We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chile Verde

Chile Verde
Bermuda
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant night!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were in playa for my birthday celebration with two other families and kids. We wanted something where the kids could be chilled at home and not needed to have to cook ourselves. After reading several reviews we decided on Tona. Tona was warm, friendly and a wealth of knowledge of playa.
We had a three course meal with appetizers to begin with and he did a separate meal if fish fingers for the kids which they devoured. I would highly recommend His salad with seared tuna and his chocolate torte - to die for. His guacamole and ceviche was the best we had our entire trip. Also he recommended us some wine upon his arrival, I would ask him for his recommendation beforehand as I had to pop out before the guests arrived. Listen to his advice on food amounts as we ordered way too much as we had two appetizers, which he had tried to talk me out of but was all worth it.


After everyone had left we were able to sit down with him and learn more about life in playa. Tona if we come back we will definitely be calling... Thank you for a great night!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
24 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We have traveled to Playa Del Carmen two years in a row and our trip would not be complete without Tonatiu cooking for us. HE is magnificent, his food is outstanding. Having him over to cook for us is the best part of our vacation. 100% recomendable!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
24 Thank Lauradeestrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Astounding Experience!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Highlight of our trip to Mexico. Can't recommend Tona enough..... Words simply fail.... Fine dining experience, all round.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
23 Thank hoek70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best portioned meals, green spicy sauce to die for, and grocery delivery”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Tonah was the best find for taking care of our meals and groceries during our 1 week vacation at Puerto Morelos. Even though he lives in Playa del Carmen he had no problems to come to the house we rented in Puerto Morelos and delivered 1 week's worth of delicious portioned meals and yummy sauces. Our favorites were the Cochinita Pibil tacos and my husband loved all the sauces, especially the green spicy hot sauce. We liked the Chile Rellenos, the Curry Caribeno, Chicken Tinga, and the homemade rice and beans were such a comfort food and great for Quesadillas. We also loved the fresh Guacamole which was my kids favorite and the first thing to go. Tonah not only cooked and delivered the meals himself but also got our groceries for the week, including shampoo. What a piece of mind to not have to worry about getting milk for my little ones after flying all night. It was all delivered by Tonah himself on our arrival day. I have to say all he did was of quality and handled very professionally, from placing our order, handling payment, to delivery. We highly recommend Tonah for families such ours with small children, as an alternative to an all-inclusive or having to cook everything yourself, or going to restaurants. Tonah can also come and cook at the house you're staying and we hope to try that next time. Thanks Tonah, your service and meals were the highlight of our vacation. We would love if you can share your green hot sauce recipe, my husband just craves it. The Rozendaals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
22 Thank RozenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC! Don’t leave Playa del Carmen without meeting Chef Tona.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We signed up for a Thursday night cooking class with Chef Tona, which proved to be one of the best decisions we made! The cooking class was an absolute blast. We had so much fun. We learned a lot. We ate a lot. We laughed a lot. Chef Tona taught us to make some delicious dishes. Fresh ingredients, made from scratch, the way food should be prepared. It would be very difficult to pick a favorite... we made chicken pabil, sopa de lima, salsas and side dishes. Every single dish was delicious. We also got a hard copy of all the recipes so we can practise and make these on our own at home.

After meeting Chef Tona, we decided to host a dinner party in our condo with 6 friends and hired him to come over the next week. This was one of the best nights of our vacation. We were lucky that he had one night available that week!!! (thank you for squeezing us into your schedule, Tona!)

We started off by choosing a menu from his website www.xileverde.com and then he helped us customize it a bit to include a couple of very special cocktails and we added some side dishes. The dinner party was a BIG SUCCESS from every angle. Chef Tona was so entertaining... personable, funny, informative... he is an absolute joy to be around. We had a fabulous evening, learning even more about Mexican cooking and culture, as well as some very interesting Mexican history and stories. But back to the food and drinks... Delicious! Delicious! Delicious! On a scale of 1-to-10, everything he prepared for us was at least a 15.

To all you travellers who are renting a condo during your stay in Playa Del Carmen: please, do yourself a favour and hire Chef Tona for a dinner party. It will be one of the most memorable moments of your vacation. If you are staying in a hotel, then sign up for one of his Thursday night cooking classes. Either way, don’t leave Playa del Carmen without meeting Chef Tona.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
20 Thank ChiefExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chile Verde also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Chile Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing