We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious tropical hotel with top-notch service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Ranked #10 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great place for a romantic couple getaway at a beautiful small resort. When arriving you will pass all the extravagant entrances to some of the larger resorts. Your car will take you on a very unassuming road, that even is a dirt road in some parts, to the very remote entrance of the hotel. Upon arrival to the hotel the concierge greets you by name and takes you on a tour of the grounds. There is a long exotic trail through the jungle where each villas is spread out. Large spacious thatched hut villas with the right kind of blend of island and contemporary decor. The outside of the villa's have beds to relax, a hamock and a private plumge pool which is great to relax in. The bathrooms are spacious with dual sinks and a large shower. There is also an outside shower which I recommend. It is a pretty cool experience showering outside in a rainforest. The beach is very nice with palapas and cabanas for every guest. There are enough of them so they are easy to get regardless of what time you come to the ocean. There is a nice pier which extends out into the ocean for guests only with a tiki hut at the end. Extremely attentive staff but definitely nothing overbearing. They couldn't have been more polite and friendly. Pepe and Fransisco who serve food and drinks on the beach were both especially accommodating. The beach staff walks around through the day with some sangria, fruit or other treats. The mixture of an ocean resort and rainforest make the Viceroy very unique. Nature and jungle life are on display with birds, iguanas and a rare monkey as you walk the inner grounds. Highly recommended for any couple looking to get away and stay at a romantic luxury hotel in a tropical location. If you are a high profile person looking to get away and have privacy this hotel is also ideal. Im not one of those people but I can totally see people who like there privacy loving this place. Staff mentioned a few very well known individuals who recently stayed here. Food at both restaurants are top notch. The dining experience at La Marea was excellent. Good service and high quality food with a view of the ocean. Really liked that we were also very close to the heart of Playa Del Carmen. You get the option to experience a serene luxurious hotel by day and if you want to mix it up head over for the liveliness of Playa at night. Playa is filled with tons of bars and restaurants.
If there is a negative review on here do yourself a favor and quickly ignore it and skip right over it.

Room Tip: Stayed in villa #25 which was very quiet and private.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grynny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Grynny123,
I thank you in advance for proving us your comments regarding your recent stay at our jungle refugee. I am very happy that you have found our service and amenities up to your expectations. Every time our staff is prompt to respond and provide excellent service without being intrusive. At the beach you can enjoy a cocktail and have a snack while you are relaxing in one of our palapas and being pampered by our beach servers. The fact that our property has a very unique landscaping and surrounding, provide the privacy and intimacy that is most look after for our guest, especially if you are in your honeymoon, anniversary or just to enjoy a beautiful place with your couple.
I am very glad that you have enjoyed our food at our fine dining La Marea as well as Coral Grill Restaurant with “al fresco” cuisine while you enjoy an amazing view of the ocean.
We hope that you can give us the opportunity to host you again in your next trip to Riviera Maya.
Sincerely Yours
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
There are newer reviews for Viceroy Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Welcome home
That's what the staff greets you with when you arrive.  My husband and I have taken that to heart as we stayed at the Viceroy for the 10th time in January.  We have often thought of owning a beachfront home but who needs the expense and worry of a second home when you can vacation in an oasis like this.  The staff takes care of your every need, the food is delicious, the villas quiet and private.  Our preference are the jungle villas although we stayed beachfront once and it was amazing.  We recommend the all inclusive plan so you never sign a check or worry about a dinner reservation.  Isn't relaxing about no schedule?  We come once or twice a year here and often meet other repeat guests.  They place a sign on our villa with our name, how personalized is that.  Many of the staff have been the same over the last 10 years and we can't say enough about the relationship we have formed.  From cleaning your sunglasses to bringing towels after you get out of the ocean everything is perfect. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Jungle villas by the spa are our favorites
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Emily,
It’s a real pleasure to have you back home! Every time that you come we feel very happy to see a familiar face and our staff is always trying to surprise you and attend whatever request that you might have.
We are very glad that you enjoy so much our Villas, particularly the ones surrounded by lush jungle foliage. We are doing a renovation in five of our Villas and this addition will represent another option of comfort, beautiful amenities and unique characteristics just like all of our villas so I am sure that you are going to enjoy stay in one of this in your next visit.
We look forward for your next visit already; on behalf of the entire Viceroy Riviera Maya family receive our warmest regards.
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from 5 night visit to Viceroy Riviera Maya (frequent visitors to Mayan Riviera boutique resorts -1st time to VRM). Spacious and luxurious villas with every amenity - heated plunge pool, outdoor shower, romantic jungle privacy. Superb staff - "just ask". Villas away from the ocean (short walk to beach and restaurants) are most private. #24 has two waterrfalls nearby. Beach (and all) staff solicitous and eager to please. Located nearby Playa del Carmen and excellent golf - El Cameleon and Grand Coral (good value). Very good cuisine in lovely setting. Excellent boutique spa - where else has a resident shaman?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Bruce D,
I appreciate that you have taken the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya.
Our seaside refuge extends deep into the natural forest, offering to our guest the intimacy and unique view from their villas. You can choose between relaxing at your private plunge pool by the terrace or feeling the nice breeze from your hammock or perhaps enjoying a massage in the privacy of your villa, all this without need to move. Chef Jetzabel is willing to provide a variety of delicious Mexican dishes with a special twist or just surprise you with your favorite dish.
Our nearby location to a golf course makes it very convenient if you would like to combine your trip with golf. Our Shaman will greet you upon arrival with a blessing that introduce you to a state of relaxation and ready to enjoy our resort.
Thank you for your visit and great comments and we look forward to have you back.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is very private and beautiful--the staff were amazing and the food was perfect! Everyone greets you by your name and the staff out number the guests. We felt extremely safe.
The Mayan Indulgence is a package that included all food and beverage we took advantage of since the food at the resort is better than any we had in the town of Playa del Carmen. The 6 course wine pairing dinner was comparable to any 5 star dining experience and we were able to drink Mexican wines we had never had. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonimac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Tonimac1,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya. I appreciate that you have enjoy our jungle refugee as well as our Mayan Indulgence package.
This package offers to our guests the option to try different dishes from our Menus either from our Coral Grill Restaurant or form our fine dining La Marea or even room service.
Once a week we have our Chef’s Table, where we highlighted not only our delicious Mexican Cuisine but also the variety of Mexican Wines that make us very proud to share with our guests.
I am very glad that you have enjoyed it so much and look forward to have you back in your next trip to Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Was there last week (week of Apr 29, 2013) for my son's wedding and found the resort to be one of the best that I have stayed at. The service, food, and setting was great!!! What amazed me was that after being there for only a couple of hours the staff (all of them) were to call me by my sir name. Like that old commercial it make one feel 'like a somebody' rather than one of the many.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundplains31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear WaterfordGerry31,
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay. It was a real pleasure for us to host such a special event for your family and friends. For all of us, all our guests are somebody very important, make you feel special and provide an excellent service is the best recognition that we can offer. That you have enjoyed our facilities, restaurants and spend a great time with your family is the best that we can hear.
We look forward to host you in the near future.
Sincerely,

Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The resort was beautiful and the staff amazing. Was there for a wedding and everything was done perfectly. The staff remembers your names, your likes, everything about you. Would highly recommend this place to someone who likes to be pampered and live in luxury while still experiencing mexico.

Room Tip: the ocean view rooms had great views but where not at private.. the jungle villa was private and rea...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twehenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Twehenry,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Viceroy Riviera Maya. The intimacy and privacy that we offer is very much appreciated not only for couples but also to host a wedding event. We feel very proud that you have enjoyed not only our facilities and amenities but also our service. We offer not only delicious and fresh Mexican cuisine, but throughout our property, in our Villas, our staff, the small details that we have, present a part of Mexico that you can always have good memories and make you feel that you need to come back… just to be pampered again.
Looking forward to host in a near future, receive best regards.

Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's the little things in life. It's a small intimate moment, a lovely detail, or an extra little touch. These are things that attach to your memory and bring a nostalgic smile across your face on a random Wednesday afternoon in the distant future. Viceroy Riviera Maya has truly mastered the extra little touches. From the welcome drink of cool coconut milk and citrus, to the three kinds homemade soap (citrus, mint and chocolate), to the icy washcloths passed out during the peak of the day, it was the little touches that had the biggest impact to our honeymoon experience. Our villa, 16, was the perfect tropical oasis after a wonderful yet crazy wedding weekend. We spent 7 nights here and it was every bit of amazing ...a private outdoor rain shower, a plunge pool that is cool during the hot days and warm in the cool evenings. Jungle foliage that surrounded us with privacy but without the unwanted bugs or critters. Our room was luxurious yet comfy. Our bathroom was large and was fully stocked with tropical scented lotions, shampoo and conditioner. The beach and pool were only a short 2 - 3 minute walk down a tropical path of green foliage and exotic sounds. On our final day, I held back a tear as we locked our door and walked down our path for a final time.

As for the service, it was exceptional. The entire staff knew our names by day two and greeted us with warm smiles and more often than not, with a frosty libation. My drink of choice was the mango daiquiri but I also had a vanilla shake nearly every day. Hey, why not??!

As for our waiters, Christian took our breakfast order with a smile each morning, Pepe was unbelievable during the days when a daiquiri could need a refill within minutes, and Hugo was always so gracious during our evening dinners. The food is incredible. Everything is fresh, and since we did the all-inclusive package, we tried almost everything on the menu. The menu is upscale but not stuffy ...a good mix of local cuisine and crowd favorites. A few of my culinary highlights include the coral smoothie that I had each morning (strawberry, guava, yogurt, honey), cinnamon french toast, fresh guacamole and the New York Prime with parmesan couscous and grilled vegetables. We also had a mexican barbecue (cooked over an open pit) on Friday and were served local street food on Tuesday night. That was seriously the best taco of my life! Also, before every meal they'd serve us a little appetizer and it was unique each night - another little touch!

Alberto, our concierge, was warm, kind and helped us plan our excursion to Coba and Tulum. He also knew I wanted to photograph the monkeys, so he called me every time they were within view. He was a like an old friend and my husband and I enjoyed chatting with him during our little walks each day. I was also able to get GREAT shots of the monkeys! I posted a few to this review.

Now, for the beach. It was beautiful and although a little rocky near the shoreline, we had a pier where we could walk out and swim. The water was beautiful, clear, refreshing and we took advantage of the pier quite often each day. It was nice that only people staying at our resort were allowed to use the pier. It was very private and we had it to ourselves 90% of the time. Sometimes we'd just go out and float by ourselves ...soaking up the Mexican sun and chatting about our wedding memories. It was a real treat.

Viceroy Riviera Maya was the perfect resort to stay on our honeymoon and we can't wait to go back! It was luxurious but not stuffy, relaxing, beautiful and romantic. I highly recommend for your honeymoon, a romantic getaway or even a babymoon. 5 stars all around. In the words of The Terminator, "I'll be back."

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany_Mason711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRMManagement, General Manager at Viceroy Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear BrittanyMason711,
Just by reading your review make us feel very proud to have such great comments and experience from you. Our staff is always trying to pleased our guest in one way or another and the privacy that offer our villas are the perfect spot to enjoy an amazing time with your couple. Our Chef Jetzabel is always in the search of new ways to improve her menus or if there is any diet request assisting our guest to pamper them according to their needs. We appreciate that you have taken the time to chosen our resort but also for trying and taking advantages of the different amenities that we have available.
I hope that you can give us the opportunity to host you for your first anniversary!
On behalf of the entire Viceroy Riviera Maya family, receive warm regards.

Pedro Lara
General Manager
Viceroy Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,094 reviews
1.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,112 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,222 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,232 reviews
5.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Riviera Maya

Address: Playa Xcalacoco Frac 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $440 - $1,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport and three miles from popular Playa del Carmen, Viceroy Riviera Maya is a serene hideaway set on the turquoise Caribbean amid a lush jungle ambiance. As Riviera Maya’s #1 resort in Conde Nast Traveler’s 2011 Readers’ Choice Awards, Viceroy offers world-class amenities, personalized pampering, exquisitely appointed villa accommodations with private patio and plunge pool, refined Mexican cuisine accented with international touches at La Marea and Mexican-Mediterranean fare at the seaside Coral Grill. Mayan influences abound, from the Mayan Blessing performed on arrival by the resort’s Shaman to the Mayan healing techniques offered at the award-winning spa. A Lagoon Pool, private pier, fitness center and traditional temazcal sweatlodge are among the resort’s many other pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Tides Riviera Maya Hotel
Tides Riviera Maya Resort
Ikal Del Mar
Viceroy Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing