We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have stayed at this complex several times, and have sampled 1, 2, and 3 bedroom units. As with any condo complex, units will vary, so consult with your rental agent before committing. Some units do include an assigned parking space, but there does seem to be plenty of open parking at the complex.

The two top selling points for this complex are location and value. It's cheaper for us to stay here high season than it is to visit Jersey in the summer. Every unit is oceanfront and overlooks a clean, sparkling pool. The crowd is largely families, but I wouldn't say it's overrun with kids. The walk to 5th Avenue is short, but the lower end is much like a Jersey boardwalk. Shop after shop with the same stuff, and aggressive salespeople. Nicer restaurants are further up the strip. Don't neglect the side streets near the condo though. We got some great meals at rock bottom prices by eating with the locals.

One point for improvement would be better wifi. Our particular unit did not have its own wifi (but some do) and the only place we were able to grab a signal was on the balcony. Totally not a deal breaker! Maid service 6 days a week in season is a nice little luxury.

Mind your travel dates. We visited during Holy Week, and we didn't realize it was party time. A few nights, the music from Señor Frog's was really loud, and went till about 5am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    55
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
114
41
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We recently took our 8 year old triplets on their first Caribbean vacation to Playa del Carmen and stayed at Xaman Ha, condo 7006. One word: FANTASTIC! This private condo complex is perfect for families. They are located right on the beach just south of the ferry pier and very close walking distance to 5th Avenue, the primary shopping and restaurant district. Their beautiful pool and swim up bar was a huge hit. The kids loved how warm the pool was then ran out on the beach into the ocean giving them the best of both worlds. Condo 7006 was absolutely beautiful, close to the pool, and no stairs to climb which worked well for our family. We love that we had a view of the pool and ocean and we sat out on the balcony frequently on the hammock taking it all in. Love the smaller size of Xaman Ha vs. the mega resorts and hotels and it allowed us to get to know a lot of nice families and locals as well. Roger was our hero and gave us lots of advice on where to eat and other local information. We absolutely LOVED it and cannot wait to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Kids appreciate ground floor rooms for easy access to the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CampClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a delightful condo, a beautiful view of the ocean, pools and grounds from our balcony. The two bedroom/bathroom condo was well appointed with comfortable beds and furnishings. The location and beach made our vacation so pleasant and we would wholeheartedly recomment it to anyone. We will certainly think of this paradise and accommodations as one of our best vacations and will come again and stay in 7102. We have been to Playa del Carmen several times and stayed at various "all inclusives". Xhaman ha provided a much more relaxing and all around better experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank wjkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just returned from a week staying in Xaman-ha condominiums. They were lovely, clean, comfortable, and great location. The "Johnny's special" at the swim up bar is really yummy. I really like that it was a smaller complex, looking at some of the large all inclusives further down the beach, they seemed so big and busy! Xaman-ha is smaller, quieter, and we got to know and visit with some of the other guests hanging around the pool. It's in a neat location at Playa Del Carmen, as it's on a quieter stretch of beach, but then only one block from the Cozumel Ferry Terminal, and the beginning of the 5th avenue area, so a short walk to restaurants, shopping etc. The staff were lovely and friendly, and I also had a massage at their spa, which was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EMC501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned (March 1,2013) from a two week stay in condo 7123. Great location, right on the ocean, beautiful pool, impeccable grounds. We had a very clean and roomy 3 bedroom condo the 4 of us. Bedrooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. A/C on balcony was too noisy while we sat outside so it was always turned off. A/C in the smallest bedroom drained out onto the hallway outside which was a risk for people slipping. Master bedroom bathroom had two sinks, only one of which worked. Unit had a washer and dryer which was a huge bonus, but there was a horrible smell that came from the washers drain. We asked that something be done about it because it became quite sickening but nothing was ever done.

We found the staff non-existent. We arrived on Monday at about 11:00am and there was no one to be found to tell us the door code or to even show us where our unit was. Luckily a maintenance man showed us where to go and told us the door code. Funny that he new the code immediately! We felt a bit nervous about this. About an hour later Angie showed up to tell us about the cleaning staff routine, the phone in the lobby(which did not work to Manitoba very often), Internet, how easy it is to reach her for assistance, how to book the bar b que grill, etc. She also has the door code and was surprised that we were concerned about so many people being able to let themselves into the unit. She did enter the unit several times on her own and we felt that that was unacceptable. If you knock and no one answers you don't just come in, which she did on a few occasions.

It was four days after we arrived that we finally saw someone at the front desk. We had been checking on a regular basis and the door to the office was always closed. The elusive Paula was finally available to talk to. We all felt that it was strange that we had never really ever checked in. She said she was the only one that oversees the entire complex and she was very busy. I guess too busy to make sure the correct people were in the condo!

The A/C in our room worked great and we had it set just right to keep our room comfortable for us and we kept the door closed at all times. Upon returning back to the unit from a day of activities, we found our bedroom door open, the light on, the A/C off AND my laptop open, turned on and on an app the I had not accessed while we were there. This was not a cleaning day so there was no reason for anyone to be in the unit let alone our bedroom. When I approached Paula with my concern she said I needed to speak to Angie. She set up an appointment that day at 4pm so we waited from 2pm and Angie never arrived. Paula rescheduled the appointment for the next morning between 9:30-10:00am and again she never showed. This happened to be the same day we were leaving so I guess she felt that she could ignore us. Much to her surprise we met her in the lobby while we were waiting for our transfer. She denied, in front of Paula, ever having known about the meetings that she missed, yet at the same time she said Paula had told her about the laptop issue. She also said that it couldn't have been any of the staff because they don't know how to use computers! Not interested in any solutions to a problem that they will continue to have.

Location is great. Close to 5th Ave. and lots of great restaurants. We cooked many of our meals in the well equipped kitchen in the condo. A very short walk to the ferry dock and of course Señor Frogs. Scuba diving was great through the Abyss Dive Centre. Ask for Dave. Chichen Itza and Xcaret are must sees. Beautiful mornings and great evenings spent on the balcony watching the waves and enjoying good cigars and great company. Don't forget to watch for the Agouti and have a scrap of bread for them!

All in all a good vacation. Unfortunate incidents with the property management company which could cost the owners of the condo some revenue if things are not corrected.

Just an FYI be sure to bring enough money with you. If you have to use the ATM kiosks on 5th, it will cost you anywhere between 15 and 50 dollars to W/D money. Your best bet is to go into the Scotia Bank on 5th but make sure you have your passport when you go in. Not all credit cards work nor do all debit cards. It's sort of hit and miss but they sure scam you out of your money if you have to use the kiosks.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiac, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We are sold to this place, we just love it so much that we have been there 3 years in a row for 1 or 2 weeks and we always go with our daughter (8 yrs), my brother and his daughter (7 yrs) as well as my late mother. We have been so lucky and very happy with our choices of condo for the past years, except for this one. First, the blinds in the master bedroom (see picture), we had to buy clothes pin to fix a blanket in order to be able to sleep in the morning (blinds missing and falling/color too light). Then we also had to buy glasses of wine, since there was none at all. By the way, no one drank win before us? Obviously not (see picture of the archaique screw driver)! A lot was missing in the kitchen and it seems to me that the owner bought this place in the late 80', put their cottage furniture in and left the building without looking back... just cashing the $. Of course, I have comparison with other much much nicer and well equipped condos in Xaman Ha, so my references are good, believe me... avoid renting this condo, you will be disappointed, unless you have the assurance the some things have change. Of course, once these irritating situations were handle by us... our stay was as usual extremely nice - told you, we love Xaman Ha in general. Unfortunately this condo was not the our level of expectation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARANSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, at Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
This unit is NOT in Xaman Ha. This unit is a new luxury unit in the Property of Luna Encantada.

Whoever wrote this review obviously pushed a wrong button. They have never stayed in this penthouse unit. SEE LINK BELOW.



http://bookings.rentalsyourway.com/Unit.mvc/Details/66816
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Staying at Xaman-Ha Condominiums, Unit 7005. Perfect location with fabulous ocean views and white powdering sand beach. Rented through Rentals Your Way who gave us fantastic service, Thank you Angie for taking care of us. Great pool and direct access to the beach. Recommend highly.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the first floor there are some 6 steps to reach the walkway to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jogetnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#85 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#21 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,426 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,448 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#95 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums

Property: Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Address: Playacar Fase 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaman-Ha Luxury Condominiums Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Xaman Ha Condominiums
Xaman-Ha Luxury Condominiums Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing