We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Playa del carmen accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paraiso Azul's -Casa De Gopala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paraiso Azul's -Casa De Gopala
Save
You added Paraiso Azul's -Casa De Gopala to your Saves list
Ranked #125 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Playa del carmen accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at the Casa De Gopala as it was nearby to the dive shop I was diving with. This is very average accommodation. The fittings in the room were aged and the bed and shower were also aged and average. Not bad as backpacker accommodation but considering the other accommodation in the area I think better can be had.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motorbike58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    24
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
35
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My dive buddy and I stayed at Casa De Gopala this past January for a week and we were very well treated. It is perfectly located on a quiet street only a five minute walk to the beach and the commercialized Avenue Five tourist strip. Our room was cleaned and the linen changed every day and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. There is an 'old world' ambience at this hotel that I've never found at glitzier upscale resorts; the rooms are arranged ijn a "U" around a verdant, almost overgrown garden that reminded me of being in a jungle. We were awakened in the morning by cooing doves. There are many inexpensive restaurants and markets within easy walking distance. The atmosphere is more international than American; we hung out with a couple of Germans and a Russian, as well as a few Americans. The staff of the dive center next door, Yucatek Divers, come from Germany, France, Italy, America, and Switzerland, but they all speak English and will help you find anything you need. When I return to this part of Mexico, I will definitely stay at Casa De Gopala.

Room Tip: If you are a snorkeler or scuba diver, be sure to ask about stay/dive packages. You can check out my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were a bit worried that we might not like the location being not directly at the beach but looking back we can say it was perfect.

It's quite small but lovely, there is a jungle garden you walk through when going to your room. We had room 10 which was on the 2nd floor - only the roof with the nice pool on top. The room was basic but Mexican so we liked it. The windows cannot be fully closed (Mexican builing style I guess) so it was a bit noisy some nights with the neighbour's dog or birds nearby.
The ladies who cleaned our room every day were very innovative with the towels, creating stuff like elephants and scorpions. The guys at the reception were very helpful, pointed out good restaurants and gave us a map of Playa del Carmen although it's very easy after one or two days to find places.

We chose this hotel as we were there for diving and it's close to Yucatek Divers which was one of the best dive centers we have experienced so far.

The hotel does not have a restaurant but there is no need as it is so much fun to go to other restaurants every day (I have written reviews for quite a few as well).

We also booked tours from the hotel, the Chichen Itza Tour was great, but the Jeep Safari to National Park Sian Kaan was not really worth the money. There are also buses (ADO) which you can use easily to go to Tulum or Cobà on your own - very well organized!

If we are ever going back to PdC we will definitely go back to Paraiso Azul.

Room Tip: Room 10 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Only stayed one nite this year as it was booked solid, and the price has gone up now that scuba divers have discovered it. They have a rarity here: 2 pools, one of which is very deep-great for scuba certification, and another on the rooftop. Last year we paid $600 pesos/nite and this year we couldn't get a room for less than 800-1000, which is still good value, just a bit out of our price range. Rosario at the front desk is still the helpful friendly and efficient guy. He did everything he could to get us a room in our price range so no fault here, that is the price of success. We met the owners who also seemed like great guys. This is our first choice for hotels in downtown Playa-we joked with Rosario that we should write a lousy review so their prices would go down and we could get a room!
See my review from Feb28,2011 for more details as everything in it still applies, except for the noisy dog next door-he was not an issue this year.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with narrow spiral staircases, get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weasel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was my third time staying at Paraiso Azul and once again, it was a great stay. The familiar faces make it feel like home; which, in such a touristy area, is no easy feat. The rooms are quiet, spacious and very clean; if you prefer cool and shady, the first floor is a great option. The higher up you go, the more light and warmth there is. It is a little bit of jungle by the ocean! Then, on the top floor, is a pool and a nice view. Perfect for days when the surf is too rough.

Each room that I've stayed in had a safety deposit box and a refrigerator - both very nice amenities. I love the location - just off the main drag, two blocks from the gorgeous beach and La Tarraya (great restaurant right on the beach shaded with Palm trees), and close to the bus station for day trips to Cancun or Tulum.

The front desk folks, who speak English, are always helpful and friendly. Another plus is that it is connected to the hotel next door (which has a good restaurant) and Yucatek dive shop. My boyfriend loves to dive and raved about his trips both in the cenotes and in the ocean. One time I stayed here while travelling alone and felt very safe and comfortable. Can't wait to go back! Muchisimas gracias a todos!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We were back at the Casa De Gopala in Feb/2011 for 2 amazing weeks ....this is our 8th time back....Rosario has become a very good friend and ALL the staff treat us like family every time we return....I cannot say enough about this little gem....rooms always clean...garden so beautiful and lots of privacy on the roof with great little pool and tanning area or just to sit and have a drink or 3 and read a good book..I have found that their prices are going up a bit to much but if you have a chat with the owner you can usually get a better price on extended stays.....Have already booked my 2012 trip and am counting the days.....Ola to everyone that reads this...Big hug to Rosie,George and all the staff...see you soon.....E+B.....Didsbury,Ab

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Allen, Mexico
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Large clean rooms. Posted rate was $75 US. They accepted $55
Easy access location.
Steep stairs if you get 2nd or 3rd floor or go to rooftop pool.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#89 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#62 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#54 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#85 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#115 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#135 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Azul's -Casa De Gopala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Azul's -Casa De Gopala

Property: Paraiso Azul's -Casa De Gopala
Address: Calle 2 between Avs. 10 and 15, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paraiso Azul's -Casa De Gopala 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Paraiso Azul`s (Casa De Gopala) Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paraiso Azuls Casa De Gopala
Paraiso Azul's -Casa De Gopala Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing