We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tourist grabs”
Review of Tres Mundos Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tres Mundos Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“A tourist grabs”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

They force you to pay your nights in advance but refused any refund (not even one peso) if you are to adjust your travel from and earlier.
the couple who manage the place spends his day smoking, drinking and playing video games and do not bother if you have any questions. rooms and bathrooms are not cleaned: insects, hair, and sewage odors mingle.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3MundosHostel, Manager at Tres Mundos Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Hallo Emily! It's not nice to write lies about others and from my personal experience, all the bad comes one day back to you. So to put things in order, it's a lie that we force people to pay more nights, why would I do it? It's only the guest's decision.
As a majority of companies and establishments associated with budget travel, we don't refund money already paid, cancelation must be in advance and for solid reason. It's our policy and you need to accept it. You came here evening, paid 2 nights and after about 3 hours you decided that you don't like Playa del Carmen and don't want to stay another night, you could have asked me what to do here, i'd give you a good advice about places you wouldn't forget.
You write that we spend our day smoking, drinking and refusing to answer questions, it's a lie, I'm a nonsmoker and I spent about one hour explaning to you our policy, I'm sorry that you didn't want to understand, but it doesn't mean I didn't try my hardest.
You write that our rooms and bathrooms are not cleaned, this claim is almost funny. Can you imagine that a place where regularly live around 30 people together wouldn't be cleaned on a regular bases? Also there are definitely no insects, we are one of the cleaniest hostels in Playa, this is an experience of most of our customers who tried others.
The reality is that when I presented to your boyfriend your room it was just cleaned, so was the bathroom, as every day, this was no exception. When i entered your room the next day after you left, it was filled with toiletpaper, rubbish, unfinished food and drinks, nobody ever left me room this dirty, and this was only one night. Also I found out later that you burned out holes in one of our hammocks with your cigarette, all this probably a revenge, and I can now see why you left so early and in a rush.
Next time, a hotel might be a better option for you if you don't like to interact, but if you want a freedom and money refund, you might have to pay a lot more. Also a travel tip, a state of mind is important for a good experiences, negative state of mind will bring negative experiences.
Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    15
    14
    14
See reviews for
2
31
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is probably the best up-and-coming hostel in town. Definitely a place for adult travellers who enjoy a chill out atmosphere but no "enforced fun" that you find in some hostels. Facilities include: multiple hammocks, rooftop patio and BBQ area, washing, wi-fi, TV room, decent kitchen. Location is 5 min walk from the beachfront, just outside the tourist zone and close to both stations. Rooms are clean and cheery. Very welcoming and knowledgeable Slovakian couple who run the place, more than helpful. This hostel tends to attract a mix of foreign and Mexican travellers, making it a good place to make new acquaintances. Highly recommended overall package for very reasonalbe prices: get in there quick before the hordes find out about it!

Room Tip: If you want a double room, book in advance (only 3 available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MezzRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed there for just one night but it's definitly a place i would recomend!!
Completly new, very clean with a nice terrace and chilling corner. The hostel stuff is very friendly and giving their best to please you!!!Thank you for the great stay-I'm sure you'll have manny great guests:-))

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croaxican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

good place to stay in playa del carmen, this hostel is clean, colorful, with good facilities, close to everything. especially good is location, its on quiet street, yet 5 minutes to beach and the fifth avenue ,half way between 2 bus station terminals. i think its a great alternative to more '24/7 fiesta' type hostels where no one can ever sleep. in tresmundos i could sleep sweet and cook my own food, or do bbq party with friends on cool rooftop terrace, or watch a football game on a flatscreen tv. staff it very friendly, made up of internationals with a lot of traveling experience, always happy to share it..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Humble Bumble Hostel
Humble Bumble Hostel
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Buena Vibra
Hostel Buena Vibra
#132 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yak
The Yak
#6 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#14 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Mundos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Mundos Hostel

Property: Tres Mundos Hostel
Address: Calle 6 entre av 20 y 25, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Mundos Hostel is a laid-back, colorful hostel for travelers who look for a cheap acomodation in an informal, friendly enviroment resembling a big, spacious house of friends. As in most hostels, facilities are shared, we have a fully equiped kithen, wifi internet, free breakfast, book exchange, cable tv, secure bike parking, a lot of open space for chilling (important in a heat of yucatan), roof terrace with music, hammocks, BBQ and big table for house parties, and more..We like a reggae, retro, blues and alternative music and have it played throughout our outdoor spaces in a quiet, nondisturbing way.We are supportive to an intiative of any guest to host a house party or a workshop, we usualy spread the cost of all good ideas between people attending and have an affordable good time together.If you are looking for a base to explore the natural and cultural riches of yucatan peninsula while meeting interesting people, sharing your experiences and gaining a new ones, if you want to organize or take part in a BBQ night or cook your national dish for others at the evening and after it go to bed and sleep tight, if you are an outgoing person who likes quality music, the Tres Mundos Hostel might be the right place to stay.Hostel Tres Mundos offers private rooms and also mixed or female only dorms. We have some rooms with or without bathrooms ensuite. There is a small Reception Desk where you can find all the tourist information about Mexico, maps, different discounts... We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tres Mundos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Mundos Hostel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing