We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat dissapointed but won't give up on the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #153 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Traveling with friends for our 4th time in Playa with the Real Resort we were so excited and have bragged about the service of the Real Resort. Upon our arrival at the airport the company picking us up was a bit unorganized. Once we met our friends to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday we were ready to relax and experience the great service this hotel has provided us in the past 3 visits. We immediately notice that some things have changed. We moved into our Master Suite on the 2nd night and immediately noticed a smell. They tried to fix it but resulted on moving once again on our 4th day. Our first evening meal one of the supervisors told my husband the water was cold enough when we asked for a glass of ice. Front desk told my husband if he needed to change money to pesos he should go to the bank. Neither is to say we were mostly dissapointed and hurt by the rudeness of the staff. Our friends left after the first week but our vacation consisted of 14 days at the resort. I wrote a note to the General Manager and she was kind enough to call me and offered to make things better. Even though she comped the two nights we spend on the not so suitable suite, what we were looking for was the exceptional and warm service they were known for. We had dinner with another couple we met from South Africa, she knew we were going to dinner and made our reservations. Neither is to say we got the same server we had in the past, the meals were wrong and by then my husband and I were ready to come home. We are staying in the US next year and will re-think going back again. The said part of the situation is that we are members of the Real Club. Having said all this we would like to mention the staff that prevented us from lossing our money and leaving early. Linda at check-in, she tried her best to find us a suite. Chef Rudy in Pelicanos (he needs to be in one of your high end restaurants) Felipe and Selma supervisors at Pelicanos (Felipe should be training all of your staff) Giovani, Geronimo, Manuel for their serice, Levinia at the SPA for taking all those worries away, Hector & William the best bellstaff they have, Reyes & Liverato Med. Bar we love you, Paco Med. Restaurant and Deli & Pepe at El Pescador and the GM for trying to make things better. The stafff mentioned have not just served us but we have consider this resort our home and all of them our family. Until next time!

Room Tip: Stay on the Mediterranean building if you can. They have what we call the quiet pool and after runn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

We thak your comments and it is so important your notes, we hope that you are coming back again to Resl Resorts, Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 974 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were at the Real Playa del Carmen September 22-29, 2012. We travel three or four times a year to destinations in Mexico, Cuba, Dominican and Costa Rica. We usually travel last minute and get pretty good prices. We decided to go back to Playa del Carmen for the fifth time. Not sure why this hotel was so expensive, considering it is classified as a three and half star hotel. The accommodations are definitely old and dated and the pool is so small it leaves something to be desired. We booked the upgraded bedroom suite because it was our anniversary and thought the upgrade included the day use of the Gran Porto Real. We were disappointed to find out that the upgrade was not included in that 'upgrade' and that there was another upgrade should we want to use the other facilities. Upon our arrival and after getting a brief glimpse of the Real Playa del Carmen we decided to book the 'upgraded upgrade' and paid the extra money to do that. We are sure glad we did! It was awesome to have full use of the Gran Porto Real, during the day, which is rated as a five star hotel. We returned to the Real pretty much just to sleep! The upgraded bedroom suite did not have a hair dryer (which is usually pretty standard in all other hotels we have stayed in) and the room, although big, was old and dated. The professional pictures online are not accurate and were probably taken when the hotel was built. There wasn't even a bedspread....just two sheets and a blanket. Found that a little odd! It was comfortable though! The bathroom was extremely small, especially the shower, and the soap and shampoo (supplied) smelled pretty bad and didn’t lather well (we went to Walmart and bought our own). We stayed at the Grand Coco Bay last September (same star rating) and it was much more modern with a bigger pool.
What did make the hotel (at the Real) was the staff! We were greeted genuinely by Jesus (front desk) and taken to our room by Armando (bell boy). Our last breakfast, before our departure) we were treated royally by Flor, Norma, and Cristobel. We weren’t around enough to meet many of the other staff. Other perks are that you are right on Fifth Avenue and the air conditioner worked great! We did really enjoy the Gran Porto Real and were really glad we made the upgrade, despite the extra costs! The biggest problem at the Gran Porto Real (and the Beach Club) was that there is little shade to be found. At the main pool there are maybe 10 umbrellas (which everyone fight over) and despite the large number of beach chairs at the beach, there is not shade! The beach itself is not as nice as other hotels along the strip and is hard to get in and out of due to the sand bags. Just walk a little to the left or the right in front of the hotel and you will find better, cleaner water that is easier and safer to get in and out of.

Thank you to the staff that made our holiday and our anniversary the great week that it was! If you are looking for a small clean hotel with great staff and don't mind it being a little antiquated Real Playa del Carmen will suit you just fine!

Room Tip: The upgrade to the Gran Porto Real was well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpcrozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

We really appreciatte your comments, and all your exprience with us it is so important we already take notes about your notes, to change and improve facilities, We thank you again, and we hope that ypu gove us the opportunity to hostess you again. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Don't expect luxury accomodation but do expect friendly cheerful staff. The location of the hotel is great being straight onto 5th Avenue with shops, bars and restaurants. Walking it can be frustrating at times with the constant barrage of people trying to get you to spend money in their shops but the best way to deal with it is to have fun with it all and the whole atmosphere.

There are great places to visit for days out and the tour companies do a fantastic job setting it all up.

The Animation Team are fantastic and so happy all the time. They make a point to come to you and say hell and get to know you. The entertainment is amazing and fun. They include as many people as possible. Getting made to dress as Santa without really thinking about it and being part of the show was something i would never of done but just the things you do when you're away and having fun with it all without a care in the world.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading at the low cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Animation Team are so happy with your comments and motivate them to continuo with their activities and improve. We really hope that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Well,
This was my fourth trip in an all inclusive resort, and by far the best one. The hotel itself is located right on fifth avenue, fifth avenue is where all the action is....Although the hotel is located at the beginning of the street so it's still quiet. The hotel building does need a little upgrade in some places, but hey! I've seen a lot worse in Cuba! The food was quite all-right! obviously it's not a 5 star resort....so don't expect to eat lobster every night!. The breakfast were great, Antonio the cook that does the omelets is excellent and very nice! Lunch and dinner were also good, there was fish everyday, pasta, meat, and an assortment of salads. But what makes this hotel great!!!! is without a doubt their staff. The service staff at the buffet was simply awesome; Sonia, Cristabel, Norma and Flor (the boom boom team....la gente esta muy loca). These wonderful ladies gave me the best service I had in a long time....My girlfriend and I really enjoyed talking to them everyday. Furthermore, the bartenders and waiters were also tremendous; Eduarto, Adrian and Freddy....I'm sure I'm forgetting a few names here (sorry). The front desk team also did a marvelous job and were always very helpful; Cenobio, Jesus Erick, and Ingrid. The best time I had was at the beach bar, sure the beach bar is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and it isn't located in the best part of the beach......who cares! When your on vacation and the only thing you have to do is walk to the beach club.....come on! ( there's always the shuttle). The beach Bar is open from 10 am to 5 pm, you can also eat chips and salsa there( the salsa is great). The bartenders, starting with my buddy Guadalupe, are the best, they make excellent drinks, mojitos, daquiris, mudslides, cuba libres,tequilla sunrises, you name it, they got it. I spent 10 straight days at the beach club and got to know Guadalupe and Montero pretty well, they are great lads. (los vatos locos lol!!!!).....All in all, i would definitely go back in a heartbeat! I forgot to add a special thanx to the animation team...........you guys rock!!1

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Great and improtant for us your experience with us and also we continuo improving our service and facilities. We hope that you are coming back again soon, this is your home. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'm not even going to get into how my traveling companion was assaulted, robbed, terrorized and almost raped on the beach, and not by bandits, but by Mexican police because that's not the hotels fault. But the way they treated us definitely is. They told us upon checkout they upgraded our room at no extra charge, I'd hate to see the original because this one was awful. Food was the worst I've ever experienced at a resort and I've been to Cuba! We had to mop up a coffee spill with a towel and they charged us 9 dollars for the towel because it was "dirty"! There was something dead in the garden outside our room which caused us to have to hold our breath going in and out of the room so as not to vomit. The pool was filthy, lounge chairs they leave in the shallow part were so covered in algae. Only two towels and one hand towel supplied in the room. No face cloths, not even somewhere to hang empty towels. No drawers to store clothes, we lived out of the suitcase for a week. Only 4 hangers in the closet. The walk to the beach was about a half mile through the main shopping street, which we called "The Gauntlet" because the catcalls and harassment each time we walked through was unrelenting. And the shade covers over the lounge chairs at the beach were rather transparent and only blocked about 10% of the sun. The beach was built up on sandbags and was one of the worst beaches I've seen anywhere. When my friend was attacked and made it back to the hotel, they wouldn't let her companion walk her to our room because he didn't have a bracelet for our resort. So she had to make her way to our room in the dark after her horrific experience. I'm just still so upset I'm barely making sense but I will never set foot in that place again.

Room Tip: Don't even think about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meowruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

We really apologize if we could not exceed ypur expectations, and all your comments are improtant for us, to change and improve. Thank you again for your time and please accpet our apoligies. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just spent a week at Playa Real. I found the hotel to be great value for the money. The rooms were neat, very clean ( thank you Josefina), the grounds spotless, and the staff very accomodating.

The restaurant and bar staff were amazing Especially the morning - to early afternoon crew. Norma, Cristabel, Sonia, Fredi all were amazing.

The breakfast and lunch meals were great with the evening meal being ok. The entertainment crew did well with limited resources.

The only limiting factors were the front desk crew which was efficient but not overly helpful or friendly. And the beach club was a good walk from the hotel. But who doesn't enjoy a walk on the beach.

The location on the edge of 5th Ave is great as it gives you lots of opportunities for shopping or going out in the evening.

Room Tip: Expectation management: This is a solid 3 star hotel. Do not expect luxury accomodations. These are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Your time and comments motivate us to continuo, and doing everytthing with love and entusiasm. We hope that you are coming back sonn and recommend us. Best Regards, and this is your home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently stayed at a sister resort of the Real Playa Del Carmen, our resort uses the same "beach club' as the folks who stay at the Real,during the day we were witness to the Real's entertainment teams non-stop activities and interactions with their guest. Daniel and his two female sidekicks were enthusiastic,energetic,encouraging and most of all friendly and fun! Even though we were guests of a sister resort of the Real ,Daniel and his staff invited us back to the Real to enjoy the evening show. The show was fantastic! A mix of drama,comedy and just plain ole fun ! We enjoyed the antics of this troupe and appreciated how much work it must be to entertain with games and water sports all day on the beach and then go back to the resort and put on a full blown show complete with costumes,props,music and live action! How fortunate for the guests of the Real Playa Del Carmen to have such talented and committed entertainment team. Standing ovation to you Daniel and your girls !
Thanks again Daniel for inviting us !

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank OParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for your comments, all your experience is so important for us. We really hope thatr you are coming back again soon. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#16 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
895 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,976 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panama Jack Resort
Panama Jack Resort
#37 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
10,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $68 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing