We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
66 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$385
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/18/22
Melia.com
$292
View deal
Booking.com
$385
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/18/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$385
travelup.com$372
Trip.com$388
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,791)
Filter reviews
13,790 results
Traveler rating
9,924
2,378
829
348
311
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9,924
2,378
829
348
311
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mole family concierge kids zone kids club sunrise grill bedroom master suite olio restaurant naos buffet la esmerelda the pirate ship pool bana fusion gabi club balloon animals heated pool dinner reservations family vacation bubble bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,909 - 3,914 of 13,790 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have come to Paradisus many times. Sometimes it just the 2 of us and sometimes its a family adventure of 29 people. We just got back from our Family getaway of 29 people! Wow! I don't even know how we survived the logistics of it, but we made it and had loads of fun. We have stayed at La Perla side when it's just the 2 of us and most of the time we were at La Esmeralda side with kids and family.

I must say that our multiple stays at Paradisus is all owed to Yolitzin who works at the front desk at check in. We stayed there 5 times already and she has helped us out on multiple check ins. It's great to have a familiar and friendly face to greet you. She also corrected problems for us when hotel reservations over booked us for La Perla and made other arrangements to make us feel comfortable and complete. Yolitzinis one of many shining stars at the Paradisus that make us want to come back again and again. Like is said, we loved this place so much this is our 5 th time back. The last trip was 16 people and this time 29 people.

A really big thanks to the pool staff:
Arturo

Housekeeping
Thanks to Alejandra Montoya for always keeping our rooms clean and filled with fresh towels

Beach staff:
Ricardo

Sunrise grill:
Jose

Chef Delfino who made 2 seafood mixed grill for us. I am salivating just thinking about it.

Beach water sports:
We went snorkeling, Jet skiing, fly boarding, parasailing, catamaran

Eugene
Alexis (chicken little)
Johnnie
Jose

Not everything was perfect. There was one hiccup on this flawless trip and it was Olio restaurant. We had booked in advance for 29 people at Olio. They could not fit us all in at one time so they separated 14 seating for 6:00 and then 15 seating for 6:30. We totally understood due to such a big party. We found out early that some were not back from an excursion like almost half of us, so we cancelled the 6:00 reservation so that we did not hold up seating for other guests. When we got there we were short of seating for 4, since some made it back early from their excursion. We asked hostess if we could just add another 4 seating and they flatly said no. They said they were all booked up. There were many empty tables available. My brother in law was infuriated and left, I in turn left as well. 9 of us left for Naos buffet. As I was leaving I told the hostess now u have more seating available since 9 of us were leaving. They didn't even apologize, and just gave a nod. 11 stayed, my cousin throughout dinner was looking for the manager or supervisor to explain why an extra 4 seating could not be accommodated when throughout dinner there were empty tables at both ends of where they were seated as well as empty seats in other areas. He was even more incensed when many tables remained empty throughout the course of dinner. This was my cousin 1st trip with his family to Paradisus and I did not want him to feel this way. He told me throughout dinner he wanted to see manager but she never showed up. He was very angry with lax attitude and really unprofessional handling of this situation.

Yamil Reyes - head waiter
Karla - hostess
Paola Rivera - the supposed manager who never even showed her face to us.

We really felt the Olio was not very professional in handling this problem. They had many tables available but just did not want to accommodate us in anyway.


All in all, we had a wonderful time at the resort together. I cannot commend the staff enough for being so attentive and accommodating, with the exception of Olio.

This is our 2nd family trip to Paradisus and hope to see if there will be a 3rd. We could have more people coming but have to make sure they accommodate without problems. If they don't fix the staff at this rest. We maybe forced to try other resorts.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank 9elevenC2S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

The GOOD: Friendly and attentive staff. Picturesque pools and beaches. All inclusive (or at least mostly inclusive) food and drinks. Beach water activities (Kayaking, Sailing on the Catamaran, Jet skiing, Parasailing, and Snorkeling) were phenomenal. The staff over there were so friendly and accommodating. Eugene and Edward were awesome and wanted to make sure everyone enjoyed themselves in the water. Ricardo deserves a special thank you as well for being so attentive to a family of 29 people on the beach. When one grill was closed, he would go to another one much further away just so we could have a burger. Delfino at Sunrise Grill was phenomenal. Too bad there isn't a separate review just for Sunrise Grill. He felt so bad that he ran out of calamari that he gave us a whole extra lobster tail. He came out apologetic and as friendly as can be. I wish every place we went to had staff like these guys. They are the epitome of what great customer service looks like!

The BAD: There were a couple of minor inconveniences that I think can be improved. First, the water kept leaking out of the shower because there's really nothing to keep it in. In my opinion, the solution would cost just a few cents by just putting a rubber guard right underneath the door. Second, the docking station underneath the TV still uses the old iPhone 4 connection. I'm not sure of anyone who uses an iPhone 4 anymore. Third, beware the hotplate food at the buffet. It looks like it's been sitting there a while. Fourth, the printer in the lobby doesn't work. I tried to print out my boarding pass but it didn't work. At least put up a sign. And lastly (fifth), the Game Room was outdated. Granted we're on a beach resort but it was our last day and needed to kill about 30 minutes so my kids wanted to go in and play some games. Even the person working there said, "we only have 2 games, it's not that good". So if that's what he thinks of it, what are we guests supposed to make of it?

The UGLY: Olio. Don't go there! For someone who grew up in the restaurant business with different family members owning different restaurants, I can say without a doubt, this was one of the most poorly managed restaurants I have seen. If there's an EMPTY table, why would you not allow a family to pull it over so they can sit together and eat AS A FAMILY instead of forcing them to split up and have half of them eat at another restaurant? And if a customer asks to speak to a manager, why would the manager not even show her face? Yamil, the head waiter, and Karla, the hostess, seemed to offer excuses instead of solutions. They told me the manager was Paola but apparently she was too busy to meet with a customer who was eating at her restaurant and requested to speak with her.

OVERALL: We had a great time at Paradisus and look forward to coming back. But now we know better how to make the best of our time by knowing where to (and where NOT to) eat, what activities to partake in, and which places to visit. It's such a catch 22 when you're at the pool/beach and surrounded by all-you-can-eat food and drinks!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank richjlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
QD_Paradisus, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Rich L,

Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allows us to improve our service levels and product.

We have taken your comments very seriously and you can be assured that the necessary re-training measures are being instituted to prevent recurrences in the future.

Please accept our apologies for the diverse situations that made us fail to you. We are happy to see that overall you had a great time at Paradisus La Esmeralda. It would be a pleasure for us if you could give us another opportunity to show you the authentic Paradisus experience.

Best Regards.

Guest Experience
La Esmerala
Paradisus Playa del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

From check in to check out the entire stay was excellent. Alberto our family concierge rep was so much help. The experience we had as a family will be the new standard for us. Thanks to the entire staff at Paradisus LA Esmeralda.

Room tip: All the rooms were great but the family concierge room had a little more room.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank Daryl240
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
QD_Paradisus, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Daryl240,

It is an honor for us to know that you and your family have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of our exclusive Family Concierge Area.

The “Pure Freedom” atmosphere you noticed around the resort is reflected in your comments. At Paradisus we want to let know all our guests they deserve to feel pampered while they enjoy every area from of the resort.

Thank for recognizing the outstanding work from all the staff, especially from your butler Alberto. He will be informed about your kind words and surely he will be glad to know he was a significant part from your overall vacation.

Hopefully you give us the chance to serve you again.

Best regards.

Guest Experience
La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

Great place to go to lunch after having fun by the pool side. Had a great experience because of the waitress Anallely Hernandez! She was very attentive to every customer and there needs. Very friendly and always had a smile on her face! She made the experience in this hotel even more special, she will be missed into we return.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Connector733046
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

We arrived after a 10&half hour flight, with 3yo twins. Exhausted. We were unaware we were being given a hotel tour when we checked in, thinking we were being escorted to our room. After saying several times we wanted dinner and sleep, they reluctantly stopped, and said they would explain everything the next day. Fine by us. Dinner at buffet was Asian, and wasn't too exciting. Pretty tepid, and all tasted the same. Excellent night sleep, and kids had large pull out sofa to share. Lots of space, and comfy.
Staff all very lovely, polite. Although they push the 'time share' thing really hard initially. When you are a clear 'no' they seem to lose interest completely.... I hope. This isn't why we seem to be lacking in various things... room cleaning, mini bar etc....Seems a bit like Room cleaning is a hit and miss.... one day was cleaned at 9am, next day 3pm. We had to call to have the mini bar topped as they seemed to miss us out, but they did that very quickly.
Not sure about kids club just yet they have been twice, just for an hour, and we're only in day four..... will update as the holiday continues.
Today is now Sunday, clearly a quiet day, as there is a photo shoot being done in a few hours, and we were asked to move from the nice quiet relaxing Bali bed (as kids in kids club) to the 'premium' Bali bed..... which is only premium as it's right next to the not so relaxing kids pirate ship pool. Not too relaxing a day so far. Hopefully have better and more positive updates later as the holiday progresses.....

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Carlydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
QD_Paradisus, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are to make sure everyone is having a great stay ​and Guest service is our first priority.
Please feel free to contact one of our managers, or get back to me as well for further assistance. We want to do everything to make your stay right.

Warm Regards.

Guest Experience
La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews