage behind the desk and the staff was happy to do this for us. They were all smiles.

I would recommend this great hotel to anyone. It’s fresh, modern, and stylish and comes at a great bargain since it’s not on the beach. It was a terrific stay in all aspects.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavishstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I loved this place-clean, well kept, roof top pool is a plus, but the beach is only two very short blocks. It is near everything. It's one block off Quinta Avd. The people are very friendly. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdgalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Los Itzaes is a great hotel! We have stayed at Los Itzaes on two vacations. Our latest stay was for 19 nights, and we loved it. The rooms are clean, and the hotel is lovely. There is a swimming pool on the roof where you can enjoy seeinig the sunset. The lobby is filled with plants and the chirping of birds. It felt like paradise. The hotel supplies beach towels. Los Itzaes also provides a free breakfast. We enjoyed the chilaquiles, hot cakes, and the fresh fruit plate. The hotel is located 2 short blocks from the beach. You can view the ocean from the roof and from some of the rooms. Each room has a small balcony. We will stay here on our next visit to Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funromanticgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

There are dozens of hotels to choose from in Playa Del Carmen but a lot of them are located on 5th avenue which is great if you want to be on top of the bars and restaurants but not so great if you want a bit of peace and quiet in your hotel room. Los Itzaes is on10th which runs parallel to 5th so it's close to all the action on 5th but far enough to get a decent nights sleep without interuption.
The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us.
I made our reservation with the hotel directly and managed to get a deal that included all taxes, breakfast and free sun loungers on Mamitas beach. The receptionist will also give you fresh beach towels every day. I can’t wait to go back to this great little hotel.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank mark1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#122 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
310 reviews
1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#75 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#62 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#38 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#36 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Itzaes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Itzaes Hotel

Address: Avenida 10 Lote 3 Esq. 6 bis, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $74 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Itzaes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Itzaes Hotel is a recently renewed boutique hotel in the heart of Playa del Carmen, only steps away from the famous Quinta Avenida. Inside this colonial style hotel, you will find 16 spacious rooms, each with a small balcony where you can do some sightseeing as well as relax and enjoy what will sure be an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Los Itzaes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Itzaes
Los Itzaes Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing