We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good desserts and great staff!”
Review of La Casa del Chocolate - CLOSED

La Casa del Chocolate
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good desserts and great staff!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I ate dessert and had a cappuccino here every day that I was in Playa Del Carmen (2 weeks in November). The staff and owner are great and the desserts and specialty coffees are excellent! We had a 2 year old traveling with us and every time we visited, the staff would come out with a child size complimentary dessert for him. I would highly recommend this place and will definitely go back if I am ever in Playa again. I might just have to go back to Playa just to get my dessert fix from La Casa del Chocolate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiiiiiiiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dreamy little bites”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This lovely place is owner operated by a friendly and hard working man from Belgium. The chocolates, from crispy or creamy hazelnut to marzipan with dark chocolate, to the gorgeous cakes are fresh, delicious and a welcome change from so many of the same ordinary places around here.
On a cold and rainy evening, this was truly a warm escape (for the second or third time).
Thank you!

Helpful?
1 Thank citygirlcountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I managed to pass this every day without realising what it actually was - mistaking it for a simple coffee shop. After seeing reviews and then recognising facade from the pics we decided to pop in. I enjoyed a fabulous simple melted chocolate in hot milk and my husband has an incredible milkshake. We also had a chocolate bar - not the best in the world, but prob the best in town. We meant to go back and try the beautiful cakes but alas our trip ended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LuxBunBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Both the deserts we had - the chocolate mousse and the Paris Brest pastry - were delicious! The chocolate mousse was very rich!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you LOVE chocolate...............”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

From the first time I went here I was in LOVE......they have the very best Belguim chocolate goodies, from truffles, cakes, tortes and other goodies, someone in our group wanted the new Mango cake which was a delight, and they let us sample a new creation with almond cream, melts in your mouth and is sure to be a hit, in March we bought cakes for a birthday and everyone raved about them, I must say I've been so focused on his desserts that I failed to realize that he has waffles, sandwiches and what appears to be a pretty full menus, so next vacation we will be there sampling those and of course leaving with a bit of chocolate :') wander off 5th Ave and enjoy

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjsl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa del Chocolate also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing