We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous vacation and resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #31 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous vacation and resort”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent a week at La Esmeralda and it was wonderful. We were greeted at check-in with a cool towel and a refreshing drink. And the great service continued.
The room was bright and clean and the most comfortable bed.
We were there in January and there was never a problem finding a chair or Bali bed by the pool. The staff at the Sunset Grill were always close by asking if we needed drinks or a snack!
I loved the fact that there were plenty of beach chairs right close to the water. It was very relaxing to look out and see the turquoise water.
Jose made sure we were looked after at the beach. He was always smiling as he was running up and down the beach making sure the guests always had a cold drink!
We went to a few of the restaurants and were not disappointed. And we also enjoyed our dinners and Mayan Coffee (thanks to Gustavo and Juan for the show) at Naos. Juan, Gustavo, Mariana and Sergio at Naos were a great team.
The activities team were running around chatting with guests-letting them know what was going on around the resort. Vivi and Jonathan always stopped to say hi and wanted to make sure we were enjoying our vacation.
We wandered into the gym...pretty impressive. They have everything you need to work off that extra guacamole!
Edgar at the North Bar was mixing up drinks-whatever you suggested, he mixed it for you.
The Paradisus team that made our vacation memorable! We will recommend this resort to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

It is great to read you enjoyed the customized service from our staff in different resort areas, you felt pampered and that is what really counts for us. Your culinary experience at our top class restaurants was fantastic as well and we will keep the hard work to maintain our high quality standards.

A common concern from the tourists when choosing a resort is the beach area. We have been working to maintain it free of rocks and seaweed brought by waves. It is great to know you had a pleasant time relaxing by the turquoise sea and the sandy beach.

We appreciate your recommendation to other tourists to visit us and it would be a pleasure to host your again at Paradisus La Esmeralda.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,951
    1,420
    472
    158
    116
See reviews for
5,026
889
31
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We were 3 of us including my 3 year old, all of us agree that the experience was nothing short of amazing. We stayed at the family concierge and it was outstanding service. Our little one probably had more fun than us, it was a such a blast for her that she wants to go back soon. Lucy & Jessy at the kids zone kept her occupied and she had so much fun with them that she still talks about them.The beach side service,butler service, the restaurants especially the "Bana" all we're amazing. There service at the Naos restaurant (Jerimeo) and the way they take care of you was fantastic. There was absolutely no negative to this property. We would go back there again!!!.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We can read between the lines from your comment that you were even smiling when you were writing your review, remembering your 3 year old good times at the resort.

We are happy to know that your family and yourself were able to live the Paradisus experience and you loved it. Lucy, Jessy and Jeronimo will be informed about your recognition to their outstanding job. All of them are a true example of the warm service we strive to provide everyday in our resort.

Please remember that in Family Concierge you will find your home away from home in front of the Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just returned from Paradisus La Esmeralda and La Perla. Let me start by saying "WOW" The resorts are well planned with a unique modern elegant design. The staff is very friendly and professional.There are many fine restaurants to choice from with gracious service and wonderful cuisine. We really enjoyed Fuego and Bana Fusion Restaurants. We had great service from our waiters Ivan Delgado and Eliezer Medina at Naos buffet and Juan Botones at the Market Grill. Our room was a spacious master suite at the vacation club section. Lolita from vacation club lounge was so helpful in planning our vacation before and during our entire stay. Griselda was amazing with all her expertise help and planning. When we were at the La Perla Royal Service the bartender at the Palapa Restaurant Luis Alberto made us speciality drinks with kind service. At the pool bar, the bartenders Melquiades and Jorge served us happily everyday.The Palapa Restaurant service was impeccable especially our waiters Reneau and Ivan. We were greated daily by the hostess Andrea who always had a smile and a warm greeting for us. Fernando made sure we had a pool bed made up daily with an opened umbrella for my husband. Passions restaurant is a must. The food and wine pairing was superb with gracious expertise service. The mgr. Pierre was extremely helpful with his suggestions. Oliver,the guest service mgr.and Verlucia from family concierge greatly contributed to making our vacation memorable. We enjoyed the top notch nightly shows. The resort exceeded our expectations. We look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We were on the 2nd floor. There are swim up rooms as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glegler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Wow, you remember the names from all the staff members you had contact with. Thank you very much for that. It really means you were delighted by the service provided by all of them and of course we will share your notes with them. Our staff works hard every day to pamper our guests and by your comments we can see they did it with you.

We appreciate you took the time to share your incredible Paradisus experience, including our original facilities, quality restaurants, entertaining shows and your suites´ comfort.
We will be waiting for you with our arms wide open.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am one of the 14 people listed in the prior review (3 families). We had an incredible stay and the service was amazing! We were pampered from the minute we stepped off the shuttle. Fuego is the best restaurant by far, probably one of the best in the world! A big shout out to Griselda and Alicia for understanding what hospitality truly means... They are superstars! Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are proud to have personnel as attentive and customer oriented like Griselda and Alicia at the Club Meliá desk. Definitely we will transfer your notes to them and be sure that they will keep their service vocation to pamper you again during your next vacations with us, at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

Thank you for your notes and receive warm regards from Plata del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a great trip we had. We were very happy with the hotel! It is only 1 year old so everything is new, clean and cool looking. the decor is fantastic, on the website I thought it was computer generated images, but it does, in fact, look exactly like that. The staff is very good, most speak english, but if not, it is still easy enough to communicate. I recommend bringing 5$ bills to every meal to tip your waitress/waiter, then the next time they will know you and will bring you what you want without even asking. The quality of alcohol changes too once you tip. Plus, 15$ a day to you (if you are going to this hotel) is not a significant amount, but for them it is and they greatly appreciate it. We had a swim up suite and it was fantastic. The jacuzzi tub on the balcony was to die for. The SPA... don't even get me started, though for that price it is what you can expect. The only annoying part was the time-share tour, we declined the tour politely right away and the gentleman was a bit pushy, but all hotels in mexico do that so it's nothing new. we didnt want to waste even 1,5 hours (that they promise it is, though i highly doubt it), so it was ok. the beach was a bit rocky but if you walked a couple of feet it was fine. we have no complaints at all, everything was fantastic!!
I would like to mention the fantastic service that we have received from the following employees of the hotel:
Everardo Cortes- swim up bar where the inflatable obstacle course is
Alejandro- red lounge bar
Mireya Rangel-customer service
Tony Taboada-Vento restaurant(outstanding waiter, HIGHLY recommend)
Alba Karina- North Ave bar
Enrique Evelio Darwin at the breakfast restaurant.

We LOVED everything about the trip and will definitely return again!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom swim up suite. It was away from the main pool so it was more quiet then the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussiaNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I visited Paradisus Playa del Carmen for the second time in a year. It was marvelous the first time, and, perhaps even better the second time. The resort is immaculately kept up, the staff make you feel so welcome, and the food is marvelous. The nightly entertainment is the best I've seen at a resort. There are enough activities to keep you entertained, but no pressure to participate if you want to chill.

Special thanks to Darwin, Enrique and Luvelio (sp?) in Naos and also to Vivi at La Perla pool area.

I visited with my mother this time, and will be back with my husband in a couple of months. I can't wait.

Room Tip: I don't think are any bad rooms. I had pool view at La Esmeralda and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

It is great t oread that you decided to visit us again for the second time in a year. That can only mean one thing: we surpassed your expectations in all ways.

Our activities program was created in order to keep all of our guests happy, entertained and even learning interesting things. We are pleased to read that you took advantage of it.
We will be waiting for your return with your husband during the following months.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I waited a while before writing this review. Let me just say overall I enjoyed the trip. This is the first time that we have stayed at a large property as I normally prefer smaller venues. The standout of the facility is the choices for dining I truly enjoyed this aspect, Passion, Fuego even snacks at the bar where are nice touches. Once you got the hang to the all inclusive any beverage that you wanted you could find. However, the check in and check out where marred because of the reservation system. I read a number of reviews that had the same issue and I would implore this property to rethink the system or sue the folks who sold it you because it is terrible. I booked the reservation through an auction site paid in full up front months before the vacation and Paradisus never found that our reservation was paid for. We were asked at check-in, check-out and after we got home could provide proof of reservation and I emailed the receipt at least 5 times. The front desk never received it. This issue put me on edge during what should have been a relaxing vacation that was sorely needed.
On positive note, decor was nice, all the staff really enthusiastic and helpful, spa was lacking, room service on the Family Comceirge side where stellar. We assigned a room there all though just a couple so we spent most of our time on La Perla side. If I was advising someone I would suggest the swim up suites as the outdoor jacuzzi is awkward as there is absolutely no privacy from room to common areas.
My advice is to wait until this property works the kinks out unless there is a phenomenal deal and you are prepared for some bumps. Sorry.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fmjmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

We are sorry to read that due a misunderstanding between the reservation system you used to book your holidays and our front desk, your overall experience was tarnish and you did not get the relaxing experience you were hoping for. We will investigate what happened with the communication. Definitely it should not be that way.

On the other hand, it is pleasant to read that you could enjoy all the facilities, the attentive service from our staff members, the delicacies offered at our specialty restaurants and some tasty cocktails at our diverse bars.

We are sure that on your next Paradisus experience, you will start your vacations since the moment you reserve your room.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#22 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,527 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,256 reviews
9.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,670 reviews
16.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus By Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing