We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #32 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was the most amazing vacation . My husband & I decided to bring along our son & his family & our daughter & her family . There was eleven of us . Non stop activities ,laughter , food, memories that will last a life time . The staff was beyond amazing . Every night there was something special waiting for my grand baby's back in their rooms . special treasure hunts , bubble baths , . The beach was a little walk but well worth . The food was delicious & everywhere . I'm looking forward to going back in 2016 to the same place that's how pleased we were . If you're looking for a family vacation that you'll never forget. I would highly recommend this .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Reginald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that your family vacations at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda – Family Concierge were full of surprises and now your family members have unforgettable memories. Our staff works very hard to provide our youngest guests a great experience through little details and special amenities that make the difference.

Thank you for your appreciation and kind words. We will be waiting for your return.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,406)
There are newer reviews for Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,392 - 3,398 of 7,406 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Everything at Paradisus Esmeralada was above par. Having been to Mexico for at least 10 times, this place was paradise. The Paradisus Team was amazing !!!

(A) Oliver (Customer Service Manager) took great care of us and made sure that our vacation was truely a 5 star vacation.

(B) Annette (the General Manager) came by and checked on us at dinner one night (very nice touch),

(C) Edmondo (concierge) was extremely helpful. He reached out to us on a daily basis to ensure all of our needs were met.

(D) Fernando (at Mole Restaurant) took care of us like kings the three times we had dinner (very good restaurant) and

(E) Rafael (at NAOS), tended to all of our needs at breakfast/lunch. He always had a smile and was genuinely happy to see us each time.

I rarely ever write reviews, but I can promise you that you cannot go wrong with this 5 star resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank YLK_in_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate you remember the name from the staff members that provided to you an outstanding service during your holidays like Oliver, Edmundo, Fernando and Rafael. All of them will be advised about your kind words in order to motivate them to continue pampering all of our guests the same way they did it with you and your family.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This was our second trip here in 4 months! We fell in love and had to return!
The kids zone was an amazing experience for our kids ages 6 and 8 on both trips. They never wanted to leave! The girls that work there, Barbara, Carolina, Fatima, Joana, Sayri, Luisa, and Marianna were extraordinary at their jobs and did everything to ensure that our children had a great time!

Our kids especially loved their themed parties, rock climbing and bungy jumping!

Our concierge, Jaime, was incredible. He was very helpful with all of our questions. He made our kids laugh all the time. We left with Jaime as our friend.

The resort is peaceful, although a family resort. A difficult balance to strike.

Naos, the main buffet restaurant did a great job of having a large variety of food to choose from. We especially enjoyed their oatmeal. Our favorite of the other restaurants was Vento.

Beachside, the workers like Cecelia do a fantastic job of making sure you're never thirsty. The water was peaceful and beautiful.

We chose a swim up room the second time around and we are glad we did. Our kids had easy access to swim and we could keep an eye on them from the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Roma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad to read the positive impression that Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda left on you after your stay. Thank you very much for appreciating our Kids Zone, food variety and quality at our specialty restaurants , the comfort in your suite and most of all the friendly and anticipated service all the staff provides. We feel proud to read that you were impressed by the service provided by our attentive personnel at the Kids Zone and Cecilia at the beach area. We will inform to all of them about your recognition to their amazing work.

Thank you again for your recommendation and for your preference. It would be fantastic for us to host you again to provide you another unforgettable family vacation.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

To be fair I'm still on holiday at this hotel, I'm here with my wonderful wife and 7 year old son Gianni I have got yo say that this is the best hotel we have been in its definitely worth the 10 hour flight from the UK. The staff are fantasic always there to help you and serve you, the hotel is spotlessly clean all around the pool area is spotless. The restaurants are all amazing with fantastic food the kids clud is brilliant. You just cannot fault it. I will be writing a more Indeth review when I return to the Uk, but only 5 days into my holiday, it's amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveabene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you are enjoying all the facilities and services that Paradisus offers.

Thank you for your kind notes and we hope you continue with your great experience here in the paradise!

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Sometimes in all inclusive hotels the food isn't great or the rooms aren't great or they aren't kid friendly, that is not the case at this resort. There are many restaurants to choose from and most the food is very good. The rooms are spacious and well laid out. We stayed in a junior suit, the bathtub was on the balcony, our kids loved taking a bath in it, it was a great treat for them. One of the families in our party had a room with a swim out pool, i highly recommend that, it was GREAT! This is our second trip to a Melia resort, we went to the DR last august. These resorts are wonderful if you are traveling with kids. They really cater to families and kids which is a nice change. The staff was eager to please and make sure we were taken care of. The beach was beautiful, i didn't go in the water but it looked really nice.

Room Tip: we went with my husbands extended family on an annual trip. all the rooms i saw were great, the hot...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about our hotel.

It is good to know your overall experience was satisfactory while you and your family members enjoyed the comfortable rooms, entertainment, food at our variety of restaurants and pool area.

Thank you again for your preference and we will be waiting for you again in your home away from home: Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have to say that overall it was an amazing vacation. The staff is superb, truly genuine, attentive and eager to serve/assist! The pool staff, hands down, my favorite of all! They work so incredibly hard and not sure if they are as recognized as they should be! CARLOS at the pool was amazing, always a great smile no matter what time of the day it was, no matter how busy it was, he always found time to engage my family and I and always made us feel as we were the only ones in the pool! Can't say enough great things about Carlos, but Paradisus is lucky to have him! Also at the pool I would like to recognize Luis & Jose Luis and Ximena and the gentleman at the towel station for being so attentive all the time! The pools are great, no mAtter how busy the hotel was, it never felt crowded, which was my favorite part of it all! Arnauld at the concierge was incredibly attentive and very efficient and helpful, thank you for making all of our restaurant reservations and recommendations! All the restaurants were incredible!!!, favorite ones were by far Mole and Bana, the tepanyaki at Bana was superb, wow, we were all blown away by how tasteful it all was ! Even the market and the other buffet style restaurants were amazing, including both food and service!the rooms incredibly clean and spacious. In room dining, also was blown away by how all the servers especially those in the morning with our bfst orders were so engaging, favorite one was Carlos! The premises are amazing and in great shape!
My only suggestions Re the following: have music or louder music (especially native music) by the pool all the time not only during Aqua Gym! Also, the nightly events that are held on the space by the restaurants gets crowded and it gets extremely warm- perhaps have at Alternate location or add sone sort of fans or ventilation! Overall I think my family and I have chosen La Esmeralda as our vacation spot it's truly an amazing place! Thank you for an amazing stay! See you next year!

Room Tip: They're All Either junior suites or suites, all rooms are spacious and great.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vianney V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear guest,

It is pleasant for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the friendliness and service of our staff. Especially the service provided by Carlos, Luis, José Luis, Ximena and Arnauld, we will gladly pass on your compliments to them and we are sure that your notes will motivate them to continue with their great job.

We appreciate your suggestions for the improvement of our services and recommendation to future Paradisus tourist to stay with us and we will be waiting for your return with your family to our little piece of Paradise.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We went on this trip with a large group of family. It was very enjoyable. What makes this hotel stand out is the excellence of the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We felt like royalty. There was one server who stood above the rest. Her name is Luz Ramirez. She works at the bar right outside the buffet restaurant. She was the best. Go see her if you visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Paradisus during your recent beach getaway to Mexico.

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations. We will surely congratulate Luz in your behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a truly enjoyable stay.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,892 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,721 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $289 - $1,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing