We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #33 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My family and I were at the Paradisus, Playa del Carmen, La Esmeralda from November 2-9th, 2013 and had a fantastic time! The food was amazing, the rooms were great and the staff was fantastic and very friendly!! Over the week we got to know some of the amazing staff, especially ALEJANDRO and CRISTOBAL at the Naos buffet restaurant and LUIS and WILMA at the Sunrise Grill next to the pool area. Alejandro always had coffee and orange juice ready for us when we walked in for breakfast always had a big smile on his face. As we were sitting poolside, Luis always made sure to check if we needed another drink as he passed. They all made our trip better! We would go back just because of the amazing service! They had so may restaurants to choose from so they have something for everyone and the food everywhere was so good. A couple things to watch for, when it rains the floors are very very slippery. We had alot of rain while we were there and I fell twice walking down the hallway outside my room and again going toward the elevator. One thing we did not like was that we were constantly asked to listen to a talk about a time share multiple times. My family were not interested and politely declined each time we were asked. Even though we said we were not interested, my parents got a phone call to the room 3-4 time being asked again if they wanted to attend. We found it very annoying. Other then that, we had a great time and would go to this hotel again!! Thanks again Alejanandro and Luis!!

Room Tip: If it rains the hallways in on the first floor had tons of water, not sure if the water ended up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations and create this fantastic experience.

Your comments made us even prouder of our staff, we recognize those who put everything to their day to day, we highly appreciate the love, care and dedication shown to their work; this is what makes us different and what makes possible to exceed our guests expectations. We will surely congratulate them in your behalf.

On the other hand, thank you for letting us knows your particular observations about Meliá Club. You may feel assured that we took a good note of your particular observations.

Will be an honor to host you again, and take care of you in your next vacation.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,391 - 4,397 of 7,986 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

I, my wife and my son stayed at Paradisus La Esmeralda and we got one of the most pleasant experiences in an All Included resort so far.
This resort is deployed in a large area with a beach side, and offers many diversity of everything, either diversions, places to stay for a while, during mornings or afternoons, at night, several bars, restaurants, very good food, shows, etc.
Rooms are very good, some are really incredible. There are several different pool areas, so we could vary each day or depending what we were most feel like at the moment. At the beach it was also delightful, nice drinks and cocktails, and also very nice food.

Room Tip: Front to pools area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonelSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda during your recent beach getaway to Mexico.

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are glad to read you had an excellent experience in our Resort; we are pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities, our different restaurants, the shows and your incredible room.

Thank you again for your review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our first family vacation with our 10 month old daughter to Mexico, and the service and quality of the hotel was incredible. We had a very luxurious suite with a swim up pool connected to our patio, which made it very easy for our daughter to get in the water and have fun. The best part of this hotel is the food!! There are 14 restaurants to choose from, and with all of them being great it was the main buffet restaurant called NAOS that really blew us away. Our favourite part of the day was going to NAOS for breakfast and being greeted by Alejandro Gilberto. He always made us feel so welcomed and our daughter was all smiles when she saw him every morning. My wife's coffee was always ready on the table and he had my orange juice freshly squeezed when we arrived. I must say that he single handedly made our experience at Paradisus an amazing one with his caring attitude, professional service and big smile! We can't wait to go back and visit him again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get on the main floor so you can have access to the swim up pool to your patio. The f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danikaandalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting us as a destination for your vacation.

It is a pleasure for us to read you had a wonderful experience in our Resort, especially in Naos. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guest, we would like to thank you for letting us accomplish that mission during your stay.

We appreciate your kind comments about the service provided by Alejandro, he is a big asset of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda, and is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

We will be waiting for you on your next visit; we look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We just got back from 8 great days. We have 2 kids, a boy 9 yrs & a girl 7 yrs. We did the family concierge & felt that it was worth every penny. Our concierge was Aldo, we can not say enough great things about him. He checked in with us multiple times during our day. He also arranged all of our reservations for us for the week. I had contacted the resort about a month prior to see about reservations for our first night because we were arriving late afternoon. I received many emails assuring me it would be taken care of. When we arrived it was taken care of. Check in was easy. We asked about upgrading our room & they took us to see the different rooms. It was great. All of the amenities were unreal. The kids got a kick out of the robes & slippers. My daughter loved the toothbrushes, toothpaste, shampoo & body wash. Each afternoon the kids were excited & waited for Aldo to bring them milk & cookies. They couldn't wait to see what type of cookie it was going to be. Aldo also made a huge bubble bath on the patio for them. It had all kinds of balloons in it. I don't know who laughed more... The kids or my husband. Aldo also arranged for an X box in our room. My son thought that that was the best thing ever. Hydro grill was unbelievable. All of the staff... Marcos,Oscar, Pabio & Jeremias were wonderful. Always checking to see if you needed something. Jeremias making all kinds of drinks for the kids & adults too with funny names. He made a drink named Pokemon.... I still have no clue what was in it but it was delicious. The kids loved the cotton candy, popcorn, snow cones, candy... You name it, they had it for the kids. The kids also went to the kids club. They loved it. They made cookies& pizza, did different crafts. The girls in the kids club... Lucy,Anahi,Edith,Fatima & Joanna were all wonderful. Lucy even brought up a bottle of champagne to our room when my daughter told her it was our anniversary. They were very thoughtful. Aldo arranged a dinner for us at Passion. It was very nice. They covered Our table in rose petals, very pretty. He had told them it was our anniversary. Aldo arranged a nice bubble bath with rose petals for us that night. Very pretty. Another night he had champagne & chocolate covered strawberries brought up to our room. That was very nice also. All of the restaurants we ate in were very nice along with all of the staff. We spent a lot of time at the beach also. It was beautiful. My husband & my son Used the wave runner & had a great time. My daughter loved looking for shells. I know a lot of other reviews stated they were bothered about time share pitches. We were asked once, when we said no that was it. It was never mentioned again. I can't say enough about this resort. It was clean & well maintained. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. It was amazing. We were able to have fun while the kids also had fun. The attention to detail & the staff are what makes this resort so great. We definitely recommend this hotel if you have kids. We look forward to a return trip.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Cristie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

We are delighted to read that you spent a great time in our property. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all the benefits of our exclusive Family Concierge Area; also we are glad to read you enjoyed our facilities the dining experience we offer in our several restaurants and to read that you little ones took advantage of the Kids Zone.

As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.

We hope to welcome you back in the future to make more travel memories.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband my self son, daughter and daughters boyfriend have just returned from La Esmeralda and I was disappointed with the arrangements at the resort, as we paid for all inclusive I would of expected it to be all inclusive but unfortunately as their were a lot of weddings taking place the week we were there then quite a lot of the resort was out of bounds even the beach at one time. The resort it self is beautiful but if you are thinking of going there I would check how many weddings are taking place at the time. The restaurants are good when they are open to the general holiday people. I have been all inclusive before and have never had any part of the resort restricted. I wont be going back.

Room Tip: Top floors are better as no noise from above from children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work, in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback with our staff for our improvement and in order to achieve our guest’s entire satisfaction.

We appreciate your notes, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future to change your first impression and surpass your expectations.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We traveled here for a multi-family vacation for a week. We went for the full-service, swim-up, 1 bedroom master suites with the Family Concierge service. The room was well-appointed and it looked just like the photos. Everything was fresh, clean and new. They provided full-sized toiletries , including baby shampoo and kids tooth paste. Plenty of room for everybody's suitcases and lots of closet space to put things away.

The patio with the hot tub and pool were as pictured. This pool isn't heated though and was a bit cold getting in. The kids (3 girls, two 5yrs. and one 7 yrs.) loved the hot tub. It is shallow and quick to fill.

Major concern for us was the floors both on the patio and the room. It is polished marble throughout and it is VERY, VERY slippery when wet. We had to lay room towels between the pool steps and the patio doors several times just to walk safely. Even then, one of the moms and two kids took minor tumbles. If you stay here, ask for extra towels for this purpose.

The swim up room is well worth the extra dollars as it was nice to have when it was rainy. The kids could still have a dip and play when the larger pool or beach wasn't an option.

Only other issue with the room was that although we were traveling with kids, and it was certainly clear as they had provided the toiletries and kids bath robes, we had to call housekeeping to get bedding for the kids beds. It seemed odd that this was not provided.

The grounds are stunning and very well maintained. Every detail is covered. Little things like candle-lit lanterns lining the walk ways in the evening to the tropical scents wafting into the corridors. This place is beautiful. Every corner!

The family concierge service was a big plus and totally worth the extra $$$. The check in was a breeze and even before we had finished, the staff had whisked our kids away to have a chocolate fountain treat, freeing the grown ups to do the paper work, get instructions, etc. It was great!

Out family concierge was Gilmer. We were given a cell phone with his direct line and we could call him at any time to help us. He booked all our a la carte restaurant reservations and organized water sports for us and prepared beach beds and cabanas for us.

But the best part of the family concierge service is how they pamper the kids! Gilmer made up the bath with the big balloon animals one night for the girls, then the next did a treasure hunt in our room to find pirate treasure, then he organized a slumber party with popcorn, treats and balloons all over the bed. The girls loved all of it.

Every evening, Gilmer delivered milk and cookies for the girls too.

Gilmer was very sweet and helpful. We were his first family he tended to solo after 3 months of training. At first I think he was a little timid, but he did an excellent job of making us all feel welcome and comfortable.

The family-concierge-only areas were very nice and the reserved pool was heated which was nice. The food at the Hydro grill (as others have mentioned here) was sensational.

Overall the food was good. The Market, the Brazilian grill, where they serve grilled meat off of swords was incredible, and Passion was amazing. The Bana Tappenaki was a great show and great food. The Naos buffet had a good variety and good quality items. They catered to both North American and European pallets as well as offering authentic Mexican options. Beware the take-out coffee cups: the lids don't fit too well and several times we had spills carrying them as did other guests. The mini croissants are amazing!! Also, keep in mind there is no removing plates from the buffet. So, if you want to bring food to your room, or grab a few quick things to take as you head out for an excursion, that won't be allowed. Order room service instead. It comes quickly, although it is limited in selection.

Our girls didn't enjoy the Kids Club very much and the activities are a little low on excitement. It isn't very secure either as many times I walked in and took my kid without signing her out or being acknowledged by the staff. The space is a little to " grown up" in it's décor. They do have events at the pool, beach and at their Kids Zone which was rock climbing and bungee trampoline, but our kids simple didn't want to go even with the promise of more fun things to do as they have found it boring the first few times. Also, during the end of the rainy season, we had more than a few afternoons with rain, so those outdoor facilities couldn't be used. There didn't appear to be any additional activities planned for rainy days. Overall it was nice to have a place where the kids would be cared for, but it doesn't have a very captivating program.

I would come back again, but when the kids are a bit older and can be involved in more water sports and activities at the resort.

Lastly, the only truly disappointing thing was that we were quite obviously being groomed by certain staff to position for a Club Melia timeshare pitch. The casual, personal-level type conversations that we had with Valerie, which we thought were engaged in from genuine interest, seemed to be nothing more than fact-finding to determine if we were "good candidates" for the invite to the breakfast meeting (sales pitch). Valerie was super nice, very friendly, and was great with the girls...I wanted to believe it was genuine, but now I can't, and that is a shame.

The beach was great! The spa was great and the décor was amazing!

The place is well organized, friendly, clean, safe and inviting. Besides the minor issues above, this resort is top notch all the way!

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are a luxurious extra well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeThenPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

It is pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of our exclusive Family Concierge Area; also we are glad to read you enjoyed the culinary experience we offer, which is one of our most important attributes and we are very proud about it.

On the other hand, you can be sure that your comments and concerns are already in the hands of our heads department, as we are always in the pursuit of exceeding your expectations and provide you the reasons to come back. It is thanks to your notes we can improve our service, which is why we truly appreciate your willingness to share your impressions.

Reading your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Gilmer is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband, 3 year old and 1.5 year old just returned from a fantastic vaca at the Paradisus! We loved the hotel. We loved the beach. The pool was awesome for kids. We did the family concierge and it was great. This gave us the flexibility to eat at 2 different pool side restaurants. They came by and checked with us several times a days to see if we needed anything. They went to our room to pick up baby bottles and clean them for me. They quickly added more people to our dinner reservations. Our concierge was Virginia and she was great! The restaurants were amazing. I don't think we even made it to all of them. Geronimo and Hector were especially great in the Buffett restaurant. They took time to get to know us and help us with high chairs and carrying plates for us! Great room 1 bedroom suite perfect for the kids to sleep in one room and still let us watch tv in the bedroom. Can't wait to go back !!!!! Was sad to leave

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

Our devotedness is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of our exclusive Family Concierge Area; also we are happy to read you enjoyed the pool area, the dining experience we offer and we are very happy to learn that the service provided by our team was beyond and always focused in your total satisfaction. We will surely congratulate Virginia, Geronimo and Hector in your behalf.

We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Santiago Rivera
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
1 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#40 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,608 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $320 - $1,206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing