We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the lack of customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #32 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our tips for La Esmerelda

On arrival (or before to save waiting after long journey) check you have the required number of beds in your room that you expect. Initially allocated a 1 bed suite for a family of 3 and after refusing to have a put up bed set up was moved to a lovely room. Appeared to be a common complaint as American guest complaining of same issue at the same time and many around the floor complained of the same issue.

Lovely good quality food, unless something was being made fresh for you, the food is not very hot.

Be aware of the Guest Services reps around the reception area, whilst they are helpful they are very pushy selling the Melia hotel chain. However the photographers by the pool selling a photo session acknowledge your polite decline and leave you to get on with your day, there is no hard sell which is better.

All a bit bonkers with sunbeds, we've seen people out by the pool before 6am reserving beds and 4.30 am for huts. If you wait until later in the morning no guarantee you'll get where you want.

Some staff lack any customer service and are rude, arrogant and ill mannered. Not what I expect. Everything seemed to be too much trouble. I agree with other cleanliness postings, I watched a member of staff pushing a full trolley drop a glass which smashed on the floor, whilst he picked up the big pieces of glass, before he called for help he kicked glass onto the grass and no attempt was made to clear the glass from the grass even after us picking up pieces and alerting a different member of staff. Not great considering the walkway is the main walkway by the children's pool and numerous people walk with bare feet.

Good weather and beautiful beach. Would I return? No I don't think I would. Having spent a comparable amount last year for 5* all inclusive in the Dominican Republic, their genuine friendly service and holiday experience gets my vote, this resort lacks friendly customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Onlymyopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you decided to share your point of view about your stay at Paradisus La Esmerlada.
Your opinion for us is as important as all our previous guests’ reviews. We are sorry to read we were not able to succeed your expectations due several service aspects.

We have sent your comments to the corresponding managers in order to take them under consideration and improve their procedures and customer attention at the mentioned departments. We are sure that training our personal will help us to avoid situations like the ones you have described, as we have received just a few comments about lack of attention from our personnel and we are sure that we can easily improve.

On the other hand, we are glad to read that you enjoyed delicious food in our restaurants as well as our pristine facilities.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,397 - 4,403 of 7,588 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were very impressed with this beautiful resort. This was my first 'all-inclusive' resort trip, and it definitely met our expectations. We travelled with our two daughters, ages 8 and 21 months, and were very pleased with the staff at the Kidszone, particularly Yazmin, Anahi, and Adriana. They took great care of our girls. We also had great service at our Family Concierge suite and our host Daniela. The food was very good in the restaurants, and even the buffet Naos was delicious. Overall a great family destination!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to receive reviews from our tourists, especially when they really try to communicate every detail during the stay, just like yours. We are proud that you have had a memorable stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda during your family vacations.

We strongly believe our employees are our biggest strength to provide the service all our guests deserve, that is why your recognition to Yazmin, Anahí, Adriana and Daniela has been sent to their supervisors in order to encourage them to continue providing an outstanding service.

Thank you again for your full review and please honor us again with your visit in the future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband, infant son and I stayed at this hotel recently and thought it was a wonderful hotel with very friendly staff.

From the moment we checked in Cinthia from reception was extremely accommodating to our requests and made us feel very welcome.

On arrival Carlos, who took our bags to our room was very helpful.

We stayed in a one bedroom master suite with views of the pool and partial views of the ocean. We thoroughly loved the scenery and would highly recommend that guests try and get rooms with these views.

Our baby is only 16 months old so we took him to the baby club which he loved! The room is well set up and very bright and modern. It's great for parents that would like to eat at some if the adult only restaurants as they are open until 10pm.

The one thing that amazed us was the quality of the food served at the restaurants. We felt that we were dining in top notch restaurants. The food and service from the staff was impeccable! We loved the food at Bana especially!

The beach is a short walk away and has lovely soft sand. You can see Cozumel in the distance.

We had great fun by the pool and we must thank Victor (pool concierge) for all his help and just for being great fun to talk to.

All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel for families!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuzzBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate a lot the time you took to write a review from your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

After reading your notes, we are glad to know our LUXEclusive plan fitted your expectations in every way, with the variety offered at the buffets and in all our specialty restaurants, bars and warm service.

Your recognition to the amazing job performed by Cinthya, Carlos and Victor will be transmitted to them in order to motivate them to continue providing an outstanding service to our dear guests.

Thank you again for all your valuable comments and we will be glad if you honor us again with your presence at Paradisus Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my first visit to an all inclusive resort. Although I can't compare to anywhere else, I will say this place set the bar VERY HIGH!!
Before we arrived, Ailine was in constant email contact helping to answer my questions and get dinner reservations set.

When arriving at the resort, nothing really jumps out at you as being spectacular. But the beauty and serenity lies within the walls... so peaceful and relaxing. Beautiful decor and ponds. The bellmen are quick to greet you. Ricardo was very welcoming.

We booked our stay in the Family Concierge section with an ocean view. I was worried because several people said the ocean view was a "joke." You don't see the sand and beach, but you do see out onto the ocean and I loved it. We were on the second floor and this is where my only complaint is... You can hear kids running above you and every slamming door near you which in our case, started around 5:30 am every morning. My husband and daughter weren't bothered because they are heavy sleepers. I heard EVERYTHING! Reviewers said to ask for the top/3rd floor. Which I did, but I guess it wasn't available. I don't think there's any way around the loud shutting doors, but for sure ask for the top level to avoid the sound of running above you.

Our family concierge, Daniela, was great! Very sweet and accommodating. Our daughter loved the daily bubble baths, and evening cookies. Daniela arranged for rose petal baths for us, along with some special treats to celebrate our anniversary. Upgrading to family concierge was worth every penny. Gaining access to the family concierge pool and grill was awesome. We found the lunch at the fam concierge grill to be the best!

Our 8 yr old. daughter cried after saying goodbye to Daniela and leaving the resort yesterday. She had an incredible time in the Kidzone. I was hesitant at first to leave her in there, but she found a friend and loved the activities and begged to go there all the time! Great staff watching the children.

The restaurants were amazing! My husbands fave was Mole. Mine was Bana Teppanyaki because I love hibachi. The crab cakes and "house fave" dessert at Fuego were incredible! Those stood out, but we enjoyed all the restaurants we ate at as well as the service. The servers are great! I'm hungry thinking about all of the great food we ate!

The other thing I found reviews to be "iffy" on was the beach. I found it to be beautiful! Sure, there's some stuff that washes up, but we didn't mind.. it adds characther to sand castles! The water was beautiful blue and we had no problem finding plenty of ocean space to swim in without rocks around. I can see that when the tide is high, it narrows the beach and limits how many chairs can put out. But we didn't run into any issues.

Overall, we really felt pampered! This was an amazing vacation. One I hope to re-live sooner than later!

Room Tip: ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience in our Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We are very happy to read that you had an amazing holiday, and that we were your first All Inclusive, thank you for letting us pampered you and showed you the Paradisus Experience.

We are very glad to read that before you arrived you receive the special service of our staff, and everything was perfect since the beginning to the end, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed the benefits of our exclusive Family Concierge Area, the culinary experience that we offer, our facilities and the service provided for our staff. Ailine and Daniela will know about your recognition, thank you for mention them.

We will be more than happy to host you again in the near future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went to the Paradisus at the suggestion of our travel agent. We received a call a few weeks before our trip that they had overbooked and needed to move us to the family side and they would upgrade us. We agreed to the change. When we arrived they had not upgraded us and put us in a room with a double bed...our reservation clearly said "honeymoon VIP" and "king size bed." They wouldn't do anything to help us.
Then we attempted to use our "resort credit" - this stuff isn't worth anything at the resort. I am well aware that the website says that it is good for all kinds of activities including the spa and other activities. The vendors who run the spa & scuba (etc) will not accept the hotel credits. We were told by some of the vendors that the hotel doesn't pay them for the credits, so they don't accept them anymore.
Also- if you are a family- please know that on the FAMILY side they have "activity time" and one of the activities a few times a week is POLE DANCING- out in public for the mom's. They do it beside the pool in front of kids! It is horribly inappropriate.
They have several restaurants, but the good restaurants get filled up and you may not be able to get reservations.

BOTTOM LINE: we brought all of this to the attention of management from the beginning when our first experience was to be put in a lower grade room... the upper management was the problem. They don't run this place well... all the other staff was great, but they have a few major issues with service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VKFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Traveled here 4/21/13 until 4/29/13, we have nothing negative to say about this resort, it is a family resort, they also have a adults resort next door(LA PERLA). The resort, people,food, room, and total experience was great.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat at the buffet named NAOS( we never eat buffet in the states) ask for Franklin for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinerwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience in our Paradisus La Esmeralda, we are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities, the dining options that we offer the room and to learn that you had a great experience in our Paradisus La Esmeralda.

Once again for your post, and we hope to have you here in the future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I would highly recommend this resort for anyone, including those traveling with children. We have had the opportunity to visit the Beaches resort a couple of times in the past and would say this is a very comparable vacation without the Sesame Street characters. Our room was extremely clean (cleaned each and every morning and then each evening) with my family greeted with t-shirts, backpacks, baseball hats and toiletries for my 3 1/2 year old daughter and 9 year old son. We stayed in the family concierge section with Virginia Mora our concierge whom we would have brought home with us if we could - she was wonderful! She assisted us in all of our plans while at the resort (transportation, dinner reservations, bubble baths etc.) and was great with our kids (we had her "nanny" our daughter one night so she could hang with our son in the Kids Zone and play air hockey!). We had the opportunity to eat at several restaurants and also did take in one night. The food was unbelievable with my husband and I looking at each other often asking the question, "Are we sure this is included?". We ate at Vento Restaurant two nights (Tony Tabouda was our waiter and was great) and were pampered at the Hydro Grill (in the family concierge section) by Marcos, Pablo, Gregario and Chef Oscar. Bartenders Emmanuel (family concierge pool) and Jose (main pool bar) made rockin' mojitos and specialty non-alcoholic drinks for our kids. Everyone of the additional staff members also went out of their way to make our trip amazing. I read on one review that someone had concerns about theft by staff with our experience the COMPLETE opposite. We had absolutely no issues with our iphone left out of the safe accidently one day and a note left next to it stating that they recognized this was a valuable and that they recommended this being put in the safe. Other restaurants we ate at included The Market, the hibachi restaurant (Bana) and and Passion which were all excellent - Passion being beyond any expectation I would have in an all-inclusive resort. Room service was also great as was the morning breakfast buffet. Our son and daughter only used the Kids Zone minimally but both liked it a lot while there. A great on resort activity was the parasailing off the beach (we did not go off the resort for excursions this time but did go downtown for a little shopping and Senor Frogs which is always a fun time!). The beach was really nice - some rocks as has been noted multiple times but provided all the beach fun that we needed. Again, excellent resort and can definitely see us returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest

First we would like to thank you for choosing our Paradisus La Esmeralda, Family Concierge.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed all the benefits of the Family Concierge, as you may know is the private and exclusive area, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed all the facilities, for example the private pool area, the private restaurant, the special amenities and the butler service, to name a few. Also we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our culinary experience, that is one our most important attributes and we are happy to know that you went to every restaurant.

Virginia, Tony, Marcos, Pablo, Gregorio, Oscar. Emanuel and Jose will know about your recognition, our staff works very hard to please all our guests; they are very committed to provide a quality service. Thank you very much for mention the situation about your Iphone, The honesty is a very important value for us, all our staff knows the different procedures, for example the housekeeping always invite our guest´s to let the valuables objects inside the safety box.

Once again thank you for share your recent experience, and will be an honor for us host you again here in paradise.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,843 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,207 reviews
2.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,185 reviews
6.0 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $298 - $1,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing