We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get ripped off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Real Playa del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #137 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
gosport po12
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“you get ripped off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

we arrived at this so-called hotel on tues25-09-12,before we leht home we upgraded to junior master suites,after checking in at reception we were taken to our room as soon as we opened the door we were overcome by the strong smell of diesel which was comimg from a generator right outside our room,I went to reception to inform them that we would like another room & was told i would have to upgrade again to there master premiere rooms which would cost £170-00
I asked if we could move to there sister hotel The Gran Porto Hotel & was told it would cost 90 Dollers each per night,I had no other choice but to opt for there premiere master suite,The food in this hotel is not very exiting to say the least but bearable,The waiting staff in the restaraunt were exellant & so was the animation team,Overall we would not go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: dont bother going
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cynthony_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We really apoligize if we could not exceed your expectations, we took a note about your experience with, in order to improve. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    341
    141
    100
    107
See reviews for
183
397
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Room good, well-tended clean, however with wrong placed /hot air go back to bathroom/ and too noise AC.
All crew professional, friendly to all guest.
We enjoy very good meals@beverage /special mexican/ with different cousine each day.
Special thanks for Animation Team - Wyaney@Monic@Daniel. They make very good job like artist at evenings and on the beach club :))

Cheers

Alena@Mirek

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much indeed with your comments, we really appreciate, with do our best to keep all guest happy and any bad note is so welcome to modified or change. Thank you again.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We traveled to PDC October 5 to 12, 2012 for a diving vacation, my husband and myself. We knew going in that this hotel would be a different experience from the usual 5-star resorts we travel to for leasure beach vacations, and we set our expectations accordingly. This resort is rated 3.5 stars by the tour operator we traveled with, Tours Mont-Royal. Overall, the hotel met and even exceeded our expectations. It is a small resort: small lobby with limited seating and small pool. But the location is great, right on 5th Avenue and close to several diving shops. By foot, it is a 5 minute walk to Mamitas Beach and a 10 minute walk to the hotel beach club located next to the Gran Porto Real. We even walked to catch the ferry to Cozumel; it is about a 25 minute walk from the hotel. The other great thing about the hotel is the friendly staff and terrific service. We particularly appreciated Heidi, Sonia, Cristabel and Freddy (the morning staff) and Evelio, Venancio and Janet (the evening staff at the restaurant). Yes, the resort is older, but it is clean and well-maintained. No, there is no hair dryer in the room and little or no amenities, but this is a 3.5 star hotel, not 5. We did book a suite as we had read that the standard room is quite small and does not have a fridge. The suite is worth the extra charge, but bear in mind it is a small junior suite and nothing fancy. Other cons: uncomfortable bed and pillows, dirty and worn billiards table in the game room, no food for lunch at the beach club. As for the food at the hotel itself, although food choices are limited, what is made available is very good and you can always find something to please you. The soups and the fish, in particular, were always delicious. As for the beach club, there are chairs provided for the hotel guests, but it is somewhat crowded. The beach is beautiful, but you have to walk over to the side of the Royal hotel to have nice, rock free ocean waters for swimming. The beach situation was not a big deal for us, since we were away diving 5 out of the 7 days and spent only a few hours on some afternoons at the beach. So overall, this hotel is very good value for the money, especially given its location right in Playa Del Carmen. I would definitely recommend it for a diving vacation. Just set your expectations accordingly if you are used to 4 or 5 star resorts.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite to have a mini-fridge and a bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chanpou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We thank for your time and notes during your stay in Real Playa, also for mentioned employees, they already know your comments. Please keep in mind that this is your home in México, Hotel Real Playa del Carmen, see you soon. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel is not new but it was in very good condition, well managed. All crew professional, friendly to all guests. Fantastic Animation Team: Vyaney, Monica, Daniel and Alejandro. They make good job on the beach (volleyball e.t.c). They also are very good artists at evenings. We had been there for 11 nights and we found different show every evening.
We found very good meals. Each day different cousine ("National days").
They have own area with bar on the beach (10' walk from hotel)
Everybody can spend unforgotten vacation there. :)

Room Tip: "Chichen Itza" building rooms are located in good place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edrybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We really appreciatte your comments, our employees who you mentioned are so happy that you had a great time with us. We really hope that you are coming back again soon, This is your home in Playa del Carmen, Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Where to begin...This hotel was the worst accomodation we have ever stayed in. They advised us to upgrade on arrival, without even showing us the room, as they said the standard room was small and did not have a mini bar or hair dryer! We paid to upgrade, for what they describe as a master suite. What a joke, it was filthy, smelly and in a bad state of repair, there were insects crawling outside the door which had an inch gap at the bottom of it. AC unit was too noisy to have on at night, the wooden so called dressing table was shabby and there were no drawers for clothing. I could go on, just look at the photos. The pool was small and a section of it had sunbeds which were filthy in the water. Don't even get me started on the food as the look of it was enough. It was cold and very limited in choice, the restaurant was so dark and dreary, you could not see what you were eating. Finally the entertainment was childish and pathetic. We had to pay again the following day to upgrade to one of their sister hotels, the Gran Caribe Real in Cancun which was absolutely beautiful. They actually describe the Real Playa as a "Boutique Hotel" but how it is rated is beyond me. If we could not have moved, we would have flown home rather than stay there another night. How this can be advertised as a 4 star hotel is unbelieveable and in my opinion does not even warrent 1 star. Having to pay for two upgrades on top of an already expensive holiday is ridiculous!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel in a different location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rita150756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We really apoligize if We could not exceed your expectacions, it is so important for us all your notes which you wrote down, I already talked with all internal departaments in order to make corrections and changes, Please accept our apologies and we hope that you give us the opportunity to hostess you again. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here last week, and it was fantastic!
The staff were very friendly, always there too help you, drinks always topped off and they gave a lot of information on what to do around town. The room wasn't the greatest, but who cares, you won't be in it most of the time anyway.
Located on the main strip in Playa 5th ave, and about 10min walk to the beautiful beach.

P.S; Stay away from the Tequila in the barrel at the main bar. Or you will wake up and not remember what happened :P Overall a wonderful place to stay/travel to. I suggest going by yourself, if you really want to enjoy the city...


See you guys next year!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciatte, motivated us continuo improving facilities and service, Please keep in mind our Hotel in your next holidays. We thak you again, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Traveling with friends for our 4th time in Playa with the Real Resort we were so excited and have bragged about the service of the Real Resort. Upon our arrival at the airport the company picking us up was a bit unorganized. Once we met our friends to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday we were ready to relax and experience the great service this hotel has provided us in the past 3 visits. We immediately notice that some things have changed. We moved into our Master Suite on the 2nd night and immediately noticed a smell. They tried to fix it but resulted on moving once again on our 4th day. Our first evening meal one of the supervisors told my husband the water was cold enough when we asked for a glass of ice. Front desk told my husband if he needed to change money to pesos he should go to the bank. Neither is to say we were mostly dissapointed and hurt by the rudeness of the staff. Our friends left after the first week but our vacation consisted of 14 days at the resort. I wrote a note to the General Manager and she was kind enough to call me and offered to make things better. Even though she comped the two nights we spend on the not so suitable suite, what we were looking for was the exceptional and warm service they were known for. We had dinner with another couple we met from South Africa, she knew we were going to dinner and made our reservations. Neither is to say we got the same server we had in the past, the meals were wrong and by then my husband and I were ready to come home. We are staying in the US next year and will re-think going back again. The said part of the situation is that we are members of the Real Club. Having said all this we would like to mention the staff that prevented us from lossing our money and leaving early. Linda at check-in, she tried her best to find us a suite. Chef Rudy in Pelicanos (he needs to be in one of your high end restaurants) Felipe and Selma supervisors at Pelicanos (Felipe should be training all of your staff) Giovani, Geronimo, Manuel for their serice, Levinia at the SPA for taking all those worries away, Hector & William the best bellstaff they have, Reyes & Liverato Med. Bar we love you, Paco Med. Restaurant and Deli & Pepe at El Pescador and the GM for trying to make things better. The stafff mentioned have not just served us but we have consider this resort our home and all of them our family. Until next time!

Room Tip: Stay on the Mediterranean building if you can. They have what we call the quiet pool and after runn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We thak your comments and it is so important your notes, we hope that you are coming back again to Resl Resorts, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#36 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#87 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#29 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Property: Real Playa del Carmen
Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing