We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE !!!! But.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Ranked #13 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here July 8-14 . We had an absolute amazing stay . The grounds are beautiful , service is first class, and the food was to die for . The beach was absolutely beautiful it looks just like the pictures . We did have one small issue though . There was CONSTRUCTION that was not posted on the website or on any of the travel pages . One day my husband and I did the black lava treatment at the spa as a couple and the whole time we heard steady hammering and some kind of drill going the entire time . It was so frustrating !!!!! It made it to where I could not fully relax . When I asked the lady about it she said yea sorry as in "oh well " and that was it. I just thought they should have at least discounted our treatment since it was like 185 a person . Anyway other than that we loved it . It was so relaxing and beautiful . Make sure if you go to the upstairs restaurant to ask for GILBERTO . He was such a great server . And Karla in the spa was a gem .

Room Tip: The beachfront villa and the garden rooms were great . We split it up and stayed half in one and hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brittanya995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Brittany A,
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya.
I am very sorry to hear that your stay was disrupted by noise due to the renovation project that we are doing. The information was properly posted in our website, we will make sure and verify that the information is posted correctly
Wayak Spa features some Mayan treatments like Tzolkin as well as signature treatments such as the Black Lava or Viceroy Trilogy.
I hope that you can come back soon; we are finishing our renovation project by the end of September and it will be a pleasure to have you back.
Yours Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We started our honeymoon with a 5 night stay here, and it was the perfect relaxing start. Set well away from the busy Playa del Carmen, this felt as if it was on a small island. It was a lovely mix of beach and jungle, allowing you to swim in the sea or lounge on the sand as much as you wanted, but then retreat into shade of the trees where you might see huge iguanas, monkeys, humminbirds and more. The small personal pool by our cabin was much appreciated when we wanted to cool down in private -- it was also heated at night, so that we could enjoy it in the dark too. We had a treatment at the spa which was very nice. The dining options could have been a bit more varied -- there wasn't a huge difference in choice or price between the "high quality" restaurant and the "normal" restaurant, and they could do with a menu that offered simpler, less costly food for those nights when you just didn't want to be more experimental. The room was spacious and sweetly decorated, with an outside shower that waas heavenly -- there's nothing quite like watching a hummingbird flitting about overhead while you're washing! It was very windy while we were here, which might be a negative factor for those who enjoy sunbathing as the sand was whipping around quite fiercely -- the sea was very choppy too, and although you could still swim in it, most people didn't. I don't know if it often like this. It wasn't a major annoyance for us, but might be worth checking before you travel. (We were there in early April.) You could rent DVDs for free from reception -- they didn't have a huge choice, but it was quite fun going through the titles and choosing. The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful. Oh, and the drinks were delicious! If you got tired of the peace and quiet, you could get a taxi to Playa del Carmen, where there are lots of restaurants and bars. It's quite expensive to get there and back again -- a complimentary shuttle bus would be a nice addition. Then again, this is a place where you come to get away from the world, so I doubt that many guests will find the isolation an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Eldarro,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay in April.
We are favor with a unique setting that combines the nature of the jungle with amazing views from the ocean, you have described in detail the experience that represent to be in one of our Villas and get familiar with the birds and perhaps other natural species.
We have done updates in our menus, one of the most important things for us is to offer variety and options for our guest, focusing always in provide a culinary experience enhancing local ingredients used by our Chef Jetzabel and her team.
I hope that we can have you back in your next trip to Riviera Maya so you can notice the changes and of course be delighted one more time with delicious food and our attentive and friendly staff.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again at your jungle refuge in Mexico.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My Husband and I booked the Vicroy Riviera Maya for 3 nights then decided to stay a night in Chichen itza before going back to the Viceroy again for another 3 nights.

From the very beginning with making a reservation online, reservations called us to confirm we didnt double book with the two reservations (very thoughtful). I explained that we were taking a tour of Chichen-Itza but would be back. At that time reservations must have noted this and also noted that it was our anniversary.

As soon as we arrived to the Viceroy we were welcomed and felt at home with the staff. The property is beautiful - an amazing stay for couples with intamite bungalows in the jungle along with your own private plunge pool!

Everywhere we went in the resort the staff knew our names and were gracious. One of the nights the staff even took it upon themselves to light candles in our room with rose petals for a very romantic anniversary night. ;)

After leaving to Chichen-Itza for a day and resettling back into Viceroy (which we missed very much) the staff, even if we didnt recognize them from our first stay, asked us how our trip was. It was a very nice feeling knowing that all of these people cared.

On our last day the staff all came out to greet us and wish us farewell. I got very teary-eyed as I really felt like part of the family while I was there. It was hard to leave such a beautiful place.

The staff truly made it a memorable stay. The property itself really is paradise (minus the mosquitos - I recommend a lot of deet). This really is our favorite resort ever!

Room Tip: For a more intimate stay - don't get a beach from room - get a jungle bungalow so you can truly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuestEngagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear GuestRelations9291
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya. We are extremely happy to know that you enjoy so much your stay,
Our resort is the perfect spot to relax, surrounded by unique landscape and privacy, all our villas offered a private plunge pool as well as an outdoor shower (moon shower). Our staff is always attentive to surprise our guest, particularly if you are celebration a special occasion, anniversary, birthday, or just a good reason to have a romantic getaway with your couple.
We hope that we have you back in your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Kind regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Earlier this month we enjoyed our 20th visit to this wonderful property. After spending 100 nights here over the last several years, we continue to believe that it is a very special place. Each and every staff member is gracious and professional. The food is wonderful, and the grounds are enchanting. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pow38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear pow38,
We feel honored to have you back for your 20th visit! Every time our staff is not only happy to see you but we all try to pleased you and just pamper you in any possible way.
Your comments are very valuable for us and we hope to continue hosting you, your home in Mexico await for you all the time.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay at the Viceroy, where we had the most luxurious vacation in our 12 years of marriage. The Viceroy looks exactly in person as it does on its website. We recently stayed at The Four Seasons Scottsdale (where the service was very good) but the service at The Viceroy was ten times better. Many reviewers have mentioned Pepe, who was also our beach waiter. I hope The Viceroy knows what a gem they have in this man. Pepe provided the highest level of service we have ever had during our travels: we wanted to bring him home. I can't recommend this property highly enough. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Kim R,
Is always very rewarding for us to know that you not only enjoy your stay, also that you have not only good but excellent comments about our staff, Pepe among them!
We try to surprise our clients and exceed their expectations every time, and that you have had one the best luxury vacations in such a long period, is very satisfying for us.
We hope that you can give us the opportunity to host you again in your next vacation.
Truly Yours,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 8 wonderful nights here in June. We are huge four seasons, ritz carlton & St. Regis fans & put the service and experience right up there with these other resorts!! We stayed in a royal villa #17. The food is wonderful. We had all of our meals except for 1 at the resort. The plunge pools and outdoor showers are great & you will spend lots of time in your villa. If you are looking for a romantic getaway- this is your spot!! I'm planning to take my husband back for his 40th bday!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gagirlAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear gagirlAtlanta,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our jungle refuge. I am very glad to hear that you enjoy your Royal Villa, the seclusion and privacy that offer is great to relax. I hope that you have had an opportunity to try our Chef Table or perhaps our “Antojeria Night” (street food); both represent a culinary trip for Mexico lead by Chef Jetzabel and her wonderful team.
We look forward to have you back and celebrate your husband 40th Bday!
Kind Regards,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed at several 4-star and 5-star hotels in Italy, France, and England. This year we decided on something more tropical, so we started our research of resorts in the Caribbean.

The booking process for Viceroy was simple and welcoming. After selecting our room type (went with a Royal Villa) and extra packages, we were shortly contacted by the staff asking if there were any additional activities we would like to schedule or if we has and particular food or beverage requests that would help enjoy our stay. We arranged for transportation from Cancun airport, signed up for some spa treatment, and planned a few smaller activities. We also informed Viceroy that one of us is allergic to red meat.

Upon our arrival to the airport, we finally managed to find our arranged transportation in the crowd of hundreds of other hotels' chauffeurs. The ride is approximately 30 minutes from Cancun airport. Our arrival to Viceroy was serine. Helping us out of the vehicle, picking up our bags, and greeting us with "Welcome home" started to show the level of service at Viceroy. We were escorted to the "lobby" (a large, beautiful gazebo) and asked if we would like to try a local, refreshing, coconut-based beverage while giving us a tour of the resort. We happily obliged.

The resort is absolutely beautiful. The jungle and wildlife really give character to the resort without being overwhelming. We briefly stop by our villa and are floored by its beauty. We were fortunate to have a very secluded villa near the ocean that no one could see into. Our villa included a private plunge pool, patio with a hammock and bed, and a private sunbathing deck. The interior of the villa was simple yet elegant. The bathroom wrapped behind the bed/living area and then led to an outdoor moon shower. We made our way to the beach-side pool that was wonderfully made and has plenty of lounge space. The beach has several personal sun-huts and a crafty dock extends into the enchanting, blue Caribbean.

We express our hunger to our guide (since we arrived at a late lunch hour, but has eaten since the early morning), and we are promptly seated at the ocean-side restaurant and bar. We get a warm greeting from our server and he gets us started with some drinks while we review the menu. We ask him for recommendations and he suggest a couple appetizers to start while taking care to not recommend anything with red meat in it and commenting that was aware of the red meat allergy--incredible attention to detail for a couple that has literally just arrived to the resort.

After engorging ourselves on entirely too much but delicious food, we retire to our room to prepare for the pool and beach. We throw on our swimwear and make our way over. As soon as we arrive to the pool, a staff member quickly arranged several lounge chairs and asked us if we wanted any food or drinks.
Every day that we were either at the pool or the beach, our attending staff member was incredibly attentive and provided an excellent level of service. After jumping into the ocean and making our way back to the beach, as soon as we stepped on sand we were greeted by our staff member with a fresh towel.
We fully intend to make another trip back.
Some extra little comments:
Getting to Playa del Carmen is a cheap ($20 USD) and quick (20 minutes) ride and the town is full of life both in the day and at night.
Our spa treatment was serine and we highly recommend giving it a go. It is incredibly peaceful.
The food and drinks are amazing.
Bring mosquito spray.

Room Tip: Beach front villas will be less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Chad K,
I appreciate such a great comments about your recent stay at our jungle refuge.
Thank you for provide such a detail description from the moment you arrived at the hotel, the amenities and facilities that you enjoy in your private villa.
We are very happy to know that our staff was always ready to anticipate your needs; this is a philosophy that set us apart and provides a memorable stay to our guests.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to have you back at our little paradise in the first opportunity you have.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,249 reviews
2 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,429 reviews
6.5 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.9 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Playa Maroma
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $458 - $1,421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing