We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful discovery.”
Review of Restaurante La Fragata Bistrot - CLOSED

Restaurante La Fragata Bistrot
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Recognized by locals and travelers from all around the world for its unique Taste,Good atmosphere and Friendly service, La Fragata is the place for those in search of a gourmet lunch or dinner with the home made touch, fresh and local ingredients and great flavor. We have recently expanded our dining room and terrace. We have room for Groups & Events ... National Geographic Traveler Magazine and one of the worlds most beloved Chefs: Jacques Pepin recommend us for our Fish Tacos, The best in Playa.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful discovery.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have wanted to try this little restaurant for some time and just never got there, finally we took friends for dinner last night and what a wonderful surprise. `This was one of the best meals I have had in Playa and definitely the most creative and sophisticated presentation. The prices were reasonable, the menu offered a wide variety of choices and the service was excellent. It is a nice relaxed atmosphere devoid of the slick chrome and glass we see in so many of the restaurants in town. The caprese salad was delicious and very creatively plated as were the guacamole, which my husband loved, and the main dishes. The lunch special is a must and very affordable. This will definitely be one of our "go to" places from now on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    36
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The restaurant is only 2 blocks from our hotel, but we didn't notice it until yesterday afternoon when we were walking around the neighborhood. Unlike the noisy, pushy behavior of workers at restaurants on 5th, there was no one out front to pull us into the place. But the gentle, believability of the woman/owner once we stepped off the street, convinced me to come back for dinner. We were delighted by the wonderful food,, all freshly made to gourmet standards. I'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz91403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe and ceviche”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We found this place via tripadvisor when looking for a good fish taco place. The place is cozy (so not many seats available), the food is reasonable priced, and the portion is generous. We really loved the Ceviche and Shrimp Taco. The fried calamari is not too bad either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KYFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great shrimp tacos”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have eaten here a few times over the last two years and it is one of my favorite places for shrimp or fish taco's. We usually get a combination of grilled and fried shrimp taco's. Their guacamole is very good as well and the presentation of it is beautiful. Their sauces for the taco's are fantastic as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Continued good performance”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Have eaten here multiple times and It doesn't disappoint. The service is great, it's low key type of place with quality food and lots of choices. It's the type of place I would go to multiple times a week if I live around the block. Its located around a quiet corner, it you are looking for good tacos but more then basic this is your spot for the value near the beach.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cursive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Fragata Bistrot also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing