We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Chocolate - CLOSED

La Casa del Chocolate
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Thionville, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I came here to have coffee with a chocolate cake and it was EXCELLENT!!!! The service is wonderful, very lovely people and the chocolate!!!! Oh my God, like when I went to Belgium!!! I loved it and I really recommend it!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank C0upleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Chocolate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went to another chocolate place before and their chocolates didn't seem as interesting. La Case del Chocolate have very tasty creations and all the ones I tried were exquisite. Their hot chocolate was also great. I ordered a crepe with strawberries and the portion was 3 times bigger than what you'd get in other cities, it was quite fresh too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Menna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best coffee and chocolate in Playa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stumbled upon this cool little cafe and were really pleasantly surprised. The coffee is great, the service is really friendly and (the owner is a Belgian patisiere) the chocolate and desserts are amazing. A really great find.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 482DanMac482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful dessert and so friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My family found this cafe on the way back from 5th Ave. We are so glad we stopped here for dessert, that we have been twice already in three days. My son insists that I write a review tonight saying we'll be back yet again before we leave, because if it is on the internet it will come true.

We have had (over our two visits): banana milkshake, chocolate milkshake, crepe w/ chocolate and ice cream, waffles w/ chocolate and ice cream, "casa del chocolate" crepe, and banana-chocolate mousse. All were great!! We are divided on a favorite - but I would recommend the crepes. Their cafe americano is quite good too.

Our waiter was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SZ_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic desserts & chocolates & friendliest staff in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband & I have been coming here for the last 2 years for dessert & coffee almost every night during our 6 week stay. The desserts & chocolates are gorgeous & delicious. Jerome & his staff are so genuine & friendly & always make us feel so welcome. On our friend's birthday they even sang to her!
Don't miss out on stopping here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MADRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa del Chocolate also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing