We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Days in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Ranked #14 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have stayed at many white-gloved resorts, and The Viceroy has brought a new definition to "pampered." It has a quiet elegance that we love. Within a day, all of the service staff knew our names and made us feel like we were old friends. From Oscar,who welcomed us at reception, to Pepe, who served us fabulous drinks on the beach at dusk, we can't say enough about the highest quality of service we received at every turn. One of the room staff saw that I had a blister on my toe and ran to find a Bandaid for me, which he placed on my foot!
Our accommodations were beautiful and very private. We stayed in Villa #19 that had a warm dipping pool with a hammock, double-sized lounge chair, hammock and a large deck around it. The living area was well-appointed and very comfortable, with free Internet access and lots of room to either hang clothing or place them in spacious draws and cubbies. As others have noted, the lamps on the bed-stands proved very low for reading at night. The bathroom had a spacious shower and lots of windows with natural lighting. Towels and cleansing soaps were of the highest quality. One night, after snorkeling all day in Akimal and touring Tulum, we decided to borrow a Movie DVD from the office's extensive collection when we returned from a delicious meal at the resort's restaurant. Relaxing in our comfortable bed in beautiful surroundings was a perfect way to end our perfect day.
So if you like understated elegance, being taken care of by warm and congenial staff and well-cooked meals, don't hesitate go. We'll be back next year!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 10583travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I came here to celebrate our 15 year anniversary, and we honestly felt like it was our honeymoon all over again. The combination of the perfectly appointed property, the impeccable service, the delicious food, and the spa, combined together to create a perfect experience. Ok, let me just give you an outline of our day. Wake up, jump in the plunge pool, head down to the Coral Cafe, grab a coffee and head to the end of the dock to soak in the last of the sunrise. Pick out our lounge chairs for the day, perfectly set up by the crew on the beach, pillows included. Head back to the cafe for green juice and Huevos Rancheros. Back to the beach where we are treated like royalty by Pepe. Read, relax, drink a few beers. Head to the spa at 4, where we steam, get a treatment, Jacuzzi, and lemongrass tea. Back to our dreamy room, chill, and head to dinner. Amazing food at both restaurants, but our favorite night was when we were at the Coral Cafe enjoying a delicious meal and on the horizon rose a big, orange moon. Really perfect. Thank you to the staff at the Viceroy for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Royal Villa if you can. The villas by the pool are less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here after four nights at The Beloved Hotel, north of Cancun. We were so happy we came here second because it was everything we could ask for in a beach vacation and far surpassed the first part of our trip. We stayed in Villa 54, which was oceanview. While the privacy of the jungle rooms is lovely, we enjoyed being able to look out at the gorgeous sea each day. In the evening, our patio and pool seemed completely private, as the villa is set back from the main path. I was surprised by the review regarding insects in the room, as we did not see a single one. Mosquitos were around a bit in the early evening, but there weren't many. The suite was meticulously maintained. The outdoor shower and deep soaking tub added to the tranquil experience. The service was extremely polite and attentive. Both Pepe and Federico provided excellent service on the beach. The food was very good, although I agree with other reviews that the menus would get repetitious if staying there more than a few days. I would HIGHLY recommend this place for couples looking to relax and do nothing. If you're into nightlife or lots of planned activities, this is not for you!

Room Tip: Villas are very similar in design, so it's all about location. We prefer looking out at the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

As the 2nd stay of my birthday surprise trip to Mexico thanks to my wife, we stayed at the Viceroy. It was the most amazing hotel I have ever been to.
When you arrive they greet you with refreshing coconut and lemongrass drinks. As they give you the tour you partake in a Mayan welcome ritual. Once you get to your room it is the most serene place you can imagine.
Our deck featured a plunge pool jacuzzi big enough for 2 people, an outside bed, a small dining table for 2, and a hammock. Inside our room our bed was huge, our flat screen tv amazing, and our dining table beautifully decorated. The most amazing part is the indoor rain shower that is only beat by the outdoor shower. The outdoor shower is extremely private and noone can see you at all.

The beach area is amazing. There is ample dining area as well as swinging beds to relax in. There is a dock you can walk onto as well. The only issue with the beach is it is rocky and they provide water shoes if you want. They recommend walking out on the dock and entering the water from there.

The breakfast is amazing. The fresh pastry was the best we ever had. Amazing service as well They even added some decorations for my birthday night from my wife's request - rose petals, candles, and a towel cake.

see www.soletstrythismarriagething.com for more pics

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes. Food, accommodation, staff and attention to detail are all excellent. What you see and read on their website is what you get
All you need to pack is your toothbrush, toothpaste and clothes. Everything else is taken care of. Insect repellents, books, sunhats etc are all strategically placed around for guests’ use. And should you really find you need something you haven’t brought the comprehensive shop will help out.
Staff, whether or not immediately involved with individual guests, are so helpful and attentive. They ensure that they know each guest from the outset and automatically action any specified, individual preferences. Nothing is too much trouble. Guests’ enjoyment is the prime focus wherever you are within the hotel. From Edgar cleaning the salt spray from sunglasses, Francisco and Pepe ensuring all needs are met on the beach whether it be sunbeds, drinks, cold towels frozen fruitcubes on sticks at midday along with the shot of the day to Guadaloupe, making every breakfast accompanied by her most beautiful smile a start to the day to really remember and through to Alberto, the concierge who goes that extra mile in everything he does to make your stay “perfecto”.
Every day we enjoyed a little “extra surprise” – sculptures of bath towels into mermaids, dinosaurs, elephants and more , candles and flowers placed around our personal pool, music and lighting to greet our return after a long day of sightseeing
The quality of the cuisine is first class and consistently good. Beverages, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic are also superb.
The spa is a welcoming and relaxing experience. The steam room and whirlpool are complementary. We did have treatments which were enjoyable but quite expensive for what we had.
I know I have not mentioned enough staff by name, they are all noteworthy. This hotel boasts some of the best staff I have ever encountered .
Yes, we did have the odd uninvited [ flying or crawling ] guest in our villa. But they were swiftly and very efficiently seen off the premises by the attentive staff. Yes, there are hotels either side and there is the odd music to be heard but the idyll of the Viceroy Riviera Maya is not spoilt and after all the hotel can do little to control outside noise.
We had an ocean view room – 53 which was very handy for the beach and restaurants.
You won’t be disappointed. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 53, an ocean view room. Very near the beach and restaurants. The exact room and vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Ok , nice enough rooms .... In fact pretty good , but this morning we were woken by workmen building a new path outside our room , this continued into the afternoon , ruining a much needed afternoon nap .

Now at 10 pm , the tacky cheaper hotel next door is having a raging party and the music is so loud it sounds like it is coming from the room next door .....sounds like full on wedding music ! Not what you expect from a location like this , or a place that costs as much as the Viceroy does !

I would definitely not recommend this hotel , we have another 2 nights after this , can't get any worse !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Here you have your own exclusive, spacious villa, unusally nicely decorated and with your own pool, 'djungle garden' and outdoor shower. You walk along a 'djungle alley' down to the nice pool, restaurant and beach area. The staff is really very nice and helpful, always wanting you to have the best time with them.
Viceroy is a unique place at Riviera Maya. All the other hotels seem to be huge complexes. This is one of a kind with only 30-40 private villas and a beautiful spa, nice gym and boutique, and two restaurants. Go there!

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 65 which was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,218 reviews
2 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
3,374 reviews
6.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Playa Maroma
1,215 reviews
6.5 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $509 - $1,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing