We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One Amazing Bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club de la Cerveza

Club de la Cerveza
Ranked #14 of 1,154 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Amplia variedad de cervezas artesanales mexicanas e importadas (Belgica, Alemania, Inglaterra, USA, etc.) Variety of mexican craft beers and imported (Belgium, Germany, England, USA)
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“One Amazing Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband was on a mission to find a good place for Mexican beer. He didn't want the standard stuff. We were staying at a condo on Calle 46 and just started walking up 5th avenue. We found this really amazing food place (La Portena) and afterwards started to walk south. I glanced over to my left and saw Club de la Cerveza. I am so glad we stopped. I am not a beer drinker but the food was amazing, very simple menu. My husband LOVED the beer selection, and the owner, Miquel, - there are not enough words to say how nice, kind, amazing, wonderful he is. Our first night there we just sat and talked with him. He gave my husband some really great recommendations. The rest of our time there we would end the night there and just hang out. One night our friends came down to join us. I wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely head back there when we are in Playa del Carmen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimpan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    122
    15
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Holy Beer!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was a fantastic find on La Quinta! My husband found this place online from Trip Advisor reviewers, and we made it there. The owners were friendly and so knowledgeable on all the beer - the service was great! Wish we didn't find this out so late on our trip--I would definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hdr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to discover the mexican boutique beers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

As a homebrewer and beer geek, it was a very nice surprise to see the place. To understand that mexico has good, interesting beers and not only the mass produced cervzas. Miguel the owner knows his beers and our time there was perfect - beer, food and all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asafmurkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubdelaCerveza, Gerente at Club de la Cerveza, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for visiting us and then write a review on Tripadvisor.
We're glad you spent a nice time at the bar.
Hope we can show you more mexican microbreweries in your next visit to Playa del Carmen.
Cheers !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, great beer, great people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

When someone has a passion, all they do shows a sense of pride and excellence. Miguel, the owner of Club d la Cerveza, clearly has a passion for great beer and great service and it shows in every last detail of his bar / restaurant. It is a very friendly environment with a wide selection of beer and very knowledgeable hosts. The servers take a genuine interest in how you are doing and are ready to guide you to impressive local beers as well as those from half-way around the globe. Patrons have become so loyal, they they will often bring a sampling of the best beer from their homeland as an offering to the venue that has been so generous to them. Stop by and bring your beer savoring friends. They'll be impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smcwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubdelaCerveza, Gerente at Club de la Cerveza, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for coming to the bar and then give us this great review on Tripadvisor.
We really like the way you describe the enviroment we try to create at Club de la Cerveza. It makes us think we're in the right path.
We hope to keep serving you beers. We really enjoy the company of our regulars.
See you around !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Draught beer and huge bottled selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We googled this place and checked it out via TripAdvisor.
It's located on 5th, just past GG's and Cuban restaurant.

They had 6 beers on draught, 2 real ales, brewed locally.
7.5% and 8.0% draught beers are a bit too strong for a session but they have so many bottled beers, shame only 1 from UK- Fullers London Pride from memory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MANINAFRICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubdelaCerveza, Gerente at Club de la Cerveza, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for coming to the bar and then writing a review on Tripadvisor.
We've got 70 beers in the menu and 20 more rotating beers. Nowadays we've just received Bath Ales's beers from Bristol !
We were pleased to show you some mexican microbreweries and hope to have the same oportunity in your next visit to Playa del Carmen.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club de la Cerveza also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 

Been to Club de la Cerveza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing