We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MayaCan Eco Tours- The Best Way to Experience Mexico!”
Review of Maya Can Eco Tours

Maya Can Eco Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "YOUR ADVENTURES START WITH Maya Can Ecotours." At MayaCan Eco Tours, our priority is you, the customer. We understand you come down for a limited amount of time to vacation so it is important your excursion/tour is fun and worry free to give you the best bang for your buck. We are based on a business with over 4 years experience and we have English/Spanish speaking guides. Our tours could be pre-planned or custom for you. We want your tour to be based on what you want to do rather than what everyone else is doing. From Tulum to Coba; a pristine beach to a cenote, snorkeling to scuba; golf to fishing, and whatever you are in the mood for, it is no match for MayaCan Eco Tours. Our vehicles are air conditioned vans which are comfortable for long trips and short trips. Remember, Your Adventure Starts with MayaCan Eco Tours, Come experience with us:Tulum /Coba Mayan Ruins;Snorkel/Scuba in the reef or cenote;Deep Sea Fishing;Golf;Swimming with the whale sharks;Pristine beaches;as well we do Airport/Hotel Transfers, and Condo Rentals.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“MayaCan Eco Tours- The Best Way to Experience Mexico!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I contacted Barry prior to our trip and he replied immediately. There were 4 of us traveling, my husband and I, and our 6 and 12 year old daughters. He gave me some suggestions on what we could do for our excursions. We chose to snorkel at Akumal Bay with the turtles and then head to see the Tulum ruins and finish our day with a swim in the Cenote Crystalline.

When we got to Akumal Bay, there was a red flag out and we couldn't swim! We were so disappointed! The water was crazy due to the recent hurricane that had passed by. Barry ended up taking us to Yal Ku Lagoon instead. The lagoon ended up being an even better choice for us because it was our daughters 1st time snorkeling. Barry swam with us and even took our 6 year old with him so that my husband and I could enjoy our snorkeling time as well. Erik stayed with the van and watched our belongings. Barry allowed us to snorkel as long as we wanted which was nice because when my husband and I did it the previous year with another tour, they had us on a timed schedule.

After snorkeling, we were going to have lunch but Barry had brought so many snacks that we were full already so we opted out of lunch.

Tulum ruins was beautiful! Neither Barry nor Erik went in with us but they explained everything before we went in. They are both full of knowledge on the people and the culture in the area. We knew what to look for on the buildings and he had explained the culture and purpose of the city. There were iguana everywhere, which the children loved! Tulum also has the most beautiful ocean I have ever seen!

After Tulum, Barry offered us more water and snacks and our oldest daughter wasn't feeling well. They took a detour to a pharmacy so we could get her some medicine which we thought was very nice.

The next stop was Cenote Crystalline, where we got fish pedicures, swam in the cool, clear water, and swam in a small cave with bats! There was a place to jump off as well but we opted out of that.

Overall, I would give Barry and Erik an A+. We loved that Barry speaks perfect English, as Erik does very well with his English too. They were very knowledgeable about the area and they pointed out things along the way. Our day was great! My husband and I are returning in November and they gave us suggestions on where we could stay! We are planning on doing a Coba, Honey Factory, Akumal Bay(weather permitting) tour with them when we come back! Thank you both so much for the amazing experience! We will see you in November!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMunyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maya Can-Do!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wow! What amazing personal service!! Barry was in touch with us up to the trip and actually tracked us down at the resort after a little miscommunication...but once he and Erik got us in the van it was nothing but fun from there!!
Amazing understanding of not only the area but the people. As Barry is a transpant himself there was no language barrier; he speaks English and is apparently fluent at Sapnish as well. He is an extremely nice person and well spoken too. It was truly a pleasure to spend the day with him seeing the sights and eating the food. And he wrapped the trip up with amazing drinks at a secluded little beach and bar...I won't tell you the name because I think that's what keeps it so special. Hire Barry for the day; he'll show you what I'm talking about.
Personalized service is what Barry gives. And a very personal thank you is what you will give him after your tour... Gracias Barry!!! Muchas Gracias!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Tan Fades but Your MayaCan Memories Won't!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Incredible 2 days with Barry and Erik! From the first contact with Barry in the planning process, until we were dropped at the airport our last day, it was a great experience with MayaCan. So great, that when we said our good byes to Barry and to Erik, we felt like we were sadly leaving good friends. The kids wouldn't let them go - that speaks volumes.

There were 7 of us - 2 couples & 3 daughters (10, 11 & 12), staying south of Playa del Carmen. Barry spent the time with me via e-mail and phone to work out the perfect 2 days, including a special surprise lunch for my sister's birthday.

Barry takes care of everything. He brings plenty of water and snacks, and manages the acquiring of all park passes. The experience was relaxing and fun, with none of the hassles or delays you can get with large tours. And one of the best parts was making new friends in Barry and Erik.

Driving: The driving was outstanding by Erik for our airport transfers plus 2 tour days. He enthusiastically answered our non-stop questions - everything from history to current events and their impact on Mexico's politics. He grew up in Mexico, is very smart, well read (and knows his movies), proud of his home and happy to share.

Safety: We always felt safe. The van was in great condition and very comfortable for all 7 of us (plus Barry and Erik). When we were swimming or snorkeling, we were always watched over. Erik kept an eye on the van, so any valuables we left in the van while snorkeling were safe. These guys know the area, the people, and they know what they are doing.

The Tours: Perfect. Exactly what Barry promised.
1st Tour: Coba/Honey & Artisan Shops/Cenote/Tulum/La Zebra - The first tour started with a morning trek to view and climb Coba ruins (be sure to have a "Mexican Red Bull" health drink at the entrance - I make them at home now) followed by a stop at a 'honey factory' where we purchased honey, bee pollen and natural hair products, then a local artisan spot where we purchased a spectacular Mayan wooden mask for a fraction of the price at the hotel. We cooled off at Gran Cenote with incredible (and not scary) caves before heading to Tulum ruins and then a late lunch and delicious cocktails at La Zebra on the beach in Tulum where the girls bodysurfed while we enjoyed the food, drink and amazing view.
2nd Tour: Snorkeling/Beachside Lunch/Cenote - We had planned to snorkel with turtles in the bay, but windy conditions all week closed the waters, so we went to Yal Ku Lagoon, which a great plan B were we still managed to spot rays and barracuda even with less than ideal conditions. Barry and Erik chose La Buena Vida in Akumal for my sister's surprise birthday lunch, the perfect casual spot with tables right on the beach-prices were very reasonable and the food was great. The staff seemed to enjoy the celebration as much as we did, allowing us to serve a bottle of tequila we brought with engraved shot glasses, complete with song and huge sombreros - a memorable birthday for sure. We ended the tour with a visit to cenote with a big jump that we all had a ton of fun with. They dropped us at Xcaret for the evening show and Erik was there with his wonderful smile to pick us up at 9:30 to drive us back to our hotel. A long but wonderful day.

What to bring: comfortable shoes for walking, and shoes for the beach (if you can do a combo pair, like Keenes, that's great). Bring a hat, sunglasses, biodegradable sun screen (although Barry did have some too), cover up, snorkel gear if you have it, underwater camera, change of clothes - remember you can leave gear in the car, so bringing the extra flip flops or shorts is not a problem. I brought dried apples and a couple of other healthy snacks. Bring cash to purchase from the honey factory (the cookies are great, pollen, honey, hair and body products) and the artisan next door (wooden masks, hammocks, ceramics), both are great spots to buy authentic local goods, and help the local families.

Next time: We hope to make it back within 2 years and will plan to do a day long cenote tour with MayaCan, as well as a swim with the turtles (Mother Nature willing). The piggy bank is out and starting to fill up!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GloucesterLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maya Can Eco Tours: the best way to experience Mexico!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

During our stay in Mexico we had the pleasure of going on a tour with Barry from Maya Can. It was a fantastic experience from beginning to end. The day was so relaxed and at our own pace, no waiting on others like you experience on group tours. I would highly recommend Maya Can because the service was impeccable, professional, and friendly. It's the only way to truly experience Mexico! Barry's knowledge of the people, culture, and history was fantastic; his love and respect for Mexico really came through. We are looking forward to our next trip and taking another fantastic tour with Maya Can! If you truly want to experience Mexico, Maya Can Eco Tours is the way to go!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maya Can was an awesome way to see the sites”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family spent two terrific days with Barry from Maya Can this past week. We went to the Mayan ruins in both Coba and Tuluum, went snorkling with the turtles in Akumal and visited some awesome Ceynotes. He had everything arranged for us and made the trip fun and easy. We had spoken to Barry ahead of time and he gave us some restaurant recommendations that turned out be fantastic, and some ideas on things to do when we weren't going on a tour with him. What really made him special to us was our first day together. We had just arrived in Coba (a two- hour drive from Playa) and were starting the tour of the ruins, when my daughter fainted from dehydration. It was pretty scary. The tour guide from the ruins wanted to keep going because he didn't want to lose the tour. But Barry insisted we stop and take her home and offered to take us on the trip again the next day if our daughter felt better. He was more concerned with her well-being than losing the day of touring with us. He won me over right there. I can't recommend him enough. We enjoyed him so much, he joined us for dinner our last night. So if you are thinking about going on any tours during your stay in Playa, Maya Can is the way to go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AudreyP594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Can Eco Tours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Maya Can Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing