We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #143 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not too bad but could be better”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stayed here from 31st march to 3rd april 2013. We specifically chose this area so we were close to Xcaret park, but the local area was brilliant. we were all inclusive and whilst the breakfast was good, because we had an upgraded room we used the option of eating at the 5 star gran porto down the road. Much bgger choice of food. Also a great beach and pool at the gran porto. Although more expensive would def stay there in future.
however, The staff were great and very helpful - Sandra on the excursion desk was very helpful.
the town is briliant - everything you could want ( and some you hadnt thought of) but without the downsides of cancun. It still retains the flavour of mexico. plenty of choice for food, drink, shopping and within fingertip reach. very short walk to beach.
The room was good - plenty of room and the iggest bed ever which was excellent. only downside really was the small bathroom and the fact that it was tired and rundown.
the whole room looked like it could do with a lick of paint and a polish up.It was not dirty however. the room was well cleaned every day and we had no issues with mozzies.
when we arrived despite having emailed to say we would need an extra bed the sofa bed was not made up for our son, not enough towels or bedding and the one sheet which was their was stained. however within an hour they had sorted all this.
Overall good place and good value for the price. Very good service from everyone with the exception of marias restaurant on the grounds. although they were not full they would not give us a table because we had not booked that morning - very petty!
we will not judge the hotel and whole complex by this one thing though and would stay there again.

Room Tip: choose the upgraded pool room - for a small amount more you are closer to pool and reception and als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much indeed with your comments and time, it is so important for us your experience with us. We really hope that you are coming back again. Best Regards from all Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    341
    141
    100
    107
See reviews for
183
397
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here from April 1-8 2013 and we loved it. The location was fantastic, the staff was amazing from guest services to reception. They had two girls and two guys working the best day excursion desk that were beyond helpful and amazing. We will be staying here again for sure. The food was far better then expected and we couldn't get enough of the mango tango cocktails. The entertainment staff were funny, everyone was great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmartinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We really appreciate your comments and time. We really hope that you are coming back again soon, as you mentioned. Please keep in mind that this is your home in Playa del Carmen, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of my favorite parts of the city. Just close enough to easily walk to most attractions, while at the same time being out of tourist areas.

Real offers good food, suitably comfortable rooms and a number of little amenities that fit nicely with the location (bicycles, street-side lounge, etc)

Room Tip: It's a compound, so the rooms are quiet. However, I preferred the rooms on the east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for you comments, we really appreciatte your time and notes. which motivate us to continuo improving service and areas. We hope that you are coming back again. You have your home in México. Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We picked this hotel based on the location, and never dreamed it would be so good in so many other ways! It is small, which meant we did not have to walk far for anything. Meals, drinks, and personel were always convenient. We really loved sitting in front of the lobby each night with a drink, watching the parade of 5th avenue strollers and listening to the great Cuban music right across the street. Easy walking to anything you wanted, coffee cafes, food, shopping, and constant activity. Ingrid helped us out so much, with a room upgrade which was well worth it--even a patio with a hammock! We so enjoyed learning a bit of Spanish from the tireless waitresses, especially Norma and Cecilia. And Sandra in the lobby helped us to book some perfect excursions, and looked out for us as well. We really liked the beach club at the Gran Porto--it is in a protected corner, so the waves were tame and we could swim every day, even when the rest of the beach was too rough. The animation team of Dani and Moni were unbelievable, so talented and friendly. We can't say enough about how much we loved this place, and it was such a bargain. And the most comfortable beds we've ever had in all of Mexico!

Room Tip: Ground floor with a patio are well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OMEXICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We really appreciate your comments and time, it has been so kind for mentioning some Employees, Animation Team basically and they are so happy with it. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Please keep in mind that this is your home in México, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. Best Regards. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. What can i say, i got the best value for the money. This hotel is located perfect, close to everything you need, nightlife, beach, 5 avenue, resturants and moore. They clean the room perfect every day, the all inclusive buffe and bar are perfect. Ive never seen so helpful and kind staff at any hotell and ive been traveling alot. I give this hotell 10 of 10!

Special thanks to,

CESAR, best bartender in the world, numero uno. This guy is the reason why i love this hotel, everyone who stayed at this hotel loved this guy, perfect service and always happy and he takes care of everyone!!

Adrian also a bartender, i thank you for all the help u did for us, perfect service.

Resturant manager Bersain, hes always there for you, and if u need anything just tell him, he will get right back at you. He helped us with alot och things and i thank you!!

Caleb, works in the lobby at the reception, very friendly and great service, if u need anything or if u have any probelm with the hotell or in the room or with ur booking, just talk with this guy and he will help you out.

Lillya, waiter at the resturang, she will always be to ur favour if u need anything at the table, always shining and smiling, and very nice service.

A big thanks for allt of you guys, you are the reason i had a good stay at this hotell. Your manager should be very proud of you. I am recomending this hotell to all the prople i know that are traveling to mexico.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank salle_salle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank ou very much indeed for your comments, we really appreciatte your time and notes, and hoping that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards from all Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kramfors, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I Think this resort was very good! i Went there with my family and it was a very calm place if you think that the Place is on the 5th avenue the long food and shopping street. the service was awesome and with that i mean everyone =) And the team of course, The Animation team who have the activities at the beach for the whole day and at night they having there own show's with different themes! Thank you Dani and Moni for that and the rest of the people on the resort! I can probably think of coming back to this hotel..

Room Tip: i have only one thing to complain about, and that is the AC in the smaller rooms, they are very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We really appreciate your comments and time, it has been so kind for mentioning some Employees, and they are so happy with it. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Please keep in mind that this is your home in Playa del Carmen, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to real was a pleasent one. The hotel is a bit dated but location was excelent for us. It is on 5 th ave. So it near the tourist center. On the otherhand if you walk away from the beach you can find local people. From real you are in walking distance for beach, shops and all other activities. While you are near everything real is still relatively quiet.

The staff is really friendly. Everything just works. Food is nice althought it may be bit boring at evenings. From bars one can get whatever drinks you desire.

Rooms show age but they are charming. Beds are large. Warm water is not a problem. There is an tv which have some english channels but I was not able to find any english speaking news channels.

Pool area is not very large but it is enough. And it is nicely garden styled.

With all-inclusive you can use services in the beach club. Which is nice because the beach is an Paradise.

I really recomend to go bars which locals use. Food is cheap and excelent there.

There might be more luxurious hotels in Playa but you will have hard time to find friendlier place. And then there is the location, location, location... I did really enjoy my stay at Real

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your comments, and we are so happy with your vacations spent in our property, this is your home at any time. All notes and comments are so welcome to improve. Also employees read your comments and were motivaded to continuo with the good service. We really hope that you are coming back again soon.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
#147 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#66 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#72 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Property: Real Playa del Carmen
Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing