We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service I ever had in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #30 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel amazed me in so many ways. I would say the one thing that stood out the most was the outstanding service!! I have never been to a hotel with so many workers that greeted you every time they passed you, and always tried to help. The staff was very accommodating and truly wanted you to have the perfect stay. The lobby area was stunning, small paths surrounded by water with fish/turtles, my kids loved it! I have to say that I really enjoyed the small illy coffee bar in the lobby. The night time shows were all interesting including the Michael Jackson show (wow!), the main buffet restaurant (naos) had all different kinds of food all day. The restaurants were all delicious!! My husband and I enjoyed Vento, Fuego, and Mole more than the rest, but they were all pretty good. We also spent a day at yhi spa and got massages which were excellent and truly relaxing!To sum it up, I can easily say that this was the best hotel I've been to in a longggg time. It's kid friendly as well as adult friendly. I would highly reccomend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jassyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad to read the positive impression that Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda left on you after your stay. Thank you very much for appreciating all the details, décor, food variety and quality, shows, and must of all the anticipated service all the staff provide.

We would feel honored if you decide to come back to enjoy again the best LUXEclusive plan you have had!

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,608 - 3,614 of 7,715 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

Felt very welcomed from the get-go. Anything we wanted, we almost got. Pool/beach was wonderful! My little girl (4) loved the ship, hippo, and shark. Would have been nice to have a few more kids slid's, but she loved it. Pool water was perfect. Not too warm, or cold. Beach was beautiful. Sandy, no rocks around. Food was great, not traditional. Many of the restaurants were adult only, and about four were for the family to go to. Best part, the kids club was free to have our daughter stay in for two hours at a time and then you can go to these restaurants. My daughter loved the kids club and wanted to go each night. She usually does not leave our side. Felt comfortable doing so and they were very nice. The spa was wonderful!!! But the downside, extremely overpriced. I would never pay that much for the services, but I was given the gift certif. to go there because we went on the Club Melia 90 min. presentation. I would not buy into this, but nice going on it and receiving free items. Once of the cleanest resorts we have been to. Many five star resorts try to act like it, but this really is five star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Colette Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for selecting Paradisus for your summer beach vacation to Mexico’s Riviera Maya.
As you mention in your comments, at Paradisus we truly enjoy pampering our guests, specially the smallest ones, who´s happiness is reflected in every single smile they show on their faces. We are pleased to know your 4 year old daughter had an amazing time at the slides and Pirates’ ship at the Adventures pool and she loved staying at the Kids Zone while you had great dinners at the only adult restaurants, having the confidence that your daughter was in good hands.

Thank you again for your recommendation and for your preference. It would be fantastic for us to host you again to provide you another wonderful family vacation.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Great hotel and excellent staff. Really enjoyed the holiday though do wish we had understood more about the Family Concierge option before we travelled. The only negative comment I would make is that our dining options were limited because of an 'adults only' policy in some of the restaurants after 20.00 hrs because we travelled with our son is who is 16 years old. Consequently we found ourselves dining with families who had much younger children and had to suffer the distractions which go with that. I appreciate there have to be some rules but most teenagers know how to behave when dining out and do think this is an issue that the hotel needs to look at. Other than that, perfect and would strongly recommend this hotel. Great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions with us and we want you to know that we take our guests´ comments very seriously ,this helps us to improve the service provided. You may feel assured that we took a good note of your particular observation.

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My family and I visited this resort at the start of May 2014. This resort features about 9 different restaurants from an entertaining Asian to a traditional Mexican. This hotel offers a great variety suiting everyones taste buds. This resort has been well thought out as there is an adult's side to the hotel suitable for people seeking a relaxing vacation or a family orientated side providing an enjoyable vacation for all the family. The kids club at this resort is suited for all ages from the young babies to teens constantly pursuing adventure. This hotel also features live entertainment each night with high flying trapeze artists one night to a phenomenal Michael Jackson tribute the next. The staff at this hotel were always saying 'hello' and were always trying out their English, even though most of them were pretty good. I would say to definitely go for all inclusive as it's very easy to get carried away otherwise, but all inclusive is very good value for money! Overall I would say that this resort caters for all needs and would highly recommend visiting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Get_Stuffed_Pizza_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for posting such an objective review from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

We appreciate your description of our facilities including restaurants, kids club, night entertainment and staff service. For us, it means you really were impressed about them and you felt it was necessary to share it with us and future guests. We are sure they will take your suggestions in consideration to enjoy their vacations as much as you did.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and please remember that in Paradisus you will find your home away from home in front of the Mexican Caribbean.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just spent two weeks at La Esmerelda and had a great time. Had read the odd bad review and have to say that we are fussy / expect high standards and on the whole it was very good. Would definitely recommend having concierge service as apart from making the whole experience that much more relaxing, also ensures you have access to a much quieter private pool/ restaurant area and best part of the beach. Lucia, our concierge was fabulous and comes highly recommended....many thanks Luci!! Beach is lovely white sand and sea is like a warm bath. Agree that there are a few rocks but these are in the sea on the main stretch (not in concierge area)...it almost put me off booking but am glad it didn't as sea was lovely and spent a lot of time there. Pools lovely on the whole though main pool can get noisy..again the solution is to book concierge if you want something more relaxed. Restaurants are very good...in particular Vento, Bana and Mole. Vento does great fillet steak, Bana superb sashimi and sushi and Mole variety of Mexican specialities. Hector in Mole is a fab waiter and worth asking for as really makes the meal more special. Also Alejandro and Enrique in Nous were brilliant and really helped us cater so well for our son's gluten intolerance. Have to say, this was a completely different experience to Paradisus in Dominican...la Esmerelda was so much better, no language barrier issues, completely understood dietary issues and how to prepare food and service overall was on a different level to Dominican. I took a lot of convincing from friends to visit another Paradisus but this has restored my faith....perhaps the group should send the Dominican staff over to Mexico to understand what customer service should look like? Can't remember all the names ..sorry but all the staff at Concierge pool and restaurant and bartenders at the Blue Agarve bar were brilliant too. One bad meal at fuego but from that point onwards the management continually checked with us including the Head of food and beverage to ensure we were happy with every aspect. Good quality alcohol across the board though a few daytime beach/pool cocktails a tad inconsistent but minor gripe...the permanent bars all first class! Reasonable kids club that runs till 10pm should you need it along with games room and outdoor climbing/ trampolining etc. Loads to do outside if you've never visited Mexico...giant turtles at Akumal beach and swimming with dolphins most memorable for our 9yr old. Also zip lining through the jungle and swimming in the denotes was awesome. Master suites are well worth the upgrade cost and it is possible to have concierge service in one of these rooms even f the websites don't provide pricing, but book in advance as concierge completely sold out when we were there and met several disappointed families. Despite what some people say, you can get a fabulous sea view because we had it... Top floor in.block AA from memory. Great family resort with first class service...well done La Esmerelda!!

Room Tip: Master suites on top floor of block AA offer great ocean view over the mangroves. (Closest block to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Jez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read you had a great overall experience from your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda – Family Concierge. We trust that our concept, our service philosophy, our LUXEclusive plan, modern facilities, and the professional care provided by our staff are meaningful attributes to satisfy or even surpass all our guests’ expectations.

Likewise, we appreciate your kind words directed to some members of our staff. Without any doubt all of them were a significant part of your experience with their special attention to details and their tailored service. Please be sure that your notes will be transferred to them as they deserve to know their daily effort is well appreciated by our guests, continuing providing excellent service to all our visitors.

Thank you very much for you recommendation and remember that Paradisus will be waiting for your return.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Excellent hotel, very clean, staff are responsive and efficient. Decor very tasteful. The food is excellent and plentiful. The pool is a bit crowded and you need to wake up early to get a shady spot near the pool. The beach is a bit away from the pool, but it is beautiful and there is also a jet ski rental, which does not belong to the hotel, paid separately. The medical answering service is excellent, especially Dr. José Díaz-Ordaz Castillo is an excellent professional. I needed to be examined due to a throat infection and Dr. Diaz was super helpful. Is a doctor who spends safety and confidence in what he says. A professional trained and very dedicated to what he does.

Room Tip: Near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andregsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review from your last stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

We are pleased to know your overall experience was good while you enjoyed the facilities, food at our variety of restaurants, nice beach area and customer service. We will communicate your recognition to Dr. Diaz for his professional service inviting him to continue this way.

Thank you again for your notes and please honor us again with your visit in the future.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Love this resort! We really enjoy our stay in La Esmeralda. The kids had a blast! They loved the water inflatables, the music and the chairs in the pool. One thing we really enjoyed is the family concierge service (VIP service). Our concierge was Daniela and she was always with a nice smile, helping us with our needs. One day she surprised us by living our bathtub filled up with hot water, bubbles and balloons. It was so nice to find that when we arrived to our room all tired after an excursion to Isla Mujeres.
Everything was always clean (love that!), and the rooms and all the different lounges had nice and special scents (e.g orange with strawberry, lavender, etc).
Love the VIP beach beds!! Great idea! The food was great in the "reservation only" restaurants. It was tough to get reservations, though. The food in the buffet restaurant (no reservations needed) was fine, lots of choices. I just think the place where the food is, needs to be cooler, since some of the food e.g. the cheeses, looked like melting with the heat and humidity; they didn't look appealing to me. The service is incredible. The waitresses/waiters and bar tenders are great people, (specially Danura and Adrian at the Hydro pool bar) they were friendly and always trying to help you.
Thank u all for ur attentions! We had a great time!!!
We really want to go back again next year!!! :)

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that your family vacations at Paradisus La Esmeralda – Family Concierge were full of surprises and now your family member have an unforgettable great experience.

Some of the benefits our Family Concierge guests have are: access to a swimming pool reserved for them, having some snacks at Hydro Grill, Jacuzzi at your room terrace, butler assistance and amenities for our youngest visitors, among others. Thank you for taking advantage of them and appreciated the extra value reflected on the kings feeling you have gotten.

As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay wonderful.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,305 reviews
6 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#72 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,455 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
16,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $309 - $1,875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing