We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #33 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

i traveled to the paradissus with my husband and three children, ages 8, 10 ,12 for the holiday weekend. this was our 5th time going to the riviera maya area. when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised by the staff and the resort. everything about our stay was exceptional. our room was the nicest of all the resorts we had been to. the resort was at 20% capacity, which made us feel like we were extra special. the beach was not amazing and was small, but there was a BBQ and bar set up on the beach which served incredible burgers. the restaurants were by far the best of all the resorts we've visited. very high end. the pool had a "jungle gym" blow up that kept kids busy, they felt like they were on wipe out.
i typically do all the research for my vacations on my own and book everything separately. this time however, i used TRIPGUY.COM. THE BEST THING I'VE EVER DONE! mitch helped me through the whole process. initially, when i contacted him, i thought i could still get a better deal on my own. but after extensive research, his prices were much better. he was so knowledgeable about each resort and gave me an educated recommendation. he arranged my private transportation. i made a mistake and didn't print out my voucher, so when i arrived to cancun, i didn't have it. so i emailed him and he immediately called me back and fixed everything. when we arrived in our room, he had left us a very sweet note and a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries!

Room Tip: second floor was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting us as a destination for your vacation.

It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a unique holiday experience. We want to ensure that once you walk through our lobby doors, you’re able to relax and enjoy every moment of your vacation.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed our Resort, the pool area and the dining experience we offer, our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, thank you for letting us accomplish that goal.

We look forward for your next holiday in Paradise.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,667
    1,360
    449
    151
    108
See reviews for
4,724
850
28
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were consistently impressed with the high quality of service in Naos restaurant, where we had daily breakfast. Alejandro and Gilberto were outstanding, even remembering that only two of us drank our coffee with milk. They offered good service without infringing on our relaxation or privacy. Our week-long vacation was made even more enjoyable with the incredible member service we received from Griselda in Club Melia. It was a terrific trip and we are planning on returning next year.

Room Tip: Choose the swim-up rooms. They're fun and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbate2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us here on TripAdvisor

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such a terrific trip.

As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.

We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Paradisus with a corp. group of about 70 people. As their meeting planner I always seek a great hotel with courteous hotel staff, great food and ambience! All of which were met by having one of the best convention group coordinators, Alain Velazquez, who was by my side helping me out! I want to thank him and his staff/hotel for their support and assistance. In the future, I want to work side by side with him again, as I know I will be in good hands! Thank you Alain!

As for the food, their various restaurants stand out in the normal line of All Inclusive Resorts, my favorite, VENTO Rest. is a must! The are lots to do in this beautiful property, my favorite is the RED Lounge after a long day of meetings this was my hide away spot.

I'm definitely, going back with another group soon!

Room Tip: Stay at THE PERLA, all adult side of the resort and a bit more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

On behalf of all the staff at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda, we want to take this opportunity to thank for believing and trusting on us for this important group event, one of our top priorities is to provide the highest quality service always oriented in the satisfaction of our guests.

We are glad to read even you were here for a business trip; you enjoyed our facilities and the dining experience we offer. We really appreciate your compliments towards Alain Velazquez: he is a big asset of Paradisus Playa del Carmen; we will surely congratulate him in your behalf.

We look forward to welcome you once more very soon.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Magic and memorable!!! I stayed at the family concierge with my family and everything was perfect. A beautiful hotel, great food, excellent service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a top notch experience.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Jairo Adolfo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

We are delighted to read that you spent an awesome time in our property. It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create such a magic and memorable experience.

One of our top priorities is to provide the highest quality service; we appreciate your kind words. We hope this is the first of many more times we will have the pleasure to host you at the Riviera Maya.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

the hotel design is impressive.. the pool is nice good for kids, room service is not as good "to slow and bad food", the beach area is assigned most of all for jetskis and boats... cant be on the ocean front area..to take care of your kids! very expensive for the room service you get!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank chinito74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda.

Guest's feedback is imperative for our improvement as a hotel, so we certainly appreciate yours, may feel assured that we took good notes from your particular observations, in order to provide all of you unforgettable experiences and the reasons to come back.

On the other hand, we are glad to read you enjoyed the hotel design and the pool area.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future to change your first impression.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a must , the hotel is absolutely wonderful the restaraunts are out of this world very clean and tidy people every day going around to make sure it's keep like this. I didn't stay in this side I stayed in royal service adults only but walked around the hotel and Esmeralda and it was just has nice.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but the moor you spend the better it gets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and share your experience with our future guests.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed both properties Paradisus La Perla and Paradisus La Esmeralda, we appreciate your kind comments, we are glad to learn you had a very good impression of our Resort. Our goal is to provide the highest quality service level beyond our guest expectations, and it is a real pleasure to learn we were able to exceed your expectations.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the future to make more travel memories.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I traveled with my daughter's family including our two young grandsons. This was our first trip to this area of Mexico as well as our first "all inclusive" experience. The facilities were beautiful and service was amazing! We were given neighboring swim up rooms which were perfect with the two little boys; we had a blast! The rooms were beautiful and very well furnished. Our room had a comfy king size bed. However, my daughter and son-in-law would have been much happier if their room had two queen bed instead of doubles. The rooms are certainly big enough and doubles are small even for two small (wiggly) boys let alone two adults.
The children's pool was so much fun for all of us and the nearby Bali beds were perfect for nap time. The staff were always right at hand to provide whatever food or drink we requested. The fact that it was off season meant we never had to contend with crowds or lack of individual attention. All waiters, restaurant, pool and beach, were great, but special kudos to Carlos Flores on the beach! He was johnny-on-the-spot with his service and his happy and friendly attitude.
There are many top notch restaurants at the resort and the buffet even had many excellent choices. Both my daughter and I have gluten intolerance and she has dairy allergy issues as well. The staff was always wonderful about accommodating our needs. They even provided special breads and desserts for us. The only issue we experienced was that all restaurants required reservations made upon arrival and were not great about flexing on these appointments when we returned late from excursions. This might have been understandable if it were busy, but most evenings there were very few other diners. I would have rather waited a few minutes to be seated than to be on such a strict schedule.
All in all, despite a couple of minor recommendations, this was a great experience at a very well run and beautiful resort. I have already recommended it to several friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sangene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting us and recommending us to future travelers.

It is a real pleasure for us to read you had a wonderful experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda, we are happy to lear that you and your family fully enjoyed our beautiful resort and your beautiful room, we appreciate your kind compliments toward our staff, it is thanks to our excellent team that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests, we will gladly pass on your compliments to Carlos for his excellent job.

On the other hand, you may feel assured that we took good notes from your particular observations, in order to provide all of you unforgettable experiences.

It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back, and you can be sure that we will never cease in our efforts to constantly improve the quality of services provided.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,132 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
16.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,358 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing