We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #33 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Resort”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for eight days as a family with two boys, ages 8 and 3. We have stayed at many other nice places in Cancun and in Playa del Carmen including Royal Hideaway (no kids), The Beloved, and Fiesta Americana, but wanted to try something new. We all really loved our experience at this resort. The staff is very warm and friendly, and everything is new and very well-maintained. The food was better than expected and drinks were yummy.

My 8-year-old's favorite part of the trip was his time in the kid's club. They have lots of fun activities including Euro-bungee jumping, wall-climbing, talent show, and lots of cool crafts. They really did a great job of keeping the kids active and happy. It was a nice thing to drop the kids off there so we could go to dinner as adults.

Our 3-year-old loved the pirate pool and made friends that he could swim around with. There were plenty of slides and the pool for the kiddos was relatively shallow so the little ones were comfortable playing there. The food options made him happy and there was always something on the menu he liked.

Our room was a One Bedroom Master Suite. It was large and worked really well for a family of four. It had a large dining table which made it easy to order room service and eat in the room for breakfast or while kids are napping. We opted not to do family concierge and never felt like we were missing out on anything. We were always able to call and make reservations for restaurants and anything we asked for, we got. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping the room clean and turndown service always left us fresh towels and chocolates on the pillows.

Any negatives about this place would be very minor, and didn't really keep us from having a fabulous and relaxing family vacation. There is no ocean view from the pool or from most rooms and the mini fridge wasn't replenished everyday. Otherwise, no complaints.

We would definitely highly recommend this hotel and would love to travel here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilu100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad to read the positive impression that Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda left on you after your stay. Thank you very much for appreciating our beautiful and well maintained facilities, the spacious One Bedroom Master Suite, the quality food at our restaurants and the friendliness of our staff.

As you mention in your comments, at Paradisus we truly enjoy pampering our guests, specially the smallest ones, who´s happiness is reflected in every single smile they show on their faces. We are pleased to know your 8 year old child had an amazing time at the Kids Zone, and your 3 year old baby enjoyed the slides and Pirates’ ship at the Adventures pool and both had always a delicious meal they liked.

On the other part, we have informed the manager in charge about the minibar restocking. The minibar is part of our all-inclusive plan and it must be filled in ones a day.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience in Trip Advisor and we will be waiting for your prompt return.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,674
    1,364
    450
    151
    108
See reviews for
4,735
851
28
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome especially our bartender Jose at the Sunrise Bar in the pool. He was a great person and made my vacation extra enjoyable.

I fully recommend taking a trip to this property!!!!! The swim up rooms are awesome and my kids loved the jacuzzi on our patio.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that your overall experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda was completely satisfactory and you and your kids had the opportunity to enjoy the Jacuzzi in your swim up suite and the attentiveness of our staff, especially from Jose at the Sunrise Bar, who will receive your notes about your recognition to his amazing job.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope on keep counting with your preference.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Paradisus. Staff was excellent. Food and service were all above our expectations. We would recommend to others and can't wait to return! Special thank you to staff member Marco, for making my little Marco feel special!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesskouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the food quality and variety in most of our restaurants and the attentive service provided by Marco, who will be informed about your kind words expressing he was your favorite employee from the whole trip.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back to your second home, Paradisus Playa del Carmen.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This fun place to go on vacation! So many activities for children. Kids club and all girls there were wonderful. Both of my girls never wanted to leave this place. Food was really good. My favorite restaurant was Bona. Our stay wouldn't be the same without Ramon! He was wonderful person who helped us all the time. Thank you Ramon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarnobrzeska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for staying at our hotel and provide us the privilege to serve you.

It is pleasant for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the friendliness and service of our staff. Especially the service provided by the Kids Club staff and Ramon, we will gladly pass on your compliments to them and we are sure that your notes will motivate them to continue with their great job.

Please remember that in Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda you will find your home away from home in front of the Mexican Caribbean.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our older son is high functioning autistic, with a food allergy and problems with sudden changes, so we knew that we would need a special place for our family vacation. After investigating a few places, we decided to try Paradisus la Esmeralda. We contacted Oliver, the resort manager, who was incredibly responsive and helpful, and even there to greet us when we arrived. The personal attention was amazing and very genuine too. This was only the beginning, as our family concierge Thania was waiting for us at our room to greet us. By this point our older son was pretty worn out and grumpy having dealt with travel most of the day, but Thania and Oliver didn’t show him anything but love, and in fact were so kind towards him that he started to relax a bit. Thania came back later the first day and gave him a special little chain for him to have that she’d made herself, a wonderful personal touch. Throughout the stay she was always nearby and happy to help us with anything. Everyone at the resort was genuine and helpful, from Valeria at the photographer’s who was so patient as we tried to keep our boys calm and focused during our photo shoot to Hector, Tito, and Jose at the restaurants, who happily changed up the menu in whatever way matched our sons’ appetites. Meanwhile, our younger son, who is a very strong headed independent guy, was running all over the resort with his new friends, spending hours at the kids’ club and hanging out at the pool bar ordering pina coladas (virgin!) chatting up anyone else who swam up. We never had any concern at all about his safety because he was so happy to be there and the staff was all so friendly towards him. We’ve been to many places around the world and for a good family holiday La Esmeralda is definitely at the top of the list. We’ve recommended La Esmeralda to many people, and our friends who have visited have also found themselves not wanting to leave. We’ll be returning for our next visit soon and look forward to seeing Oliver and Thania and all our friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Our visitors’ reviews are always welcome. Guest satisfaction is the goal we try to achieve every single day at Paradisus. We are glad we did it with you and your family.

We are glad to receive reviews from our guests where there express their gratitude to some of our staff members that were a significant part of their complete experience, like Oliver, Thania, Valeria , Hector, Tito, and Jose. All of them will receive your notes to motivate them to continue pampering our guests.

Thank you again for your kind words and for your preference. It would be fantastic for us to host you again to provide you another memorable and unforgettable experience.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here with my famiy a group of 12 for 7 days . I did not know what to expect as the online pictures do not give you a clear idea of how beautiful the property is . While you're checking in the staff comes out to greet you and bring you a nice cool drink upon check in . The decor emotes a Spa like zen feeling . All of the staff at the Paradisus Esmeralda went out of their way to help you and sincerely tried to make your stay better . Everyone was smiling and very helpful , the spirit of the people really came through . One person in particular really left an impression on all of us , we cannot say what a wonderful and hard worker Jose is . He was the bartender during our stay at the Sunrise pool , he really attended to everyone quickly with witty comments and a smile .
I recommend as soon as you check in to partner with someone in guest services to take care of the reservations to the evening restaurants as they are occupied quickly . All of the restaurants were delicious , we dined at Mole , The Market , Fuego, Bana and Vento all were great ! The food was amazing ! You really feel like you're being spoiled , delicious food everywhere you go . The breakfast at Naos was quite a spread , anything you can possibly think of wanting to eat for breakfast was there .
The children in our family really enjoyed the bouncy inflatable in the pool as they had a great time splashing and jumping . The beach was very nice but a little on the small side. I recommend to go all the way to your left when you get there and there's not so many rocks .
On the main floor past the lobby there's an Illy coffee shop with small pastries and cookies , we really enjoyed the illy coffee as it is my favorite but we wished it was open a little longer . The hours were a few hours in the morning and a few hours after 6 . Also the gift shop should be better stocked with beach toys, floaties and balls for the smaller children . If you're bringing small children you should buy some toys and floating devices in advance because the prices are high and the pickings are slim . If you want family pictures at the resort there are photographers available that took wondeful pictures of my family at the beach but they will take the pictures at other locations at the resort as well . I believe the cost was around $12 USD per picture , I was really surprised how tasteful and creative they came out . They sell you a disk and do not print the pictures on site . Over all the stay was absolutely fantastic , the staff really make you feel indulged and make the experience special . I recommend this resort to families and to couples too as there is an adult section where no children are allowed . They should really change their policy on the age allowed in the adult restaurants . My daughter at 15 years old could not be included at the adult only restaurants , the reason this is not a good policy is because I paid for her as an adult and she could not go to these restaurants . My daughter is a foodie and has enjoyed many of the top NYC restaurants with me and It was a shame that she could not share in that experience . We used the kids club for one night to go to dinner . I think they do a lot with them during the day but in the evening they gave them dinner and most of the kids watched tv . Enjoy your stay .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palzberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to receive reviews from our tourists, especially when they really try to communicate every detail during the stay, just like yours. We are proud that you have had a fantastic stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Our LUXEclusive plan were well appreciated for you, as well as our, facilities, activities for kids and helpful service from our personnel. José will be delighted to hear that he contributed to your stay.

We appreciate your recommendation to other families to live the Paradisus experience and we hope you come back to this little piece of paradise by the Mexican Caribbean.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family recently spent a week at the Paradisius Playa del Carmen. Overall the experience was average. We booked through melia.com, which offers discounts if you sign up for their Loyalty program. This was the best deal from a value standpoint, but we did not receive any of the benefits that are offered along with being a Loyalty member, including the upgrade to the next room category. We booked a one bedroom suite and our supposed 'upgrade' was changing the bed configuration from double to king (even though I had asked for a king when I booked). Very disappointing as a Loyalty Program member.

The food in the a la carte restaurants was usually very good but if you wanted to order a decent bottle of wine you paid the price, AND they added an 18% gratuity charge for bringing the wine to your table, which they don't tell you about.

Beware of the rocks in the water on the beach. No one informed us there were rocks and we stubbed our toes many times. We are beach people and the water was dirty on most days and unswimmable for us, although people were swimming in it. We would walk down the beach to find cleaner and clearer waters. The pools were clean and nice.

No one can tell me they don't water down the liquor in all inclusive resorts, and if you don't want to be drinking sweet sugary drinks make sure you inform the bartenders before they pour. You need to be specific in your order. It appeared that the bartenders were hand washing the plastic cups to be used by patrons. Is

This is a very family oriented resort and there are tonnes of kids and babies. If you not looking for a resort with lots of screaming kids, this isn't for you.

The website mentions that there are 14 restaurants but it doesn't make it clear that half of the restaurants are 'adult' only. As well, why am I paying adult fare for my 14 year son if he can't use all facilities and restaurants? At the very least, he should have been able to accompany my husband to the gym, but this was not allowed.

I wanted to have a mani/pedi with my 10 year old daughter, but she was not allowed in the spa. She ended up having a pedicure at the Kids Camp but it was not the same experience since we wanted to do it together.

The one bedroom suite was large enough for the 4 of us and very clean, but the pull out sofa was like lying on the floor. Very hard and uncomfortable.

Overall our resort experience was 'ok'. We ate, we drank, we enjoyed spending time together which was our goal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to share your point of view about your stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and would like to extend our sincerest apologies. Your comments are very important for us, it is through them how we learn about what we need to improve .Please be sure they will work on those aspects you have mentioned in order to provide our guests the best service.

Once again thank you very much for your comments and we hope you could give us another opportunity to host you at our resort and you could really experience our facilities and service that all our customers deserve.

Annette Koelemeij
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,146 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
16.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#20 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,362 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing