We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
130
67
11
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
130
67
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator rooftop pool great location la quinta continental breakfast nice breakfast room facing rooms are clean yogurt boutique hotel quiet at night top floor air conditioner the hotel staff ave walmart beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 213 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2017

Excellent location, close to all the action on 5th Ave but far enough away to be quiet. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms and hotel are clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFCityLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Eugenia U, Gerente at Los Itzaes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Hello SFCityLover!

We are very happy you liked our accomodations as well as our staff, in which we are really proud of.

Hope to see you again here with us.

Best regards,

Maria Eugenia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2017

Los Itzaes has a great location... right in the heart of Playa's shopping and restaurant areas. It is just a few blocks from the beach. The staff was so nice and friendly and always willing to answer questions or give advice. The Hotel was so quiet, it wasn't until breakfast that I realized there were other guests in the Hotel! A Continental breakfast was available. The Hotel is 3 floors. There isn't an elevator but someone carried my bags up for me. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AirpassTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Eugenia U, Gerente at Los Itzaes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear AirpassTravelers,

Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review.

Best regards,

Maria Eugenia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

I stay with couple of friends. The place was clean. All workers were very nice with us. Maria help us a lot with the tours. The girls made pretty things with the towels. Hope to go back soon. Even though the swimming pool was at the fourth floor it had a very nice view.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Marthita122725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016

So what did we learn in Economics 101, when it come to real estate the 3 main factors are Location; Location and Location.
This place knocks it out of the park on location.
Perfectly situated on, on 10th Avenue, just one block over from 5th avenue which is the happening avenue in Playa Del Carmen.
Also just 3 blocks walk to the beach.
Ever been to New Orleans ? Who doesn't love the party and music on Bourbon Street but do you want to stay on Bourbon Street ? Not especially, same idea here, you want easy access to 5th but a quiet safe refuge when you are tired and just want to get back to your room and rest.
Maria the Manager and Daniela will make sure that your stay is smooth and you are comfortable. If you want they are happy to help with dinner reservations and other recommendations of things to do.
One other great advantage is the proximity to the ADO bus station, not a long walk if you have light luggage. You can take the ADO bus from the airport in Cancun to Playa del Carmen and then walk to the hotel.
Even though most places will accept credit cards, we found it very useful to have changed some USD to pesos, made things simple when negotiating with street vendors or buying smaller items.
We also took advantage one afternoon of their rooftop pool. Not much of a view but it was clean, comfortable and quiet.
We just got back and we were there before peak season so I am not sure about noise level during peak times but I found it comfortable, quiet, relaxing. Staff and house keeping were exceptional.
For future visits to Playa Del Carmen, this will be our go to spot for 4 or 5 day holidays ! Hope this helps some of you with your choices !
Buffalo Joe

The place is kept spotless clean and the rooms are every bit as nice as the photos on their website.

Room tip: roomview disappointing, but honestly cleanliness, location and comfort 2 thumbs up ! .
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Eugenia U, Gerente at Los Itzaes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Hello Joseph,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoy the hotel, the location, our services but must of all, our staff.
We consider our location perfect for those who want to get to know Playa del Carmen and surroundings and we are very proud of all our staff who is always trying to exceed expectations.

Hoping to see you again,

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016

The first time my girlfriend and I visited Playa Del Carmen, we knew we would be back. We loved the weather, food, shopping, and overall vibe. We stayed at a few places our first visit (we always come for 2 weeks) and we found Los Itzaes. We've been back and stayed at Los Itzaes the entire time the last three years in a row.

First, we really love the location. It's a block away from 5th, so it's not as noisy, and it's still very central to everything we want to do. There are literally 5 of the top restaurants in playa within a few blocks from Los Itzaes, not to mention countless smaller and affordable food vendors right outside the front door. Our preferred beach area is south past the ferry docks to Cozumel, so that is also a relatively easy walk, plus we can head also head north along 5th and get to several other places to eat and shop that we like. Overall, the location is just perfect for what we like to do in Playa.

The rooms at Los Itzaes are really nice and a great value. The hotel is clean and lovely. Every time we visit, it's always extremely low key. I've never seen kids there to be quite honest, only a handful of adults at the busiest time of year, and normally the entire hotel seems to be to yourself. I believe they only have around 10-12 rooms, so it's never a madhouse. The very best part of the hotel in my opinion is the rooftop pool. It's wonderful hanging out there and winding down enjoying the Mexican sunset and breeze. Again, I've never seen more than a few people up there at a time, and normally it's completely to yourself. Even during BPM in Janaury, we only saw three other people up there a handful of times.

The service every time we visit is wonderful. We don't really require a lot, we just want people to be kind to us and give us fresh towels for the beach =). Juan Jose mans the locked gate at night and he is especially always a pleasure. Fun guy to practice my Spanish with (although admittedly it needs work). Everyone has always been sweet to us. One tip though - if the water is ever cold in the shower, just call down to the desk and ask them to turn it on. It takes just a couple of minutes and it will be hot again. For some reason they turn off the heater a lot of times when not in use.

Overall, we absolutely love this hotel for location, cleanliness, value, and chill vibe. We'll see you next year Los Itzaes!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank CodyEatsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Eugenia U, Gerente at Los Itzaes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Hi Cody!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy you like our location, we actually consider it one of our best assets, as well as our spacious rooms.
We have 16 rooms in total, and because of that, even when we are full, you won't feel it been too crowded.

We hope to see you again next year as well!

Best regards,

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews