We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Three Star Resort With Lots of Five Star Moments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #144 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Three Star Resort With Lots of Five Star Moments”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The friendliest resort I've ever been to. My wife and I booked through Vacation Express on a direct charter for a very good price. We are in our early sixties. We arrived at the hotel in the evening and within moments I was at the lobby bar sipping scotch and watching the Pittsburg Steelers beat our Cincinnati Bengals. After the game was over we were looking for something else to do. You don't have to look far as the resort is right on Fifth Avenue. The incredible latin rythym of a cuban band across the street filled the lobby and we couldn't resist crossing the street and actually paying for drinks.
The next morning we inquired with the front desk about an upgrade. They not only complied, but they gave us a Junior Suite for about 35% of what it would cost to upgrade online. I was thrilled with the beautiful garden view and ease of access to any part of the resrot.
What makes this resort so special is the people that work there. Our waitresses Norma, the bartenders Eduardo and Guadalupe and especially the Animacion Team. Daniel is the head of the team and is one of the most charming and charismatic people I've ever met. He just has a way of making people feel good, but be ware he will drag you up on stage and make you do embarrassing things.
I've seen a lot of shows at a lot of resorts but these shows were always entertaining, The first night was party games, corny but very entertaining with Daniel as the MC. Then they throw you a curve ball. The next night Vyaney and Daniel are doing the most intricate of dance numbers. She is about 5'3" and he is about 6'6" yet the fluidity and grace between them is something to be seen. Vyaney is a very accomplished dancer and choreographer and teaches Daniel and Moni all the moves.
With the great beach club (and bar) the shows and the parties we would have at the lobby bar with new friends we had made from all over the world (all inclusive no less) this is one small compact phenominal resort that has everything you need and gives you more than you ever expected.

Ron Bryant
Cincinnati, Ohio

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thervb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We vreally appreciatte your time and comments, it is so important for all of us, I already talked with some employees about your experience with us. We really hope that yoir coming back pretty soon, feel at home. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    341
    141
    100
    107
See reviews for
183
397
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A very good hotel, all staff friendly and helpful. A special mention for the young waitresses on breakfast service, who tried to teach me Spanish, with little success, Sonia, Flor & Norma On fetching our coffees and always smiling. The animation team ,Moni, Vyaney & Daniel for brilliant entertainment and beach activities. also the beach bar tender for keeping us supplied with all types of drinks every day, and the young lady who kept our room clean and tidy.
Do not expect English food, as the majority of guests are from south/central America, but the selection was good and varied . An excellant holiday

Room Tip: A suite will give more room plus a fridge restocked daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thak you very much indeed for your comments, also mentioned employees, they are so happy with it, It is so important for us your experiencie with us. We really hope that your coming back again soon. Best Regards from all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As I said I would write a review on my return. This hotel is in a great position, Several guests are repeat visitors due to position, But do not dine here every day. The food is boring. The rooms are tired. The staff are nice, Lobby bar also nice. Be warned Mosquito's are nearly invisible and do bite, My partner had around 60 bites. We only saw them spray the grounds once in two weeks, unlike Cuba that was nearly every day. After the first week we were tired of the repeat food, Even the only Ala cart restaurant did not have great food with the steak I ordered being left as it was un edible. We got a stomach upset towards the end of the holiday. I think this might have been from the 24 hr bar as some of the food was brought from the restaurant to here. either that or the chicken as that is all I could eat. Our room was looking over the main road that got very noisy early morning traffic. The A/C was a window type that was ready for changing to a split type. These window type are so noisy. You have difficulty sleeping with them on unless you knock yourself out with several drinks. Some rooms did have split type units. An up grade was offered but we declined as the only difference was an extra pair of bunk beds in a bigger room. Our bed was big and clean so was happy with this room. The hotel is cleaned all the time. Had some nice drinks at the bar and met some nice people from all over the world. Would not stay here again unless a reform happened. Not a four star more like a two star in India were we have been.

Room Tip: Split type A/C unit a must and away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bladesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We really aplogioze if we could not exceed your expetations, we wrote down all your comments in order to change and improve, we really hope that you give us the opportunity to hostess you again and show you how important are your notes. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport po12
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

we arrived at this so-called hotel on tues25-09-12,before we leht home we upgraded to junior master suites,after checking in at reception we were taken to our room as soon as we opened the door we were overcome by the strong smell of diesel which was comimg from a generator right outside our room,I went to reception to inform them that we would like another room & was told i would have to upgrade again to there master premiere rooms which would cost £170-00
I asked if we could move to there sister hotel The Gran Porto Hotel & was told it would cost 90 Dollers each per night,I had no other choice but to opt for there premiere master suite,The food in this hotel is not very exiting to say the least but bearable,The waiting staff in the restaraunt were exellant & so was the animation team,Overall we would not go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: dont bother going
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cynthony_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We really apoligize if we could not exceed your expectations, we took a note about your experience with, in order to improve. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Room good, well-tended clean, however with wrong placed /hot air go back to bathroom/ and too noise AC.
All crew professional, friendly to all guest.
We enjoy very good meals@beverage /special mexican/ with different cousine each day.
Special thanks for Animation Team - Wyaney@Monic@Daniel. They make very good job like artist at evenings and on the beach club :))

Cheers

Alena@Mirek

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much indeed with your comments, we really appreciate, with do our best to keep all guest happy and any bad note is so welcome to modified or change. Thank you again.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We traveled to PDC October 5 to 12, 2012 for a diving vacation, my husband and myself. We knew going in that this hotel would be a different experience from the usual 5-star resorts we travel to for leasure beach vacations, and we set our expectations accordingly. This resort is rated 3.5 stars by the tour operator we traveled with, Tours Mont-Royal. Overall, the hotel met and even exceeded our expectations. It is a small resort: small lobby with limited seating and small pool. But the location is great, right on 5th Avenue and close to several diving shops. By foot, it is a 5 minute walk to Mamitas Beach and a 10 minute walk to the hotel beach club located next to the Gran Porto Real. We even walked to catch the ferry to Cozumel; it is about a 25 minute walk from the hotel. The other great thing about the hotel is the friendly staff and terrific service. We particularly appreciated Heidi, Sonia, Cristabel and Freddy (the morning staff) and Evelio, Venancio and Janet (the evening staff at the restaurant). Yes, the resort is older, but it is clean and well-maintained. No, there is no hair dryer in the room and little or no amenities, but this is a 3.5 star hotel, not 5. We did book a suite as we had read that the standard room is quite small and does not have a fridge. The suite is worth the extra charge, but bear in mind it is a small junior suite and nothing fancy. Other cons: uncomfortable bed and pillows, dirty and worn billiards table in the game room, no food for lunch at the beach club. As for the food at the hotel itself, although food choices are limited, what is made available is very good and you can always find something to please you. The soups and the fish, in particular, were always delicious. As for the beach club, there are chairs provided for the hotel guests, but it is somewhat crowded. The beach is beautiful, but you have to walk over to the side of the Royal hotel to have nice, rock free ocean waters for swimming. The beach situation was not a big deal for us, since we were away diving 5 out of the 7 days and spent only a few hours on some afternoons at the beach. So overall, this hotel is very good value for the money, especially given its location right in Playa Del Carmen. I would definitely recommend it for a diving vacation. Just set your expectations accordingly if you are used to 4 or 5 star resorts.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite to have a mini-fridge and a bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chanpou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We thank for your time and notes during your stay in Real Playa, also for mentioned employees, they already know your comments. Please keep in mind that this is your home in México, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen, see you soon. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel is not new but it was in very good condition, well managed. All crew professional, friendly to all guests. Fantastic Animation Team: Vyaney, Monica, Daniel and Alejandro. They make good job on the beach (volleyball e.t.c). They also are very good artists at evenings. We had been there for 11 nights and we found different show every evening.
We found very good meals. Each day different cousine ("National days").
They have own area with bar on the beach (10' walk from hotel)
Everybody can spend unforgotten vacation there. :)

Room Tip: "Chichen Itza" building rooms are located in good place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edrybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We really appreciatte your comments, our employees who you mentioned are so happy that you had a great time with us. We really hope that you are coming back again soon, This is your home in Playa del Carmen, Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,334 reviews
0.3 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#87 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#101 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Property: Real Playa del Carmen
Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing