We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Kept Secret in Playa Del Carmen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Real Playa del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #137 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Calgary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Playa Del Carmen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Sorry for the long review but the bad reviews are oh so wrong!!!

If you want a taste of Mexico and with an AI plan this is the place! We are not picky travelers at all and for us the Real Playa Del Carmen was just right. We checked in on June 6th for a 2 week stay. After getting a room on the fourth floor in the Chichen section we decided with the humidity so high to up grade to a ground floor room and were very happy. Even though this resort is not on the beach it’s location is perfect, close enough to 5th ave to enjoy it when you want and far enough that you wouldn’t even know it was there.

The room: For us it was perfect. Nice patio with a table, 2 chairs and a hammock. Nice little seating area slightly separate bedroom and small bathroom. We also had a fridge which was restocked daily with beer, water and pop. The maid did a fantastic job of keeping our room clean. Also the AC was wonderful but we actual found some times it worked so well we would have to turn it off and open up the windows. The bed was firm but not overly so and we never had a problem sleeping.

The food: Excellent! As one of the other reviews said not quite sure what half of it was, (then complained about it?) we didn’t know what some of it was either but we tried it all and enjoyed it. It was so nice to go to the buffet and eat something other than hamburgers/hot dogs like they do at the bigger more commercial resorts. We had not one complaint about the buffet food and enjoyed every meal there. The only meal that we found slightly lacking was the A la Carte. Instead of complaining and whining we just went over to the buffet and grabbed something there.

The pool: The pool was great. Nice and small with enough loungers that no one ever went without. We also enjoyed the fact that they did have music playing but instead of being loud and obnoxious it was just wonderful background noise. By afternoon the water was more like luke warm bath water which we enjoyed as it soon became our favourite gathering place to have cocktail with a wonderful group of people we met at the resort. We also had the luxury of having pool service every afternoon drink wise and were delighted as it was not something we were expecting.

The beach club: We knew well in advance what the beach area would be like in front of the beach club. (that is why we are so surprised by the snarky reviews from some people) DO your research! We went down quite a few times to the beach club and sat on the swings and had a drink wandered around came back had a drink. On a few occasions we filled up our bubba kegs and walked across the pier a few minutes put down our towels and spent a whole afternoon there walking back to the beach club to get our drinks enjoying a perfect beach and water.

The pool bar: One word amazing!! During the day out by the pool or sitting at one of the tables on the patio playing cards they were always making you drinks and getting to know you so that when they saw you later they would remember you and ask about this or that as we would them. We also learned quite a few phrases at the pool bar that we are still practicing for our next trip. I think this is one area where management might want to lighten up on as we enjoyed the interaction with the staff here immensely and found that just because they would be chatting with the vacationers they were still working hard and doing a perfect job. When management started to hover we noticed the difference in the level of interaction with the staff immediately as the staff seemed to be tip toeing around trying not to draw management’s attention. (this was not only evident at the pool bar but every where through out the resort towards the end of our stay)

The lobby bar: Great to grab a drink on the way back from walking 5th ave in the afternoon heat. They were more than accommodating in making you anything you wanted or making special drinks you may never have tried before. The beer was cold and the tequila flowing what more could you ask for!!

The staff: This is where we think the hotel shines the most. Never have we encountered such warm, friendly and accommodating staff and we travel to Mexico 1 or 2 times a year. I even made a point of writing down every persons name so I could mention them and say THANK YOU for an unforgettable experience. From the Bartenders, Wait Staff, Animation Team and every single person who works there job well done!!

Marceloni (Okie Dokie)
Sonya (cream for my Husband’s coffee every morning)
Omar and Mateo (never had to wait for a cocktail and wonderful pool side service)
Luis and Gustavo our wonderful lobby bartenders
Sonya the Omelet Chef who made the best every morning
Fernando the bell boy what a wonderful and attentive employee
Glendi (whose new cocktails were wonderful and a treat (thank you for the Spanish lessons)
Rodrigo and Bersain great service with a smile every day
The animation staff Vyaney, Danijel and (brand new) Paco thank you for entertaining us each evening we enjoyed the shows and for also playing Uno with us on a cloudy and very overcast day.
For any of the employees I may have missed please accept my apologies.

This place is the one place we would come back to and will. We are already planning our trip for the fall and look forward to seeing all of the wonderful people that work there again!! Hopefully also the great people we met at the resort. Tarik and Jodie from Abbotsford, Iolo from Wales/Belize and Steven and Sandra from Scotland.

Laurie and Bob

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing away from the pool and restaurant are the quietest. If you want to upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank TRIPP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Thank you very much indeed for your comments, we really appreciatte your time to write down your experience, we are so happy with it, I alreday showed our employees your notes, so icredible and motivate us to continuo improving facilities and service, this is your home in Playa del Carmen, we hope that you are coming back again soon, Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    341
    141
    100
    107
See reviews for
183
397
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Well this my first trip to playa del carmen and I decided to go alone which well turned out to best decesion! Before arriving to the resort I knew I wasnt going to a luxury 5 star palace and that was fine by me. Upon arrival i was greeted by the most up beat door man who insisted to carry all bags to my room and on top of that he brought me over a really good drink which I wasnt expecting, so off to a good start. My room was nothing special but had everything I needed for a solo traveller so I wasnt complaining, well...there was one thing, that was the toilet wasnt working, but they fixed pronto! As far as the food goes, it wasnt that bad but my only complaint would be the snack bar, yeah avoid the snack bar food!! The best part about this resort had to be the people and the atmosphere they created, everymoring the staff would eother shout out or greet with "chicharito" which was the nickname i aqquired during my stay here, and omar you were the coolest guy there! The entertainment was very interactive and they truly made you feel part of the show, well especially me! great job daniel! the games were fun especially the picture game!! Since this is not a huge resort, meeting new people was very easy and we all had a great time in the lobby and you really felt close with everyone...bottom line if your looking for a resort to have an up close and personal expierence with everyone, then come here! again thanks real for making feel like part of the team! on a side not I will be back in 3 months so watch! jajaja see you in october!! CHICHARITO!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicharito123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
It was so nice to read you comment, I already talked with the employees and were so happy to look into your notes, this is your home in Playa del Carmen, keep it in mind to come back. We thank you again that you share your experience in Real Playa. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I really "Highly" Recomend stay at this hotel.... Choose all incusive option, drinks and food are good!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diva_Greta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
We thank you all your comments, and time, it i so important for us and to motivate us to conitnuo improcing service and facilities. We really hope that you are coming back again, Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Real Playa del Carmen for two weeks this June. We loved our trip to Playa del Carmen, the beach is great and there's enough to keep my easily bored boyfriend happy. There's loads of lovely restaurants (our favourite El Carnicero for the best steaks). Playa del Carmen is in a great location for doing trips and seeing more of Mexico. We booked last minute and so were not expecting anything amazing. Our room was pretty basic but nice and clean. The only problem was the really really noisy air conditioning. The food was ok, the breakfast had quite a lot of options although it didn't really vary for the whole 2 weeks. The beach bar food was practically non existent, all that was available was chips and salsa so not really lunch! We were disappointed with the a la carte restaurant which was the worst mexican food we had all holiday. The staff were lovely and really friendly which is really the hotels strong point. Another plus for this hotel is the location, it is in a nice quiet place but the centre of Playa del Carmen is less than 5 mins walk. This hotel is ok for a base which is what we wanted but if you are going to spend a lot of time in the hotel then it's worth spending a bit more money. If I was to go again I would spend that extra money on a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sus0xf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
ThanK you very for your comments, thise are so important for us to continuo improving all or facilities and service,, We hope that you are coming back again soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

having read the reviews, and seen the website online we were expecting a bit more from this resort.
when we got there and checked in, we unfortunately had a room at the very top of the building and having to go up 32 stairs just to get to the room was annoying...
the room itself was cozy - but stiffling!! we got in at 4 pm and the a/c was not on. there was an available upgrade to a room with a king size bed and mini fridge for 18$ extra a day, but we didn't upgrade. so... no mini fridge. the bed was a decent size though. tv was small, had mostly spanish shows, and anything that wasn't spanish had subtitles.

the only thing we really liked about this resort is the location. it's quite close to downtown, which is nice, because you're close to a lot of restaurants and the nightlife.
the beach is a 15 minute walk away from the resort (you could take a shuttle there, but they only come once an hour).
there were approx 10 beach chairs available at any given time, and a rather small pool.
the staff were nice, especially a man who took your bags at the time of check in (he helped me with mine all the way upstairs) and he was always smiling and saying hello.
luis, at the bar, is also very nice, and sang me a song for my birthday which was sweet!

we weren't impressed with the food... not quite sure what half of it was, and wasn't really edible to us (mystery meat?), so we ended up only eating it maybe 3-4 times the whole time we were there :( which is sort of sad since we did pay for it to be all inclusive.

you get what you pay for....
we wouldn't stay here again because it was smaller than what we had hoped for, and it was the only resort we've ever been to that wasn't located directly by the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelbelle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
We really apologize if we could not exceed your expectations, and all you notes are so important for us, we hope that you give us the opportunity to hostess you again and show you how important are your notes. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Winnipeg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Anyone who has stayed in any of the older hotels and resorts in Mexico's tourist areas will have no problem here. My wife and I stayed here for two weeks last January. We had upgraded to a one bedroom. The room itself was more like a regular hotel room with a long hallway, more or less. But I found it acceptable. We were located away from the pool overlooking the gardens where the local birds entertained us in the large tree.
The only issue we had was with the toilet. The water pressure was almost nonexistant, so you had to flush a number of times.
We did have a mini fridge, and since we didn't go all inclusive, it was nice to have.
We prefer to eat at the great restaurants just steps outside the hotel. But we were asked if we wanted to add the all inclusive when we were checking in. We declined, but a few days in, we asked if we could do this day by day, and we could. This was brilliant, because we were able to take advantage of the AI when we were feeling lazy and wanted to just hang around the hotel, or maybe go to the beach club, which was a great option. So we ended up with the best of both worlds.
The food at the AI was fine. There was decent variety and quality was good.
I almost hate to say, but the entertainment was really, really lame. After two weeks of staying here and hearing the same thing almost everynight.....uhh. Oh well. I know they tried their best.
There are two outstanding reasons for booking this hotel. #1 by far are the staff that work here. I thought the people on the Pacific side were great, but these people here are just amazing. Extremely warm and welcoming. Always a smile, from the maids, bellboy, waiters, front desk. Just can't say enough about them.
The #2 reason to book here is the location. Quiet side of 5th Ave. but steps away from all the restaurants and shops.
In my experience, if you like AI's on the beach with fancy water fountains and modern mega resorts that are so isolated from the "Real" Mexico, you won't like it here.
For those of you who do realize that you are in a very different country than Canada or the US and want to experience a little more of the culture than just sipping a Margarita at your pool, this is a pretty sweet spot.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzyKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
We really appreciatte your coments, it has been so nice to read your comment, motivate us to continuo improving facilities and service, we really hope that you are coming back again soon,
Best Regards..this is your home in Playa del Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hotel's only pros are the location, right on 5th av., and the barman Omar.
Now for the cons:
I was placed on a 3rd floor room. Problem is that it got direct sunlight all day long, which meant that it turned into a small oven. The rooms have a crummy 15 year old AC unit which never manages to cool the room even slightly. It is also placed on the floor and to catch a small breeze when sleeping we had to move the bed and tables around.
Bed is old too, with spring coils bumping in your back.

Hot water stopped after 2 days so we had to take cold showers.

Pool is tiny.

Most of the staff is friendly, except for the lady at the omelette station which must hate her job since she never, ever smiles. She also pay no attention to what you order and doesn't cook the ingredients well, I had to eat raw onion and peppers thanks to her.

The parking lot is a pain in the butt, with people stopping you every single time you go out or in and asking for your room number

I had several important emails to send and the internet service here sucks. When it was not down completely it was so slow that even sending an email was a huge task.

Food is completely average. Buffets with same ingredients over and over.

The beach club is located on the worst beach in Playa, where you can't even swim in the ocean because it is full of sandbags, rocks and sea weed.

As you can see, this is a lousy plce to stay in, when there are hundreds of better options in Playa. I wouldn't recommend this place to ANYONE

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fryman04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
We really apologize if we could not exceed you expecattion, all your comments as so important for us to change and to improve facilities, we hope that you give us the opportunity to hostess you again, and show you that your notes are so important for us. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
#113 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#36 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#89 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#29 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Property: Real Playa del Carmen
Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing