We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great repreive from the cold” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #33 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Great repreive from the cold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Paradisus was recommended to us from RCI. It is our first "all inclusive," and we are glad we came. Beautiful weather, great pools and the food at most of the restaurants is excellent. Juan Carlos, our personal concierge was fantastic to show us around and help us out as was Jaime who always inquired to our well being. All of the resorts staff are friendly and helpful but Juan Carlos and Jaime deserve cudos for always being there to help us with any questions.

Room Tip: For adults choosing Paradisus for the first time, be sure to ask about the LaPerla side of the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for selecting us as a destination for your vacation.

We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort and you felt pampered by the attentive service of Juan Carlos and Jaime, we are sure your notes will encourage them to continue working with the enthusiasm and charisma that distinguish them.

We hope this is the beginning of uncountable vacations at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,488
    1,307
    430
    144
    105
See reviews for
4,525
818
26
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My family of 5-including three children ages 7,6 and 1 had a delightful trip to La Esmeralda. We stayed the week after Easter, starting on Easter Sunday. We have been to several all inclusive resoets in the Carribean and his has been our favorite. The food was great- Bana Tepenyaki and The Market were our favorites, as well as the coffee bar near the lobby. Room service was also delicious although I think the menu should offer more options.

Our swim out room was perfect for the five of us although the pullout couch was extremely uncomfortable and the kids wound up sleeping with us almost every night. The hallway noise at night was also pretty loud. The jacuzzi on the porch was a great feature that my kids loved and the rain shower heads were awesome!

The staff was very friendly. Everyone stopped to say hi and ask us if we needed anything. The service was always speedy with the exception of the Sunrise Grill at lunchtime.

The beach was narrow but worked fine for us. The water is warmer than the pools and if you walk down the beach a bit, there are some neat sand bars so you can walk out into the ocean pretty far and only be up to your waist.

All in all we had a wonderful time at the Paradisus and I would highly recommend it for both families and couples. We booked our trip through TripGuy, Mitch specifically and they took care of us from start to finish including transfers to and from the airport via a stretch limo!

One tip..mango is not a common fruit there and is never available at Naos. But if you ask your server, they will get it for you:)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyAlsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that your overall experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda was satisfactory and you and your family had the opportunity to enjoy our facilities , the great food at the specialty restaurants, especially The Market and Bana Teppanyaki , our beautiful beach ; without excluding the friendly service of our staff.

Thank you for your recommendation and for your preference. It would be fantastic for us to host you again to provide you another wonderful family vacation.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Jorge was amazing. I have never been served by a more attentive waiter. I don't know how he kept track of us all - simply amazing service. When you go to this resort, please go on the beach and look for Jorge - you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback.

We are glad to receive your recognition to our staff; specially for Jorge at the beach area. We will gladly share your comments to him. He deserves to know his daily effort was well appreciated by you.

We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We (husband, myself, and another couple, all age 30-32) stayed here from April 22nd-April 29. This resort is the best! Our concierge was Ivan and he was amazing! He made our trip special and we always looked forward to seeing him and chatting with him. He was professional and accommodating, as well as super friendly and fun! He booked all of our dinner reservations for us, and was extremely helpful when we needed to change a couple. He also always left fun notes and surprises in our room for us, from a treasure hunt to rose petal filled jacuzzis ready for us when we returned from dinner! The service was incredible here- every single person we came in contact with was extremely friendly and helpful.

Our favorite restaurant was Bana, the asian fusion restaurant -amazing sushi and hibachi, but the entrees were amazing too! We ate here once at the hibachi section and twice in the fusion section bc it was that good, and every single thing was delicious. We ate lunch every day at the buffet at the Grill bc it was so good, and discovered the best dessert at La Palapa (the chocolate lava cake). Chef Tomas does a great job here and came out to chat with us to see how everything was, which was nice. Another great place was Vento- the appetizers were really good if you are looking for a place for a lighter meal.

The beach is beautiful here too, just watch for rocks in the water (they are roped off and pretty easy to see unless it's really choppy) We spent a lot of time at the pools at La Perla where the drinks were delicious and served quickly. This resort is absolutely beautiful with great food, a nice beach, lots of activities (beach volleyball, kayaks, nightly shows and activities etc) and top notch service. The resort is close to downtown PDC- one day we walked into town via the beach (about 30 min); and other night we took a cab from the resort to downtown PDC, which was about 10 min and $14 (we just got dropped off at 5th and 12th and walked around, it was safe and fun!) We also took the ferry from downtown to Cozumel one day which I highly recommend- just rent a jeep and cruise around and check out the great restaurants and snorkeling areas!

The only mistake we made was misunderstanding the kid-friendly Esmerelda side and booking our stay here with the Family Concierge service vs the Royal Service at the adults-only La Perla. Esmeralda is entirely kid-focused, from the rooms to the pools. All in all, it wasn't a big deal bc the same amenities were accessible at La Perla, so we just walked across the resort to use those pools and restaurants instead. We thought to switch over to La Perla, but were so happy with Ivan that we just stayed at Esmerelda.

The rooms were slightly noisy (walls seemed a little thin) and our bed was on the lumpy side, but other than that there is really nothing to complain about! We loved it here and cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: We booked a luxury junior suite with a king bed and the Family Concierge. Our balcony was huge! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyakrikks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your memories from your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda on Trip Advisor.

It is a real gratification for us to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Family Concierge guest. We appreciate your compliments on the facilities, the beach , the food and particularly the service provided by Ivan. Despite the best option for you would have been staying at La Perla hotel , was his attentive service and charisma that made you stay in La Esmeralda hotel. That is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

We look forward to welcoming you back, now at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla , for another truly enjoyable stay.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I must admit I am not a fan of resorts. I feel it is a relatively sterile way of vacationing in another country. But this trip I was taken as a guest by my father along with 6 other family members for a milestone birthday. Our group ranged in ages from 13-70. The resort is physically beautiful. The design and attention to detail was not lost on us. There are so many wonderful "moments" or areas within the hotel to sit and take it all in. This also was the same for the pool area. The pool snaked around the hotel so there is always an opportunity to have your own "space" and section of the pool never feeling like you were on top of someone else.

The rooms were lovely as well. We had a two bedroom suite that was enormous and immaculate. Beer, soda, water and snacks were refreshed daily and upon request. Turndown service was a nice touch as well.

The food. I was expecting average and I got better than that. It was very fresh, clean and safe to eat anything. You could easily be as healthy or unhealthy as you wanted. I did however find myself wishing for better guacamole. Which was not good anywhere in the hotel. The service in all the restaurants was wonderful.

From what I can see they did a nice job with the little kids. But I did feel that there wasnt a lot to do with my 13 and 15 year old. At times they did get bored. It would have been nice if the resort offered small sailboats, water skiing, pool tables (teen lounge) a tennis program etc...

The one major complaint I have as did everyone in our party as well as other guests we spoke to was the concierge. They are trained to sell not service the guests. In my opinion they cheapened what was a lovely and luxurious experience. Dinner reservations were requested with the concierge but then we were held captive to "find" our concierge to get actual reservation confirmation sheet. She kept saying oh come and find me here later I will have them and you can get them with your welcome packet. Well the welcome packet was an hour and a half sales pitch to stay at the other Malia properties. Our dinner reservations should have been written out and placed in our room.

Room Tip: There was a ton of chair noise from the rooms above ours. They have heavy chairs and whenever someon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelproGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus La Esmeralda Playa del Carmen as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are completely pleased to read that we surpassed your expectations about the facilities, restaurant variety, comfort in your room and pool areas during your past vacation.

On the other part, we are sorry to know about some issues you had with your dinner reservations. Be confident that we have sent your notes to the Club Meliá Manager and they will work on those aspects. Because, all our guests deserve to receive the best service.

As well, we will transfer your valuable suggestions about teens activities, the Activities manager will take them under consideration. It is always satisfactory to receive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope you would be willing to give us a second chance to give you the experience you deserve.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have been to many resorts throughout the Caribbean and we never had such a complete experience like we did with paradissus. The facility was elegant, clean and very relaxing. The options for kids were great. The food was very gourmet and very assorted. The rooms were elegant and very comfortable. Only see two areas to improve. It was tough to find a bungalow sometimes and the mattresses could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your Paradisus experience with us and with future tourists on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you had an overall great stay with us while you enjoyed our LUXEclusive plan with the elegant facilities , assorted food in our restaurants, entertainment options for kids and comfortable suites.

We appreciate your suggestions and we look forward to your return.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

we just came back from this paradise!! our concierge was ROSARIO, she was great , always had a smile on her face and booked our dinner perfect.
the food was great , the staff overall was friendly and the beach was awesome

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Rajiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback.

We are glad to know that your overall experience was satisfactory and you truly liked the facilities, food and service. Be confident that Rosario will receive your recognition to her attentive service to motivate her to continue giving the best of her every day.

Your second home waits for you!

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,851 reviews
9.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,672 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,271 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,173 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing