We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for a better location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Aside from resorts, we have stayed in a number of condos in the area. The location of Xaman Ha is absolutely the best. There are other very nice properties in Playa Del Carmen, but the beach here is superior to all, without sacrificing close proximity to center of town (5-10 minute walk). it is less crowded, much wider, cleaner and has a private beach volleyball and more than enough loungers.
The property is very nice and safe. It is within a private compound separate from the rest of Playacar, which is a gated community itself. The security guards are very helpful and friendly. The pool area has a swim-up bar and a snack bar, both are very reasonably priced. Wifi works great in the lobby and pool area but not in all condos - ours did not have a router, but others did. On the other hand, our condo had beach umbrellas to use, but many others did not. As the condos individually owned, it is a good idea to make sure everything you need is there before going.
The views from every condo at Xaman Ha are breathtaking, and cost hundreds extra if we would upgrade to that at any resort. The quiet nights on the balcony with sounds of the sea rather than drunk laughter and animacion teams are priceless.
Cleaning staff is brilliant. It is much harder to take care of a 3 bedroom (dishes, garbage and all that) than a resort room, but the ladies were absolutely awesome and deserved extra gratuity for their work.
Another great perk was a free long distance telephone (US/Canada/Mexico only) in the lobby.
Our unit was a 3 bedroom, 3 bath but a bit basic compared to others, but was just fine for our needs. Master bedroom has its own private balcony. Very comfortable beds, big dining room table.
There are some great beach restaurants 10 minutes along the beach, and 5th avenue starts within 5 minute walk, so is Juarez street with many local shops and eateries at a fraction of 5th Ave. prices. There is an OXXO ( a 7/11 type store) just 3 minutes away, with Walmart is less than 20 minute walk. Cozumel ferry is just steps from Xaman Ha.
THINGS TO BE AWARE OF. This is not a hotel. There is no 24/7 front desk or after-hours service, except security. There are several unrelated agencies and private owners that run things. If you arrive/depart off business hours, make sure that everything you need - keys, extra bedding, cot or crib, etc - is arranged for and you get clear instructions. I have seen a few frustrated people that arrived at night or Sunday being unable to reach their contacts until next business day. Again, this is not a hotel or resort, so please plan accordingly.
This property may not be the most luxurious we have stayed at, but has an edge over all others in location, gorgeous pool area, ambiance and the beautiful beach. Most definitely we will come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mosaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    53
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
114
38
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Saturday to Saturday stay with a family of four adults, "kids" ages 22 and 20. The condo complex was perfect. You can tell the buildings are not brand new, but the common areas and exterior are very well maintained. Front desk staff helpful. Free calls to USA in lobby very helpful. Lobby wifi seemed to work everywhere we sat on the pool and deck. Beautiful view and beach. Condo staff cleaned the beach daily and it was quite necessary.

Unit 7006 could not have worked out better. Recently updated, or so it appeared. Kitchen appliances worked fine. We did little cooking, but the necessary kitchen accessories seemed to be there. Room has its own wifi. I do not recall this being advertised by the owners, but it is a nice and much needed touch. Beds comfortable and cleaning service efficient and thorough. 5 gallon water dispenser in the condo. I would definitely rent this unit again!

20 minute walk to WalMart. $7 cab ride back if you use the taxi stations. If you flag down a taxi away from the stations you can barter. Trip advisor recommended restaurants we used were wonderful. El Fogon and La Fagmilia to name a couple.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAIL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved almost everything about the Xaman Ha Condos, however I could not give it 5 stars because there are not enough umbrellas around the pool or on the beach. I think a luxury condominum property on the beach should have 1 umbrella for every 2 - 3 chairs. Xaman Ha probably had 1 umbrella for every 6 - 8 chairs. It was very unpleasant to sit in the hot sun all day without shade. Most of the chairs and umbrellas were taken by 9 am and the "towel game" was in full force.

Xaman Ha is in a great location if you want to try the local restaurants which we did for almost all of our dinners (note if you want to use the BBQ grill make sure to reserve with the check in desk - we found this out the hard way). Venture off of 5th for better prices and delicious food - we found the Italian food some of the best we have had. The swim up bar was nice for a casual lunch or happy hour drinks. We really liked the fresh guacamole and strawberry daquiris. We had breakfast in our condo every day and it is a quick walk to Starbucks for a caffiene fix. Senior Frog's is very close by and one day/night they had a special event with a concert. We heard loud thumping music until 4 am - thankfully it was only one night! Mayela at the front desk was very friendly and helpful with booking an excursion.

We stayed in unit 7201 and it was comfortable for the 8 of us (4 adults, 4 teens). We liked that it was on the top floor at the end so we did not hear a lot of noise from people coming and going. The views were incredible and the unit was clean and well appointed. The teens liked playing beach volleyball, however we wish we brought our own ball as the one at the front desk goes flat quickly. The teens also wished that the waves were stronger in Playa. All in all it was a great vacation and I highly recommend Playa Del Carmen and Xaman Ha Condos for a fun family vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzCatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in #7201 for a week and I really liked the location, the condo, the beach and the ammenities. I agree with what the other reviews have to say - super location: close to 5th, safe, clean, GREAT beach, bar is decent, etc. Here is my pro/con list for this particular unit and the property in general:

Pro:
- views from the unit, the balcony and the master + the room with 2 beds. SPECTACULAR!!!
- very nice furnishings, kitchen, bathrooms; everything you need is here
- beach is great!
- swim up bar and pool are a hit for the kiddos
- front end staff and cleaning staff are great; bar staff too!
- owner very responsive, easy to deal with

Cons:
- beds in 2nd and 3rd rooms are NOT queens. They are for sure doubles
- this property lacks chairs and loungers; you must get out there early and get space
- this property lacks umbrellas - no palapas and little shade (bring lots of sunscreen!!!)
- swim up bar lacks variety of food; not a deal breaker, but just be aware

Room Tip: #7201 is an ideal location; top floor and great views. We had 8 in this unit. We had two couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mski1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teachertravlr
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

LOVED Xaman ha condos. We were in 7214 and had an amazing time. The facility is super safe, gated, and basically right at the edge of town. Walking down Fifth Avenue, we (two teens-two adults) were all very glad we weren't in the middle of all of that noise and busy-ness, but it was nice to be able to just walk a few minutes to get to it. We kept our windows open all night long to enjoy the sound of the ocean, and heard no city sounds. I ran (a lone woman) every morning and felt completely safe. I recommend grabbing fruit every morning from the ladies right over by the pier (2 min away) and there's a GREAT bakery about three blocks back towards town. DELICIOUS breakfast! We saw only about 4 other condos filled while we were there in July, and we really appreciated the personal, quiet, attention. Overall,having traveled the world with my kids,we all agreed that Playa had EVERYTHING we could want in a vacation destination. My only regret is that I can't do it over for the first time. It's great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank teachertravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to Playa Del Carmen for a destination wedding in mid-June. We opted to stay at the Xaman Ha condo instead of the all inclusive because we wanted to save money and also to be able to enjoy the local flair. Our condo was great! I couldn't have been happier. The condos were right on the beach with pool and ocean view. It gave us all the comforts of a home away from home. The condo was spacious and clean. They had free wi-fi and provided safe water to drink. It's conveniently located 5 min on foot from town. We even walked farther into town for great food. Thanks to Andrew and the great folks at Sol Maya Rentals, including shuttle service to/ from airport, our trip was exceptional. We had an amazing experience in the beautiful Mayan Riviera! I would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UVtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Being a mother of three girls makes it hard to keep the whole family entertained and wanting to spend time with the family! On this trip we got to spend every moment together whether it was inside the air-conditioned and stylish condo or outside by the pool and beach. The kitchen was so amazing as I cooked lunch for the kids everyday. The bedrooms where comfortable and very clean. I didn't have one problem and neither did my husband or kids. Three bedrooms, a dining table, kitchen, living area, two televisions (not that we used them), and two bathrooms. There was a safe that allowed us to store any valuables, but stealing was not a problem. Wonderful maid service and sweet set up. The town was a little walk away where you could eat and enjoy the scenery. My kids enjoyed walking on 5th avenue and buying fruit from venders along the beachside. Overall, I have no complaints with the best condo I have stayed in at Xaman-ha by far and an amazing time with the family throughout the ten day stay! Next time I know to book 7021 and I am definitely going to make Xaman-ha a place to visit yearly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#82 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,383 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#94 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums

Property: Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Address: Playacar Fase 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaman-Ha Luxury Condominiums Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Xaman Ha Condominiums
Xaman-Ha Luxury Condominiums Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing