We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Ranked #13 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Terrible Resort. A lot of mosquitoes, very dark rooms, no beach view only when you sit at the restaurant. the pathways outside of the rooms are not lit properly. My daughter fell was hurt so bad. Very expensive for the type of room with no ocean view.
Save your money for better hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear A N,
I appreciate that you have taken the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. I am very sorry that you did not find our resort appealing. We are a small property surrounded by a lush landscape that provides privacy and intimacy to our Villas. Most of our guests are couples that come to celebrate a special occasion. The ambience and lighting has been set up to provide a romantic atmosphere for our guest. We do have Ocean view and beach front villas. I am sorry if due to the high occupancy that we had we were only able to offer you for your first night one villa to accommodate four guests, we did an exception and it was explained before to confirm the reservation. Our concept was not what you were looking for; however, I thank you for sharing your comments.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    144
    59
    26
    20
See reviews for
49
749
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 12th anniversary here and everything was perfect! From the consistent, but non-intrusive beach service, to the great sunset beach dinner, the food and service we're great. Loved the fresh green juice served every morning, and our private pool and outdoor shower were luxurious. The beach is a little short in both directions, so long walks on the beach are not really the thing here-- or at any of the other resorts-- but for pure relaxation, you can not beat it. Would come back again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the private room on the beach, a great pick for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skil22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The was our second trip to this resort, our first being almost six years ago when it was called The Tides and we had a fabulous vacation. While the staff was all different from six years ago, the attention to detail was the same. The food is amazing, the service is fabulous. From your arrival, you are treated like royalty. The Villas are beautiful, private and comfortable. We were in villa 18,and it was the perfect distance from the pool/dining area, and yet not too far away, and very private. They have added about 10 more units since our last visit, but it does not seem too crowded. Everyone was delightful and accommodating. We spoke with other guests while we were there, and would recommend that if you plan to eat at the resort (which we did) to look into the all inclusive plan as meals can be expensive if you pay as you go. It was my husband's birthday while we were there, and they arranged for a lovely private dinner on the beach (it was too windy to be on the pier) and when we returned to our room after dinner, they had lit candles all around the plunge pool and put balloons in our room. We hope to return to this lovely resort in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the resort are quieter, as they don't back up to the hotel next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlgittelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just got back from a magnificent 5-night stay at the Viceroy for my anniversary, and was blown away by the experience. The service was beyond superb, and Alberto and Pepe went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we wanted. The Viceroy is really a magnificent place, and I am happy I decided to pull the trigger after hours of searching for the right accommodations online.

ROOM SELECTION:
We stayed in villa 64 (premium villa in the jungle) the first two nights, and and then upgraded to villa 51, which is directly on the beach. If you are looking for a ton of privacy, any of the villas set in the jungle will be perfect for you. They are completely secluded because the back patios are located in the rear of the villas. We were happy to spend the first two nights in #51, and could of happily stayed here for the whole trip. In all honesty, there is not a bad villa on the entire property. You will be thrilled with any of the options. Alberto took me on a tour of the other villas, and villa 51 (one of the beachfront villas) was exceptionally breathtaking. The villa is situated on the beach, set off to the side and raised about 10 ft above the beach, making for a good bit of privacy. There is also a private sun deck right above the beach, with a little staircase that leads down to the sand and the water. This was awesome because you could sit out on the beach and tan, without getting sandy! The views of the water from villa 51 are unbelievable, and it's definitely worth it to splurge and go for the upgrade if you can swing it.

Here are a couple of things I didn't see in the previous reviews:

THE BEACH:
While the beach is slightly rocky directly in front of the resort, if you walk approx, 10 ft past stretch right in front of the hotel, there is a huge, roped-off section that is perfect for swimming & entering the water if you don't want to deal with any rocks. Since the waves were fairly sizable while we were there, we took full advantage of the roped-off section of the beach. Seeing as I am someone who really likes direct access to the beach, the rocks really weren't an issue at all seeing as we were all of 30 steps away from the roped-off section.

THE PLUNGE POOLS:
They are magnificent. One thing that was a great surprise was that they are cool and refreshing during the day while the sun was up, and then the heat is cranked up at night so they are hot as a hot tub for when it got cooler in the evening. Brilliant! We were traveling for our anniversary, and housekeeping decorated the pool with candles and rose petals one night, which was lovely. We spent a lot of time in the plunge pools.

THE FOOD:
Amazing. Both restaurants were top notch. Some things we loved in particular were the lime soup, the sangria, the amazing hot bread that comes with dinner at the Coral Grill and Bar, the huevos rancheros for breakfast. The service is impeccable at both restaurants, and you will be treated like kings and queens.

THE MOSQUITOES:
Depending on the weather, the mosquitoes were either slightly annoying, or completely non-existent. One thing to remember is that the resort is right on the water and fairly windy, so on most days, the wind prevented the mosquitoes from coming out. The hotel provides bug spray for all guests. I normally loathe bug spray (the smell and feeling of it on my skin) but the bug spray they provide smells great, and feels like absolutely nothing is even on your skin. This was a huge bonus.

Book your trip at the Viceroy! You will not be disappointed!

Thanks to the whole staff for a wonderful stay.

-Dana (& Cairo)

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 64 (premium villa in the jungle) the first two nights, and and then upgraded to v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danaviltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Qe loved this place. The best service we ever had. We particularly apreciate wonderful people like Óscar, chef Ana, Antonio corona, Salvador, marco

You have to really know this place, rooms are beautiful, incredible service

We hope to come back soon

Stephane

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This fall, my husband and I spent our honeymoon at Viceroy Maya Riviera. We truly had a thrilling time and definitely plan on returning. Our arrival at this resort was unlike any other -- there was no physical lobby. Most resorts bring you through some type of brick and mortar edifice with all of the traditional trimmings or WALLS. Not here, this resort goes 100% of the way to make you feel like you’re off in a jungle - open-air lobby and all. But do not let that throw you off, it’s really only the beginning of a very romantic and service-focused culture that lets you sit back and luxuriate to whatever extent you would like. Our concierge Alberto was absolutely wonderful; explaining all of our options and confirming (multiple times at my request) all of the pricing for the amenities I pre-selected for our honeymoon. After settling into our private villa we went off to the gorgeous beach. Let me tell you that the private villa is the way to go. Actually, you may be tempted to stay near the beach. I think it’s better to be tucked between the lobby and the beach. We noticed those with the beach villas could see the guests as they passed by. That means they had to see every single person, employee and dog (there are some stray dogs that live along the beach) who passed by at whatever hour. Our villa was tucked away with our private plunge pool, hammock and gorgeous villa. Now if you’re not a big animal fan, this isn’t the place for you. If you love the idea of waking up to little anoles (lizards) running across the patio or hearing a coati run across your villa-top early in the morning, then stay here. It really was cute. Every morning we would try to snap a picture of our coati neighbor. He really wasn’t a bother. I actually got to see one while walking the grounds one day. We also saw one of the spider monkeys on our way back from town. It was such a bonus. As I said, when we got tour villa, we relaxed for a bit and then headed to the beach. It was amazing. Pepe one of the waiters on staff was very attentive. Beware, there are not enough private canopies, so you need to get there early to secure one for the day, but this only matters if you’re like me and prefer not to get tan. Also, beware of those aforementioned stray dogs. They’re actually quite harmless and are very endearing. I warn you not to feed them unless you want a “buddy” for the duration of your lunch. After enjoying the beach we fell asleep early in the wonderful huge bed. Here’s another warning. You may have read in these reviews that there are bugs in this resort. I have an extreme phobia of insects - all insects. I survived and loved this place. Yes, there are little night crawlers that desperately try to get across your bedroom floor in the evening. Just let them be. They move slower than a snail. Otherwise, we didn’t have any issues. The only mosquitoes we dealt with were actually in the city. The resort goes out of their way to make the mosquito situation as minimal as possible. They also go out of their way to live up to their promise of luxury and romance. There was an outdoor private shower with homemade freshly cut soap (they do this upon check-in). I don’t believe we ever used the actual indoor shower while we were there. It was amazing to go from our private plunge pool to being under the stars in the shower to being cozy in our bathrobes just as room service showed up. The empanadas were scrumptious. (I ate them everyday -- seriously!)

If you choose to venture away from the resort, be prepared to shell out at least $20 each way per taxi ride. This was a key learning. When we go back, we will rent a car. It seems to be more economical. The one thing is you may miss out on hiring a personal cab driver who can show you all the ins and outs of the area. We hired a driver for $300 (US and MX) to take us to Coba, 2 local “joints” for breakfast and lunch, the cenotes and Akumal for snorkeling. I don’t think we could have done that A) without the assistance of our wonderful concierge team, B) without one of the trips to Quinta Avenida where we met our wonderful driver. We also wouldn’t have been able to do all of those activities for $300 with a tour group. It was personal and amazing. Definitely go to Akumal for snorkeling. Also, if you go to swim (or dive 20 ft like I did - AMAZING) in the cenotes, make sure you bring a camera that can be used in the water. I took some pictures of one of the cenotes where we would walk around but I didn’t want to risk it in the second location where we swam.

Overall, it was a wonderful honeymoon and was worth what we spent. I really hope to go back someday. Please feel free to email if you have any questions. And thank you to the entire staff at Viceroy. You really created a memorable experience that can never be forgotten and will always be cherished. Mucho gracias!

Room Tip: Villas between the beach and the lobby offer the most privacy. Also, get a villa with a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhillySuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at the Viceroy and had an absolutely amazing experience. I was not hugely familiar with the hotels of the Cancun/Rivera Maya area but the Viceroy is a true gem.
Arrival experience was great, though you do wonder if your driver got lost during the 5 minutes from when you depart the highway until you arrive at the hotel.
Pulling in the outdoor lobby immediately sets the scene for an indulgence in serenity and relaxation.
The staff met us with cold towels and tea then asked us if we would like a tour of the property before being shown our villa which we accepted.
The property is set on what must be 3-4 acres of paths winding from the jungle to the beach.
I did have a first impression that the concrete path’s that lead throughout the resort were not as clean as I would expect from a resort of the Viceroy caliber but as the stay progressed I found the character of the paths enhanced the feel and experience of the property in opposition to my initial reaction.
The villa was truly amazing. It features tons of Privacy with a plunge pool, huge patio/terrace with daybed and dining area and a killer outdoor shower. The villa itself was huge and well, if not luxuriously, appointed. Highlights are the vaulted ceiling with thatched roof and giant sliding doors with heavy wooden shades, probably my favorite room of the year.
The lighting provided a wonderfully romantic atmosphere but you could use a bit more light in the bathroom. Overall I think that while the bathroom was great they could step it up and make it over the top indulgent for an extra wow factor.
We were in the entry level villa and I was led to believe that the bathroom was one of the bigger upgrades as you moved into the higher categories.
Now evening we started our vacation with drinks in the Library, the open air space under the main restaurant. Really cool atmosphere! The entire resort comes alive at night with perfect lighting from the trees to the pool, truly amazing!
We followed up with dinner in the outdoor casual restaurant and the food was phenomenal, as it would prove to be all week. The food prices were very reasonable but I found the wine and beer prices to be excessive during our first day. We were not presented with a list of any wines by the glass and all the bottled wines were very expensive. Likewise the beer list had a ton of interesting and delicious options between $11 and $13. Craft beer is great but sometimes you want something simpler….
Upon inquiry Day 2 we found that they had all these things but that they weren’t listed on the menu which I found frustrating. In the same vein the cocktail list, while not pricy, seemed limited for a resort such as this. The staff was very accommodating and we had some amazing drinks but the style was very much, “We can make whatever you want.” When I come to a resort like this I like to be intrigued by the cocktail list, not have to make up the drinks myself.
The remainder of the stay was wonderful with days spent on the beach and by the pool. Lunch/Drink/Amenity service was always spot on. We spent a day at the Spa and I had an amazing massage in a really cool indoor/outdoor treatment room. We went into Playa one night which was very unimpressive but we didn’t arm ourselves with any info on good places to go so I suppose that’s our own fault.
Overall the Viceroy was an amazing escape I would highly recommend. The only other slightly negative comment I could make would be the sheer number of staff they had! It seemed excessively staffed as they certainly outnumbered the guests and seemed redundant. I know, not a huge complaint, but for a resort of this romantic/relaxing style it would seem better to have half the staff, though I do suppose we were there on kind of a slow week.

Room Tip: While you will pay more for a Premium Oceanside Villa they lack the privacy of the less expensive Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Property: Viceroy Riviera Maya
Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing