We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Quinta Playa
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with a group touring the Yucatan. If you don't like sleeping, head here. Granted the location is awesome but this is a NOISY hostel with loud music played until late.

Despite claiming to be the newest hostel the mattresses are definitely second hand. Horridly lumpy with twanging springs every time you move. Despite the comments of others I didn't find it clean at all and the sheets were decidedly grubby.

They do have reliable wifi and a decent little kitchen and a fridge to store your food. Lockers are available in the rooms but aren't particularly secure. They don't provide a sheet to sleep under so you will need a sleeping bag or sheet of your own.

One staff member was particularly over friendly and irritated some of the girls we were travelling with. He also kept frequently disappearing into the toilet with friends and came out sniffing which might explain his inconsiderate behaviour.

I certainly wouldn't recommend this hostel unless they sort out the mattresses and staff.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank djshaw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

There are many other hostels in Playa del Carmen, and this is one of the worst I've ever stayed at...the sheets and towels were dirty, the staff was rude and not at all helpful,-- one young staff (woman) played EXTREMELY LOUD electronica music for much of the day--not a place to relax, have a conversation, or read a book. I couldn't get out of there fast enough---check out somewhere else (like across the street)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very friendly and helpful in giving recommendations
Perfect place to put your head for a few days to enjoy playa and move on with your trip.
great location very close to the ferry and the bus station but only 5 min away from the main street of the partys

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 604zukin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Friendly staff, right on the beach, ... what more could you want? I was here over new years 2012-2013 and had a great time with all the other travelers. Plus, this hostel is right off of 5th avenue, the pedestrian only street in playa with all the best bars and night life.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkey_d_yosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose this hostel, due to location and it not being a party hostel and we werent disappointed. It is seriously 30 seconds from the beach, 2 min walk from the ADO & super close to all the restaurants/bars. We stayed here for three nights and were very comfortable. Booked a ladies only room which was fine, got moved once and the next room we had was bigger (bonus), Air con was put on at night (why need it during the day) which we even requested to be switched off as it was getting too cold. We booked our tours through Julio and he was helpful. Kitchen was decent to make breakfast/lunches and they occasionally do dinner nights for a few pesos. Wifi was really good too. If you are after a hostel that is more like a big home and not a party one, then best to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here many times and every time was a blast! clean,cozy and fun.The location is amazing and everything you need is right around the corner infinite bars ,restaurants,stores everything! and best of all the beach is 20 seconds away!The staff is super fun and helpful! Mike and Julio the long haired Mexican are some of the nicest people I have ever met, they are great hosts and are always in the best mood.I met people from all over the world and have made good friends. it was amazing! If i could I would live there! don't think twice on visiting this place you will have a great time guaranteed !

Room Tip: If you come from a cold as$ region Don,t be cheap and go for the A/c room! remember its the Caribbea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is the best choice for people travelling on budget to playa del carmen. The rooms are very nice and clean and the hostel is right next to the beach. The location is perfect overall as you have 5na avenida on the other corner, where all the touristy bars, restaurants and stores are (if you are looking for that). The hostel has a pool, kitchen, TV area with a couch to chill and a couple tables to eat and two roof tarraces as well.
Best of all though is the great atmosphere that you will find there! The guys working there are really nice and relaxed and everybody is welcome :)
Seriously if you come to playa del carmen, that's the place you want to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonVIE89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#2 of 245 in Playa del Carmen
567 reviews
10.5 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
13 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,163 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,069 reviews
3.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Quinta Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Quinta Playa

Address: Calle 2 Norte Entre 5ta y La Playa 141, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the newest Hostel in Playa Del Carmen. Being a stone's throw away from the beach, we offer VIP services of the big hotels for travelers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Quinta Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Quinta Playa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing