We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Value Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #140 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Value Value Value!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is only for the budget savvy tourists! Its small, its quiet, its got more local flavor to it, and its more inner city. The best thing going for this place is the location! As soon as you step out of the hotel, you are on 5th avenue which is the most happening street in playa del carmen. Shop, Eat, Visit, View and enjoy the walk on 5th Avenue any time of day.


This resort was perfect for us because we booked it cheap and spent most days either on excursions or on the beach at its sister resort Gran Porto Real. It was a decent place to rest and sleep before we went on our next town exploration or excursion or adventure!

If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star place with fancy rooms, fancy ala carte's, excellent food and top of the line service... look elsewhere!

Definitely not worth spending thousands of dollars here. I recommend it only to those who want to do more in playa than just being in their resort and experience more of mexico outside of the resort.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on upgrades... its not a fancy resort, the rooms can only get so much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fatima_mk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your time and tour comments, we keep all in mind your experience with us and we really apologize if we could not excedeed your expectations, we hope that you give us the opportunity to hostess you again, Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    341
    141
    100
    107
See reviews for
183
397
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed here one night, but was supposed to for a week. When we first arrived, the front desk was super busy checking guests in, dealing with complaints, people that were already in the lobby did not look nor sound impressed this made me nervous, but I have travelled alot so I kept an open mind. When we finally got to check in over half hour later, we found out they had overbooked and had to upgrade us to a master one bedroom, because all standards were gone, another group had to stay in a different hotel for the night! So after upgrading us they said we would have to move the next day or pay to upgrade. We got to our room after a very nice bellboy helped us there, it was bad; the ceiling fan was hanging by wires, the air conditioner was an old window unit that was so loud it kept us up all night, and did not sufficiently cool the room down at all, so with no relief from the heat and the tight space bedroom there was no sleep to be had. The bathrooms were also bad, they looked like public bathrooms, and had little bugs everywhere. We went down to the '24 hour bar' after a long day of travel and found the food was disgusting, it was like it had been sitting there for 24 hours... fries were rock hard, there was a mystery meat, and nachos sitting under a heat lamp accompanied by nacho cheese with a thick hard layer on top, and staff had just checked this food. After a long sleepless night we woke up and checked out the grounds, they were old and falling apart, the pool was extremly small and there was nowhere to even lay in the sun, for there were trees and bushes everywhere! This caused alot of mosquitos I got eaten alive! I never got this anywhere else in Playa. The grounds just felt so small and cramped with no breeze at all due to being so small and fenced in. Breakfast was terrible as well, there was no selection, and the hot food was terrible. Upon trying to solve our rooms issue they didn't have any other rooms available still and said ' try back again in the afternoon' which we didnt plan on being around for the afternoon, and if we were going to move we wanted to do it and get settled asap.Staff wise front desk is horrible, as well as restaurant staff didnt even see anyone in there so who knows. Do not stay here unless you are paying next to nothing and don't need a good nights rest. We upgraded to sister resort gran porto and had an amazing time! Minus the sunquest and thomas cook reps leaving us at the resort, because they 'didn't know we moved' even though both reps knew we had moved from sunquest and I double confirmed the morning of departure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We really apoligize if we could not exceeded your expectations, all your comments are important for us in order to change and to improve service and facilities, I already showed your notes to our staff. Thank you for your time. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Nova Scotia Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place rates its self as a four star-what a joke! The food was so bad that my wife and I ate all our supper meals on 5th ave. If you want any type of decent drink (except beer & wine which were good) you would have to upgrade to their top self plan at considerable cost. The rooms are tired a best with torn sheets and gaps in the doors that let the insects in at night. The pool is small and had an alge problem while we were there with several men testing the water to see how to solve the problem. The staff are the strong aspect of this hotel always cheerful and willing to help. If you can get this place at a deep,deep discount and want to be close to the shopping area, this might be for you,otherwise stay away.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade fee to get a cornor room on the ground floor,this way you get a terrace to sit on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Guest thank for your comments and we really apologize if could not exceeded you expectations, we do our best to keep variety in our buffete, not always Hot Dog, and the Snack Service we do have only snacks not a real buffete, anyway we consider your experience with us and give us the opportunity to hostess you again and show you how important is your comments. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Everyone in our group of friends had to upgrade their rooms. The standard were small, smelly and no fans. AC rendered tiny balcony unusable. In order to get to the pool you can to climb almost a dozen stairs with no hand rail. This resort is not for the mobility impaired as the units are 4 stories high with no elevators or hand rails. Basically our group only ate breakfast here as the lunch and dinner buffets never had anything we felt we could eat. The staff was great and the grounds fine. When we were there there were several loud partiers.Personally I would not go back. Other than the staff the best of this resort was its location an 5th Ave.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a corner suite, ask for the top category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We really apologize if could not exceed your expectations, about food with do have variety every night, but we of course keep your comment to review it with our Cheff, all your comments as so important for us, to improve facilities, food and service. We hope that you give us the opportunity to hostess you again and show you do care. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

”It's been two months since I stayed there. I stayed at the Real Playa del Carmen Hotel for a week with my family in February 2012.
The staff at the resort are very friendly, specially the restaurant staff.The food was good quality and the drinks selection at the bar was good. Really enjoyed everything about the stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
We really appreciate your comments and it is so important for us that you shared your experience with us, we really hope that you are coming back again soon, I of course share your commnets withh all employees, We thank You again, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Otherwise, be aware that you may be gravely disappointed if you pay much more.

While our group was there, one of the biggest detractions was a group of loud young people in full party mode who started their drinking around 2 each day when they finally got out of bed, carried on all afternoon, and through dinner, then really amped things up around midnight or one when they returned to the buildings to scream, sing and shower while yelling from floor to floor as they prepared to go downtown for the night at clubs. They were very rude when asked nicely by us and other guests to quiet down, calling us rude names and swearing and slamming things. Security, when called, was prompt but as soon as they left, the noise redoubled. Finally, they left for downtown and it was peaceful. Fortunately for us, they were only at the hotel for two of our seven nights, but other guests we spoke with had had all they could take for several nights previous. People expect that this happens during Spring Break in Cancun, but as frequent visitors to Playa, this is a trend we would hope to see quashed, not encouraged. Walking by their patios the next morning was like witnessing the aftermath of a week of bachelor parties, half-eaten food, piles of empties, ashtrays . . . disgusting.

There was insufficient information forthcoming from our Thomas Cook/Sunquest representative in the first place. All of the information we had about the RPDC led us to believe that certain services and amenities were in place for the price we had paid when we booked last fall. This was no so. Our initial room assignments were unacceptable with broken lamps and rickety furnishings, malfunctioning AC and not even bottles of water. There were no ceiling fans, no hairdryers, two tiny bottles of shampoo and one soap. We were on the 4th floor and there are no elevators, so carrying heavy bags up was most difficult. It was so grim that we didn't bother to unpack, and sent our travel agents who were part of our group to inquire. Immediately, upgraded rooms were offered, for a PRICE. We put in a call to the Thomas Cook/Sunquest rep and were advised that he doesn't even come here regularly! In all, my partner and I were moved three times before we got a "superior" room on the first floor with a refrigerator for my medications, bottled water, soda and beer and a new AC unit that worked very well. It had a patio/terrace facing the pool and restaurants and was well worth the upgrade price we had to pay. This still did not entitle us to top-shelf brands of alcohol or dining at the sister resort, the Grand Porto Real. Our main problem was not knowing that we were only booked for their standard rooms and that we had to pay for what most resorts consider basics. This is being addressed by our agents with the travel company.
A huge plus here was the honesty of the staff. In the confusion one of the three moves in 28 hours, my wallet with all of my ID, credit cards, etc. (but not my passport or other ATM card) got left behind. Housekeeping found it and returned it to the front desk where I claimed it with great relief.
The actual people who staff this hotel were friendly, efficient and hardworking . . . the maids, the groundskeepers, bartenders (Freddy and Edouardo!), waiters Eriberto, Evelio, etc. and dining room staff in the morning - Esmeralda, Sonia, Maria, Heydi and Flor under the watchful eye and support of Bersain. Thanks to all of you.
To call it a buffet is a bit of a misnomer; this was more like a cafeteria line. The two women chefs were friendly and did the best they could with what they were given, but really?? Leftover hotdogs cut up and put into salad the next day?! Other than breakfasts, we all found the food so unpalatable that we opted to eat off the resort for every dinner and most lunches.
We hazarded the fish once at lunch, but couldn't even get down a mouthful as it had clearly been prepped on a recently disinfected cutting surface and tasted like those chemicals. Such a shame as the fish in Playa is so fresh and wonderful elsewhere. Mashed potatoes were from a box, veggies from a bag of frozen, the peaches and some of the pineapple were canned. Seldom were there signs to indicate what one was looking at in the hot dishes. I had some pork fajita filling that was tasty and a piece of roast chicken that was excellent, but overall, the food was not of good quality or well-identified.
The grounds here are older and well-established with lush beautiful plantings and green lawns, mature trees and bushes. Watch your step as the concrete pathways are terribly uneven and easy to catch your toe on. Lights for evening seemed to be on a timer and didn't come on at dusk as they should have.
As other visitors to these reviews have noted, this location is ideal if, like us, you want to spend lots of time shopping on 5th and its environs, walking and eating at restaurants. Not on the beach, but with beach privileges. We stayed poolside and had good service there from our tireless staff.
Make sure you know what you are getting with the package you purchase.

Room Tip: First floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dharmacate_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Fisrt of all we thank you for your value comments. also we apologize for this noisy Group, and we of course took care of them when they were nosy and reported by guest. All your experience is so importrant for us, I already talked with the employees, and we really hope that you are coming back again. Once again Thank you, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My wife and I went there and would return,maybe even take our 3yr old. It is a fairly quiet resort so not alot of loud partiers there while we were there anyway. The rooms,hotel,gardens,and pool are kept very clean. Food is good and there was always something we could find that we liked and the staff is very friendly. Location is excellent because it is right at the end of the famous 5th ave strip where you can go from bar to bar,shops and restaurants that is almost 20 blocks long! It is about a 10-15 min walk to the beach from the hotel. If your looking for nightlife take a walk down 5th ave there are dance clubs,live bands,and best of all the Coco Bongo! My wife and I walked down 5th ave day or night and felt very safe!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a master suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa04, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and time, it is so important for us that you share your experience in Real Playa del Carmen, and motivate us to continuo improving. We hope that you are coming back again. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Tukan
Hotel El Tukan
#144 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Property: Real Playa del Carmen
Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing