We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable at the Casa (Bonita)”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining room - table can expand
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
dining room - table can expand
new sink and faucet
hallway storage
master bedroom....
with built-in closets.....
security safe.....
upgraded  ensuite master bath
master bath
2nd bedroom....
also with built-in closets....
2nd bath
community grill
our beautiful  pool!
another view of the pool
the complex
Coco Beach 1 block away
beautiful Coco Beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
2x1
Osage, IA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable at the Casa (Bonita)”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The 4 of us had a great experience at Casa Bonita during our 5 day stay the beginning of March 2015. Vicki, the rental agent, quickly replied to our emails with clear instructions or answers to our questions. The dive shop Vicki recommended, Beyond Diving, was excellent. Vicki also offered use of her phone to call our bank during an ATM card issue. Rocio, the manager, was very helpful and accommodating. A welcome pack was a great touch loaded with local snacks, coffee, a jar of mole and cold beer and water in the fridge. An orientation book was helpful in learning the lay of the land. The condo was comfortable, well stocked and designed to take advantage of the breeze so AC was not needed. Even with the windows and sliding doors open, it was quiet at night. The tropical garden pool area was a relaxing oasis. The pool large and always enough chairs, tables and loungers. The other guests were friendly and a mix mainly of Canadians and Americans. A Sunday evening cocktail party was a great ice breaker. The complex was secure and we felt safe walking the neighborhood. Canibal Royal Beach Club was a block away with comfortable loungers, great food, and friendly staff. A refreshing cenotes was an easy 20 minute walk north on the beach. Restaurants were a 10 minute walk away. We would stay at Alizes Playa again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness, comfort and value
Liked least: Hard beds
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanti...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property, great location.”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We've stayed at the property over Christmas of 2014 and really enjoyed our stay. In short - the property is very well maintained, perfectly located close to the beach and to the 5th Ave. For those who worry about security, it is next to a policy station that is open 24/7 (but do not expect police sirens at night or during the day - it is very quiet). With all the option at Playa Del Carmen, we won't waste time looking for a "new experience" next time and simply go to the same place. It provides all that you need.

A bit more details for those who are interested:

We travelled with 2 teenagers. This was out first time renting an apartment in Mexico. The kids want to go back now ;-)

Reservation:

It was very easy to make the reservation. I've contacted Vicky, the property manager via email and have asked all initial questions. Since this was our first time outside of a resort, I had a lot of questions. She responded extremely fast and in great details. Not cut and past template responses. I've arranged a quick call to iron out some of the details then. It was also quick and easy.

Once all was confirmed, Vicky sent me a contract. Easy deposit via PayPal and we were good to go. No hassle at all.

Getting there:

Our flight was arriving at midnight and I wanted to arrange transportation ahead of time. Vicky has recommended a company where you can make a booking online. Once again - a few clicks, PayPal payment and I had a confirmation in my inbox. The round trip From/To Cancun airport was $105 US for the 4 of us with 4 big bags.

Our flight was delayed for over an hour but the company rep was waiting for us. No issues with transportation.

Apartment and property:

The apartment is quite roomy, VERY clean and VERY well maintained. It exceeded our expectations. The welcome package of snacks, coffee and beer was very helpful since we've arrived very late at night. There were 2 big water bottles with a dispenser. A replacement bottle was only $4 US or so.

There is a very useful Welcome book that outlines all you need to know about the property, local food, travel, medical services and etc. Much better than the one you find in 5 star hotels.

The apartment has a full kitchen and a bunch of small appliances. All very clean and in a great condition.

All 3 balconies have chairs which was quite nice.

There is a flat screen TV and a DVD player. I can't comment on the available channels as we didn't turn it on.

The pool area is quiet. I saw a sign that electronic devices were prohibited there meaning no phones. I loved that.

The grounds are constantly maintained. If you simply want to peacefully enjoy your day, go there and relax.

There are also some regular events by the pool which we missed.

Management:

All I can say here - the nicest people we've met. Very helpful, everything is soooo well organised. ;-)))

Location:

To me, the location is one if the key benefits of this place. The beach is really 1 block away. Beach chairs and towels are available for you at the apartment and it is really an easy walk there. We are divers and we were walking back and forth with full gear with no problem (and I really do not like walking in my gear ;-) ).

The 5th Ave is just a couple of blocks away but at this place you do not get all the noise of the street. You walk there, enjoy it can come back to the peace and quietness.

If you want to get to the other side of the 5th Ave, a cab ride is between $4 and $8, depending on the cab.

If you want to explore ruins or parks around Playa Del Carmen, you can rent a car (which in our case appeared to be too expensive) or grab a cab. If you go with a cab, negotiate - we've started from a $130 for a round trip to Tulum and ended up with $150 for almost full day trip to Tulum, cenotes and one more place 20 minutes from Tulum.

Diving:

If you are interested in Diving, there is a shop in the same building, Beyond Diving. The owner, Eric is one of the most experienced divers in the area actually. He is a professional cave diver who was recommended to us by our dive shop/course director in Canada. If you really want to learn to dive or if you already know and want to have a great time or learn more - go there.

I hope this helps guys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and how well the property is maintained
Liked least: Water pressure, that the only thing I can think of
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinah E
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Home away from Home...”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The condo was on the 2nd floor which is good for me but not elderly people or people with ailments. Stayed at Alizes last year and loved it so much I came back. Casa Bonita is decorated very nicely, however it does need some freshening up, paint, utensils. The staff is wonderful and super helpful with any needs. Love this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the staff
Liked least: the property is great. The condo just needed a thourogh cleaning.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn N
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This is an awesome property - a block to the beach, plenty of shopping, restaurant choices nearby. The condo is extremely comfortable and fully equipped - we appreciated having beach chairs, umbrella and cooler. New flat screen tv - and internet connection was fine. Vicky and Scott are awesome hosts - from the moment I first emailed Vicky back in July 2012, she was always very responsive and helpful. We had the unit cleaned half-way through our visit by Maria and Alma - they did an outstanding job, very inexpensive. Highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the location and the comfort of the condo.
Liked least: Mexican beds - too hard!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed March 7, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2012
thanks for the review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Now, come back again soon! Playa tends to hook into coming back for more. vicki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing