We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$416
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Occidental at Xcaret Destination(Playa del Carmen)
$165
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$400
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$391
$324
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$271
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$975
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
6
6
6
1
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
6
6
1
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a $150 dollars a night and it a serious rip off! The room was tiny, barely enough room to walk around the bed. It was dirty with the fixtures in the bathroom either moldy or rusty. No closets or dresser. When I asked for a blanket, because there wasn't any on the beds, it took 3 days to finally get one. The breakfast was white toast, awful coffee, and juice. For a $150 dollars a night I should at least feel like I wanted to hang out in the room for more than 5 minutes. Farthest thing from a boutique hotel I have ever seen! don't waste your money

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lovely small hotel (like ten rooms or so), you can feel totally at home!! Great ubication, near the best restaurants in town, mamita's and cool beach clubs. The restaurant outside, the Pummarola is delicious, The hotel is like one block from the beach. Great service and attention and Alfred, the manager was always there for us to make our stay incredible comfortable!! I can`t wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I´ve stayed in White Sand Hotel for 4 nights and whas preety good! the room whas nice and tidy, they changed the towels every day, the people who works there is very nice and helpfull. The breakfast is ok, cofee, orange juice and toasts. The location is ok, about 10 minutes from the beach. I would recomend it !

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Margot8ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here with my husband in our recent vacations just for a night and it was a last minute booking.. while we were looking the pictures in the Internet it didn´t look so bad but the reality is so different, first of all when you enter the property you feel a weird smell like gas!!! and when we asked the girl in the front desk she said: ohh yeah it´s always like this, it's the oven from the restaurant.. then she gave us a room in the first floor, then she moves us to another, saying that that one was already taken.. aaaaand then when we finally got our room... is so not what you look at the pictures!! the bathroom had moldy tiles, pillows where like rocks.. and the breakfast they offer you it's only a cup of coffee and a little slice of toast bread (just one ok! ha ha ) anyway the location is very good so if you need a last minute hotel it's fine, even when you can find so much better places all around the 5th!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwydu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Staying at this hotel was a bittersweet experience.

On the good side, the hotel location is amazing at 14th and 5th, right off the main drag in the middle of it all. It was very quiet, and the rooms were very clean and modern looking. The price was unbeatable for this part of town, we paid $175 for four nights.

On the bad side, the customer service here was lacking. There was only one hostess at the front desk during the days (a young girl with somewhat of an attitude and lazy demeanor) and a maintainance guy, both of which only spoke a small bit of English. When our air conditioner went out the first day, it took us two days and lots of asking to simply get the batteries replaced on the remote.

I felt as though they could up the security some, because there was no hostess at the front during the night and the maintainance guy was elusive. There was a fence with a lock entereing the hotel, but the lock could simply be unlocked by anyone to go inside for access to hotel rooms, which had basic doorknob locks only.

As for the room, the bed was the hardest, most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on! Also, the water took about 10-15 minutes to warm up for a shower. There was no telephone in the room, but there is a small flatscreen tv with cable.

If you have a small budget and don't plan on spending much time at your hotel, and you like hard beds, then this hotel will probably be perfect for you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews