We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #33 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St. Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda vacation”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great resort for singles and families. The food is very good and the service is excellent. The beds in the rooms are wonderful and sleep very well. The decor and the convenience of the amenities or well organized and customer friendly. When you come to the resort please make sure you let them know right away when you make your reservation if you want the all adult rooms are the family resort this will make a difference if you are trying to get away from your kids. The tubs in the room or huge for soaking and the swim out suites are to die for! They have a lot of a activities at the resort so you really don't have to leave if you just want to relax and enjoy the ocean and jungle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceP844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with futures guests on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your contribution. It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed our different restaurants that we have in the property, that you enjoyed your room, the décor, the service and that you enjoyed the several activities that we have during the day. Our entertainment department works very hard you create a memorable experience for our guests.

If you decide to come back to Paradisus La Esmeralda or Paradisus La Perla only adults, will be a pleasure to host you.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,674
    1,364
    450
    151
    108
See reviews for
4,735
851
28
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've already included a lot of details about my trip on one of the Playa del Carmen forum threads, so I'll keep my review short and share the observations not covered in other reviews.

ROOM: Our one bedroom master suite was very spacious and well appointed and the bed extremely comfortable. It was a swim up but the water was very cold so we only swam there once when it was a particularly hot day. It was also sunny there only for half the day (it was on the left side of the resort). We used the jacuzzi on the patio 3 times, the kids enjoyed it! The layout of the room is a bit strange, and I would have preferred a more open concept. My sister's room (adjoining mine) had a very strong musty smell all week long despite multiple attempts to fix the vent it was coming from. They should not have rented out that room as it definitely was not a new occurance. The walls are very thin so a lot of noise can be heard at all hours (could be a problem with small children sleeping).

The master switch in the room seemed to reset every few hours which meant that the a/c setting automatically changed from medium fan to auto and we start sweating in the middle of the night (this wasn't just in my room, it was also in the one bedroom swimup and the junior suite used by other guests in my group). There wasn't a vent in the master bedroom so we had to keep the doors open to let in cool air.

RESORT: Modern decor, a little too built up. Would have liked to see more foliage/lawn. The restaurants all have their own unique decor. Lounge chairs/cabanas filled up very quickly very early in the morning. The cleaning staff struggled with keeping the resort clean as it was at 100% capacity. Plates and styrofoam boxes of food left outside rooms at night were still there as we returned from breakfast the next morning. The resort seemed to show significant signs of wear and tear despite only being open for 2 years. Wifi was weak at the far end of the hotel. The kids enjoyed the pirate ship pool and it was also the warmest pool. The pool with the swimup bar and the swimups were all quite cold although it was fairly hot weather.

FOOD: Most of our group were vegetarians and they struggled to find variety. The only vegetarian entree at most of the restaurants seemed to be based on zucchini, carrots, peppers and eggplant grilled with some herbs just presented differently. The buffet selection was limited and the same items were repeated. Room service menu was lacking which was a problem for me as we prefer to feed our kids in our room as they are less distracted and eat better. They would not allow us to take out food from the buffet for them. Although a request had been made to prepare some vegetarian dishes at a couple of the restaurants where the veg options were limited on the menu, they never prepared anything different and stated that they were too busy to do so. The food on the whole was average, not spectacular as I had expected based on the reviews. Drinks were also inconsistent, sometimes excellent sometimes blah.

BEACH: Yes it was narrow and there were some rocks but it was beautiful and we enjoyed it. Service was inconsistent. One day someone brought towels for us and moved an umbrella. Another day we struggled to carry the towels AND all our belongings (and kids) from the boardwalk to the loungers (a fair distance). Nobody asked us if we wanted any drinks but the bar was nearby. There weren't enough garbage cans on the beach.

SERVICE: Some sparks of excellence (service at Naos and Market was always great), but some major disappointments (a rude lady who took our room service order who acted like we were bothering her). Oliver was fabulous and helped me with my restaurant reservations and answered the many many questions I had. I was responsible for picking the resort and wanted to please a varied group so researched to death! He is very good at his job, and very personable.

KIDS CLUB: My daughter who is in between the two age groups (1-4 and 5+) didn't really fit into either group. She was too young for most of the activities in the older group and got bored in the younger category. She did enjoy having her face painted, balloon artists and crafts. The ladies at the kidszone are great and seem to genuinely care for the kids, especially the two main ladies (unfortunately didn't get their names).

After having stayed at Grand Velas last year this resort was a disappointment. However GV is a tough act to follow and its possible that we're spoilt for life after that experience. PLE was also at full capacity (GV was not) so it affected the experience. I would say if you choose this resort, manage your expectations and you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The swim ups are a good concept, but won't be used unless the weather is very hot (April onwards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank desaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Desai,

Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate your comments as it allows us to better understand your experience at the hotel.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your room, read that your kids enjoyed the pirate ship pool and that you and your family enjoyed the beach area. Thank you for recognize the performance of Oliver, he always make his best and he appreciates your recognition.

On the other hand, we are sorry to know that we do not exceeded your expectations with some of our services. We took good note of your observations and we discussed the issues with the various Department Managers, for example, Food and Beverage, Maintenance and the Kids Zone, to name a few, in order to take the appropriate measures and avoid situations, such as you described, in the future.

We would like to thank you again for your constructive review and we do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again here at our Resort Paradisus La Esmeralda, and we assure you that we will change your first impression and exceed your expectations.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having just returned from the Paradisus La Esmeralda unlike others on trip advisor we had one of the best holidays, travelling with two children aged 5 and 12 we spent most of our time in the pool which was heated as we stayed in the family concierge, the service was excellent by the pool and staff were all willing to help and cater to your needs, yes the beds were reserved early by the same people constantly but like someone previously commented on there towels and other stuff were removed after a certain time.
Our concierge Cintia was very helpful and worked from 9-11pm every day so we tried not to bother her to much, she booked our restaurant's, arranged birthday cakes for one of us which was lovely, she did the bubble bath with the balloons and brought the daily cookies when we were leaving she gave us some very interesting literature on Mexico.
We personally thought the food was very good the buffet wasn't to crowded the restaurant's were clean the food was hot and varied, lunch was by the pool very good also and most evening's were spent in the speciality restaurants or room service when the children were to tired no complaints there either.
Our room was spacious and clean the children had their own toiletries slippers and bathrobes to small for my 12 yr old but my 5 yr old loved them, the fridge was restocked every day with drinks, crisp, peanuts and chocolate I could go on and on but like i did you need to experience it for yourself oh one negative the toilet seemed to get blocked quite often but in less than 10mins the plumber was there problem solved, we experienced some of the entertainment which seemed good, the kids club did seem to be aimed for the young ones and my 12 yr old wouldn't stay and my 5yr old only wanted to trampoline and rock climb so only went to the kids zone outside, i did feel for the staff who had to cope with some unruly children who were quite disrespectful just like some of their parents who dumped them their while they spent the day drinking !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3221 facing the mangrove very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sairwesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to La Esmeralda last month - two adults and an 8 year old boy - and were fortunate to be there before the crush of spring break families. We had never done an all-inclusive before, and had an excellent time. First the good:

1. Great pool and service by the staff of the Sunset grill at the pool. Anallely and Arturo were amazing!
2. The hotel is gorgeous. Lots of mid-century and minimalist style. You need to like that look, but we do and they did it beautifully. Rooms are nice and quiet with private balconies, housekeeping excellent, property gorgeous.
3. Beach very nice, not at all crowded. Good bars at both beach and pool.

Drawbacks:
1. The kids club is really aimed at younger kids. There's an emphasis on arts and crafts and little kid stuff which may be boring for an older kid (and was to our son). It did offer several outdoor activities, like rock wall and bungee jumping but the times were sporadic. My son and his friends wanted to do bungee jumping, which they offer, but every time I asked about it I got one answer from a staff member, and a different one from another, and in fact the bungee jumping never seemed available. The resort needs to ramp up their offerings for older kids.
2. Restaurants: some good, some so-so. The variety is great and we had good meals for the most part. A drawback is that there's no food available 24 hours except for room service and the food is mediocre. Plus there was no way to get cocktails delivered to your room with the exception of a bottle of wine, which was an extra charge.


I recommend and would definitely go back, but don't expect there to be tons of things for kids to do outside of the beach and pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHICMETAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful to read your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate very much your opinion, thank you to your notes we can improve our service.

It is a pleasure to read that you had your first time in an all-inclusive with us, it is real honor for us; also we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the pool area, the service provided for our staff, the style of the hotel and the variety of the restaurants. Anallely and Arturo will know about your comment, thank you for mentioned and for noticed their work.

Please allow me to inform you that we passed your observations to the activities department and we will take notes and we will see how we can improve it. About the restaurants, we do have a night snack, is in The Market and it is open 00:00 to 05:00am, you can find a salad bar, snacks bar and a dessert bar, definitely we will work in transmit this information to all our guests.

Once again thank you very much for share your experience and we really hope to host you again in the future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just wanted to express how wonderful the service staff were at this resort. Always friendly, accomodating and willing to assist in any way.

The food at this resort was fabulous and have to say the best we've had at an all inclusive resort in Mexico.

Servers in particular at Restaurant Naos are to be commended with friendly faces daily and excellect service. Alejandro, Reyes, Geronimo and Anthony you did a fantastic job thankyou for making our trip enjoyable.

Our consierge who greeted us upon checkin was lovely and helpful each day Julia should we require any additional information and reservations. Prebooking dinners always a must!

Poolside staff must be mentioned for their fantastic service, never had better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichS489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your experience with us in Trip Advisor, we are very glad to read that you had a fantastic experience in our Resort Paradisus La Esmeralda.

It is an honor for us to learn that the service provided was wonderful and to know that our staff helped you to become your stay with us in a memorable vacation. Please be confident that Alejandro, Reyes, Geronimo, Anthony and Julia will know about your comment and how they helped you during your time with us.

Will be a truly honor host you again in the future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After a long of search and reading a lot of reviews we decided for this hotel. I had high expectations and it was a big disappointment.
We stayed 7 days in a family concierge room and although we had a good time, there were a lot of things that I didn't like (specially considering the price).

The hotel is big and has a lot of amenities but it lacks character. As another person wrote, it is impressive how this hotel ( less than 2 years old) is already so damaged in some things. For example, the parasol on the beach (family concierge side) was broken- but open anyway...
On the beach the chair (Bali bed) was dirty and the girl said it was just bird pooh and puts a towel on the top instead of cleaning it.

It's good to have family concierge because one has access to the hydrogrill at lunch time (where you can have griiled fish, shrimps, vegetables, etc) and to the heated swimming pool (when it is hot, 30°C, the water is too hot and the other swimming pools are better but if it's about 25° outside than this swimmimg pool is really good, the others are too cold)

There were a lot of things that I didn't like:
- the worst was the cleanliness of the room. It was very dirty (lots of dust, spider nets, the window to the bathroom and mirror weren't clean, etc). On the first day we had a cockroach in our room...! Talked with our concierge who arranged a fumigation and we didn't see any more cockroaches during our stay
- the room has a mildew smell (all the clothes came back smelling...)
- didn't understand how the changing of the towels in the evening works -(they only did it 3 times) and the same with the cookies for the children... only 3 times...
- nespresso capsules weren't re-stocked
- kids club it is not near the pool area and looks very dirty
- doesn't have a nice view (or sea view) from the restaurants. As a matter of fact the restaurant Naos (breakfast) is very dark and almost without day light
- don't have good and healthy bread at breakfast
- someone should tell Raul (from the swimming pool) that it is unacceptable to take people clothes from the Bali beds (the towels were still wet... One could see it was being used) and put them in the towel hut, so that he could acomodate other persons- we are not the kind of people that reserve the chairs in the morning... we only have our things there when we are really using it and we were away 30 min to eat something and Raul took our things away and put other people there. This is not the way thing should be done!

I think this hotel is overrated!

The Beach it's not the best I've seen but it's quite ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gl0bal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay in Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We regret very much that we did not impress you with some of our services. The managers of the various departments involved have been informed of the particular observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible. We assure you that what occurred is not at all a common situation and in no way representative or our overall service.

On the other hand, we are glad to know that you enjoyed some of the benefits of Family Concierge like the private pool and the private restaurant Hydrogrill.

Please be confident, that if you give us other opportunity to stay with us we will change your first impression, and we will be more than happy to host you again in the future.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed five days at the Paradius and then had five days in a beach villa in Playa del Secreto.

We booked two connecting Ocean view suites in the Family Concierge section. As most reviewers have already commentated on, the Ocean view is actually a partial view in the distance! Not sure if it is worth the extra, however it was definitely more peaceful this side then pool side.

The rooms are modern, clean and large. The balcony had a jacuzzi on it, though we did not make use of this. The kids also had special toiletries and an xbox in their room.

The family concierge option included use of the heated pool and the reserved area on the beach. Being on UK time, we made use of the early mornings, and enjoyed the empty pool between 7am and 9am. However, there were many holiday makers who came out before 6am to reserve 'their' cabanas and loungers by the FC pool and then not show up until two hours later.

The pool concierge would remove their items if they had not showed up after an hour, this caused quite a few arguments with the said people then showing up and looking for their reserved spaces. We watched with humour as grown men staked their territory! We thought it was fair though, as the same families hogged the cabanas all the time.

There is also a reserved area on the beach for FC. Although the beach is not brilliant, it was definitely the nicer part, and the concierge provided towels and drinks etc. iIt is not really a beachfront hotel and around 10 min walk to the beach.

There were no beach activities really, and if this is a holiday where you want peace, quiet and space this is not the hotel for you. We were glad to leave the noise after five days for the peace of the villa.

The food was good, our concierge booked all of our evening meals in the restaurants so we never needed to use the buffet.Too be honest we didn't really make use of our concierge as others did, all we asked him to do do was book our reservations at the restaurants, but that was fine for us.

The waiting staff were friendly and helpful, can't quite say the same for the FC reception staff. My younger daughter got an electric shock from one of the sockets, and even though I complained to Lilyanna, she did not seem very concerned.

A good modern hotel, clean and large, but not for us again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bramblehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time that you took to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the Family Concierge Benefits, like the private pool, the private concierge, the private pool, the private beach area and read that most of our staff was helpful and friendly.

Regarding the detail with the Family Concierge Staff, we already passed your notes with the manager in charge and please be sure that we took your observation very serious.

We always try to offer diversity of activities, to look for the relaxation and satisfaction of our guests, please if you decide to come back, be confident that we will do our best to accomplish.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,146 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
16.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#20 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,362 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing