We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa del Shiva ticks all the boxes”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda del Sol
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Casa del Shiva ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a really nice hostel 5 minutes by colectivo (30 pesos) from the center of Playa del Carmen, close to some good value/quality local restaurants and food stands and away from all the expensive touristy hotels and restaurants that are crammed into the center close to the beach. It feels safe walking around the area and it's great to be able to eat, travel and live close to local people when staying in such a touristy location.

It's a really attractive, modern house with comfortable common areas inside the property and outside on the patio and by the pool. The rooms are great...ours was huge with an equally spacious shower room and bathroom...and super clean with a very comfortable bed. The price includes a continental breakfast served by the pool.

Siobhan, Jasper and Miguel do everything they can to make your stay at the hostel comfortable, have a massive combined knowledge about the area which they are happy to share with guests, take a pride in ensuring that people staying here have a good time and they work hard keeping the place spotlessly clean.

I"m planning to stay here again in a few weeks time and already looking forward to it. If you are looking for high quality accommodation at a good price and away from the crowds, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
12
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

A great week a Casa del Shiva!!! Thanks to Siobhan, Miguel and Jasper for making our stay so welcoming. All staff are friendly and knowledgable about the area, and are always happy to help and provide you with all the tips you need.

Our room and the facilities were clean, spacious and contained everything we needed. The bedrooms include a fan, and A/C for use at night time - (although we didnt require the use of the A/C and found the fan was more than suffient, its a shame some people like to waste power, energy and money wanting to run A/C all day long!!! Keep in mind people this is a hostel and not a 5 star hotel)

Outside there is an outdoor kitchen available including a fridge so we could keep our drinks cold and snacks fresh, Siobhan even cooked our ´catch of the day´on the outdoor BBQ, and it was delicious! Each morning the breakfast is included and there was a variety to choose from including toast, cereal, toasted sandwiches, tea & coffee, and to top that off there is also a big bowl of fresh fruit. Cant complain with that hey!!!!

This hostel has a really chilled environment and has multiple common areas (and a swimming pool) to relax or hang out with other guests or the staff.

There are a few comments regarding the location of the hostel in a negative way. I strongly disagree with this!!!!!!! I couldnt be happier to be where we were. This side of the highway is far more locally influenced, and has great food (a lot cheaper than the main strip) and great local people, its always great to experience the culture of the place you are visiting. Each day we caught the collectivo with the locals for 5 pesos into the main town (only a 5 minute journey) and back again of an evening. We didnt have a problem walking around this area at night and never felt unsafe, and we are two female travellers. Taxi´s would be a waste of money (about 30 pesos) when the collectivo is safe, reliable and comes every minute or so!
It was great to be further away from 5th ave area at night as it is really loud, and we were able to have a great nights sleep!

I highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Playa del Carmen!!!! Great value for money with a friendly vibe and clean facilities! I would definately return to this hostel!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzKez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you're heading to Playa del Carmen and want a true Mexican haven Casa Del Shiva is the only place you need to go.

The staff, Miguel, Siobhan and Jasper, are incredibly friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Smart, funny and down to earth.

The hostel is kept very clean and tidy, tucked away just outside of Playa's centro. It is big and spacious, large outdoor area, outside kitchen, free bike hire, hot water, cheap beverages and excellent wifi. Breakfast every morning was full of selection and every night I had the option of paying a very small fee for an absolutely wonderful home cooked meal. In fact I only ate out once for the time I stayed as the dinner's were always varied, delicious and of excellent quality.

I found the location perfect for what I was looking for, close enough to the beaches (a short taxi or bus ride) but far enough out of the way not to be constantly surrounded by the more touristy hassling that comes with the beautiful Caribbean beaches and resorts. In the immediate area locals only speak Spanish, little English, and I found that a refreshing contrast to the centro, giving me the opportunity to continue to improve my own spanglish. There are wonderful restaurants and eateries a few mins walk away from Shiva as well as what can only be described as Mexico's most enthusiastic karaoke bar.

Casa Del Shiva felt more like home away from home than just a hostel and I would highly recommend anyone travelling to Playa Del Carmen look no further.

Special mention to Grinchy and Sleazy.

Room Tip: Both private rooms and dorms are good, dorms are fairly big, with lots of storage space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hostel is really beautiful and I thought the staff were fabulous and very welcoming. The hostel rooms were great and very clean! The cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in thats for sure! I had breakfast and dinners there cooked by the lovely Shiv and thought the food was brilliant. They have a nice pool and chill out area which was great. The location for me was perfect as it was away from the americanized centre and felt like I was in the real mexico rather then tourist mexico. Shiv was fantastic and very helpful! I felt at home and met some cool people we sat around the table for dinner which was great for me as a solo traveler. I would defo be coming back for the BPM festival and staying at Casa Del Shiva. Loved shiv's parrots they were gorgeous. Thank you Shiv :-)

Room Tip: The king size room upstairs with a pool view was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Could not have had a better stay anywhere in Mexico... the staff are really friendly, the place is great and the price is excellent. A must if you're travelling through mexico!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Loved this hostel - it's very clean, lovely owner, fantastic food and great pool/chill-out area. The location admittedly isn't the best but it's really easy and cheap to get into town and definitely worth the little extra effort to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Do hostels have pools? do they have en suites? private double bedrooms, Chillout zones, Sunday BBQ's . Alfresco dining, Evening caberet almost every night from Spains top spanish singers !!

Can you really have all this for £10 with a friendly breakfast included and proper home cooked food in the eveing!! OH i dont think so !

If you want to hostel in Mexico , head to Playa del carmen and base yourself at Casa del Shiva..

All the people i met at this hostel all ended up staying longer than they had initially intended , just because ....... If Carlsberg did Hostels ... They would do Casa del Shiva hostels... Probably the best hostel in the World ....
As Nike say .... JUST DO IT

Room Tip: They are all brand new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatinginbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.0 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,901 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,136 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
10.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
13.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Property: Hacienda del Sol
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre Av 120 Y 125, Playa del Carmen, Mexico (Formerly Casa del Shiva)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside the tourist driven madness of Playa del Carmen, Hacienda del Sol provides the best of both worlds. Live among the locals with local prices. Save on drinks and food with a variety of local establishments within walking distance. When you're ready for the craziness of Playa or just want to hang at the beach, take one of our bikes, for free! Or take a 5 peso, 10 minute colectivo ride straight into the heart of Playa's party zone. Feeling lazy? Lounge by our pool, or under one of our two breezy cabanas and enjoy a beer. A relaxed environment only minutes away from the infamous 5th avenue. Here at Hacienda del Sol we have 3 lovely dorms, 4 Deluxe privates and a Quad private. Our rooms are bright, spotlessly clean and spacious. All include comfy beds with fresh linen, personal power points and security lockers. They all have fans or AC is available for a small fee. We have a fully equipped kitchen and an outdoor BBQ, which we put to use at least once a week! We have a big screen TV in the common area with hundreds of movies on offer. WIFI of course is complimentary. And we also have ample off-street parking for cars or motorbikes. In short we have everything a traveler could desire, so we hope you'll come and enjoy Hacienda del Sol! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing