We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much I plan to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Quinta Playa
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Loved it so much I plan to return”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Hostel Quinta Playa was my first stop on my extended trip around Latin America and it left a tough act to follow. The location was very convenient just a block from the ADO Bus station and just metres to the beach. But by far, my favourite thing about this hostel was the people. I met some great people here both travellers and staff who were nothing but helpful and friendly. If you are a diver, I highly recommend organizing it through the hostel, speak to Che - both company and dive were perfect!

I loved my time here so much I am hoping to return before going home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
5
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I Spent 12 night at Hostel Quinta Playa. This is one of the coolest hostels i have stayed in for a very long time. Not only is the location fantastic (50m from the beach) but the people the hostel attracts are some of the coolest i have met. The place is an international mecca. The staff are super cool, Che and Maxi are so friendly and so helpful and full of useful info on where to go and what to do. The Hostels mascot 'Elvis' is an absolute riot. I will keep you in suspense as to who or what he is, but he will have you laughing until your stomach hurts lol...
Im a huge Scuba Diver and travel companion got certified on this trip we did our dives in Playa del Carmen and we also did some Dives in Cozumel which was out of this world!! I highly recommend speaking with the staff if you want to Dive or try out Diving.
On the whole, Hostel Quinta playa is a great place to stay. The guys even through a BBQ upstairs on the terrace for us the night before we left. They made us feel so welcome and all the guests were treated as if part of a family.
Viva Hostel Quinta Playa!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishgodeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Despite the party vibe I loved this place. Yes the music can be loud but most of the staff is great and the people this place attracts have been some of the coolest travelers I've met in Mexico. If the music is too loud you can always ask for them to turn it down. The kitchen is comfortable and spacious with new stove and a giant fridge. The dorms are small and have a/c at night and are a great value for Playa. The beach is literally sixty feet away. Stay for five days and try to haggle a bit for a reduced rate. And when you do say hi to Mike for us.

Room Tip: Stay in the back for less noise. Get a bottom bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustaPack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with a group touring the Yucatan. If you don't like sleeping, head here. Granted the location is awesome but this is a NOISY hostel with loud music played until late.

Despite claiming to be the newest hostel the mattresses are definitely second hand. Horridly lumpy with twanging springs every time you move. Despite the comments of others I didn't find it clean at all and the sheets were decidedly grubby.

They do have reliable wifi and a decent little kitchen and a fridge to store your food. Lockers are available in the rooms but aren't particularly secure. They don't provide a sheet to sleep under so you will need a sleeping bag or sheet of your own.

One staff member was particularly over friendly and irritated some of the girls we were travelling with. He also kept frequently disappearing into the toilet with friends and came out sniffing which might explain his inconsiderate behaviour.

I certainly wouldn't recommend this hostel unless they sort out the mattresses and staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank djshaw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

There are many other hostels in Playa del Carmen, and this is one of the worst I've ever stayed at...the sheets and towels were dirty, the staff was rude and not at all helpful,-- one young staff (woman) played EXTREMELY LOUD electronica music for much of the day--not a place to relax, have a conversation, or read a book. I couldn't get out of there fast enough---check out somewhere else (like across the street)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very friendly and helpful in giving recommendations
Perfect place to put your head for a few days to enjoy playa and move on with your trip.
great location very close to the ferry and the bus station but only 5 min away from the main street of the partys

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 604zukin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Friendly staff, right on the beach, ... what more could you want? I was here over new years 2012-2013 and had a great time with all the other travelers. Plus, this hostel is right off of 5th avenue, the pedestrian only street in playa with all the best bars and night life.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey_d_yosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#97 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#103 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#129 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#128 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#3 of 207 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Melissa
Casa Melissa
#21 of 173 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Quinta Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Quinta Playa

Property: Hostel Quinta Playa
Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre 5ta y La Playa 141, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest Hostel in Playa Del Carmen. Being a stone's throw away from the beach, we offer VIP services of the big hotels for travelers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Quinta Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Quinta Playa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing