We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun little place with great food!”

Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge
Ranked #44 of 1,279 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant, bar, lounge you name it. Los Tabernacos has something that will please everyone. Sports events on giant screen along with themed nights party starting in November. Come have dinner in our friendly laid back atmosphere, the owner Daniel will make you feel right at home. Then at 10:30pm is when the party starts up until.... Los Tabernacos is the restaurant / bar that you will have you coming back for more.
London, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fun little place with great food!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited in late afternoon on New Year's eve and they were just opening up but could not have been more hospitable in making us feel welcome as they were setting up for the night. The two teens ordered the finger food platter, which was beautifully presented and tasted fantastic. I enjoyed a perfectly prepared club sandwich with a side of poutine. The boys were elated to be able to finally watch some hockey on their big screen! The service was friendly, the food was delicious, the atmosphere relaxed and fun and the staff so hospitable. I would highly recommend this little bistro to anyone visiting PDC. Go Habs Go!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilsonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblepompier, Gérant at Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We tks you for your visite at our bistro,and you're always welcome as a friend of the LTBL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    133
    29
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Place with Great Poutine!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were there on Boxing Day and all five of us ordered a different plate of Poutine, and they were all great! Daniel and Annie were very nice and hospitable. Before we left Daniel offered us all a Tequila shot on the house and we all cheered in Spanish (still can't remember it)!
Thanks for the wonderful time...holà!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisette_L67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblepompier, Gérant at Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Lisette it was for us a privilege to had you as a client,now you have a new friends........it's hard to make everybody happy,but for you and us,it was a wonderful evening,and hope to see you soon in LTBL and Playa.........besitos y abrazos de Playa......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I visited Los Tabernacos over the Christmas holiday 2012. We are American and we had a wonderful experience. The owner was so friendly, and seemed genuinely interested in learning about us and our trip. We left there feeling like we made a new friend. He even invited us to join him to do a free shot of tequila. The poutine is AMAZING! This was our best dining experience we had in Playa. When we left the owner he hugged and kissed us goodbye!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mistyrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblepompier, Gérant at Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Tks for your comments..........we really appreciate the fact,even if we don't speak english well you feel at home,in our place.........and have you as a new friend.........we wait for you next year in this paradise,and serve and chill with you again...........besitos y abrazos dé Playa.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“how to feel at home ahahah”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Eating a good poutine drinking an icy cold Coors an watching the best hockey game of the habs on a giant screen when its 34 out side in playa del carmen mexico !!!! Priceless !!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjase197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblepompier, Gérant at Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Tks for your comments..........you're always welcome in our place,and look for our promo for the NHL game after the lock-out.......on our FB site.....at Los Tabernacos Bistro Lounge,and just come join us for another exciting evening..........we still waiting for you........besos y abrazos de Playa....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed, slow service, low quality, and rude staff.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We decided to try Los tabernacos as a group of four. It was our last night in playa. My food was awful. My husbands food was cold. When I asked to have it warmed up, the waiter ( owner ) made a comment in French and gave us an ugly look.

There are so many restaurants in playa and we had to waste our time and money in this horrible one.

Owner prefers to serve Canadians over Americans and does not hide his dislike for Americans at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Willy442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblepompier, Gérant at Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Tks Willy about your comments........but sorry........and it was the same night of the peoples wrote the comments below.........just come see and read,our answer........hope you understand !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Tabernacos Sports Bar and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing