We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #31 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent one week at La Esmerelda. The room was beautiful however needs soundproofing from hallway. Guest services was excellent. Hats off to Natalia, Liliana and Oliver who were always so helpful especially when we incurred difficulties while attending Coco Bongo. After explaining what had happened they came back to us within 24 hours with 2 possible solutions which we were more than satisfied to accept. The restaurants were delicious. Make sure and spend the $45 for Passion as it is well worth it. Since we were there with no children we spent most of our time on the La Perla side. Kudos to Rigoberto, Luis and Jorges at the Sunset Grill. It was a great week!

Room Tip: I don't think it's worth paying extra for a swim up suite since the water in the pool is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Excellentlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate you decided to write a review from your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

Our guest service team has been informed about your kind words regarding their amazing job; the same way to Rigoberto, Luis and Jorge at the Sunset. The effort from our personnel to satisfy our guests´ need was reflected on them and they deserve to know it to encourage them to continue by the same line in the future.

We are pleased to know that you had a fantastic week with us and we really hope you will come back in the near future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,076
    1,452
    478
    158
    117
See reviews for
5,161
901
31
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I'm writing this review to let everyone know that first and foremost this resort is amazing! Food, rooms, beach, and service are all top notch. If you need an exceptional 5 star family resort this is for you. Now the bad stuff...our room was robbed by someone from the staff...and the "investigation" is ongoing as I'm writing this post. So far this has made an otherwise excellent experience highly diminished. I still have 6 more days here to see what management does...and I'll update this review accordingly. At this time I have not been offered any explanation, compensation or anything other than "we're investigating".

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Maxlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate you took a few minutes from your vacations to post your experience on Trip Advisor.

First of all, let us assure you that our security department is investigating about your belonging.

This is an uncommon situation and we are the firs interested to clarify this unfortunate event.
As you may know, an investigation needs some time to get the most possible information and we hope to provide you a positive response in a few days.

Meanwhile, keep enjoying our fantastic facilities, our LUXEclusive plan to satisfy all type of palates, warm service and beautiful beach.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I recently stayed at this resort with my two year old daughter and family for a wedding and we absolutely loved it. We were provided excellent service at breakfast every morning. We specifically want to thank Rafael Velasco, Gilberto, and Rigoberto Santos for exceptional service. I would come back again. My only complaint is that the pool water was too cold to go in..even my two year didn't want to go in the kiddie pool since the water was ice cold.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for posting such an optimistic review from your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

As you mention in your comments, at Paradisus we truly enjoy pampering our guests, specially the smallest ones, who´s happiness is reflected in every single smile they show on their faces. We are pleased to know your two year old daughter had an amazing time here with us.

Please be sure we will transfer your comments to Rafael, Gilberto and Rigoberto from the Naos restaurant. Of course we are glad to have them as part of the staff, and your recognition will stimulate them to keep their distinguished way to assist our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience in Trip Advisor and we will be waiting for your prompt return.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We just came back from Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda. We were there with 3 other couples and everyone was blown away. The swim-up suites were so beautifully appointed, we felt like we had our own oasis in this huge resort. Because it is an all inclusive, we could sit in the water right outside our patio and have drinks and food brought right to us. The ambiance of this resort is amazing. Every little concern for detail is noticeable, with so many spots to relax and just soak in the beautiful environment. The food was really quite impressive, especially the restaurants La Palapa and the brazilian style Grill. The service was A+++. Every employee was so courteous and professional, especially Griselda in Guest Services and Anallely our pool side server. These two made our trip! Our only complaint is that the beach is very small, due to erosion. Playa Del Carmen may have to dredge up sand to form more beach, like they did in Cancun. The Spa services are pricey, but they were an unbelieveable treat/splurge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabkramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your complete and detailed review from your amazing stay at Paradisus La Perla.

We are completely glad to read you felt pampered by most of the staff, especially from Griselda and Anallely. Both of them went beyond your expectations and we will transfer your notes to them.

We are glad to know that you and your friends took advantage of the incredible comfort provided at your swim up suite, just getting out to the balcony and immerse directly to the swimming pool and enjoy our LUXEclusive plan from there.

We would love to have you again as our guest so you can remember everything you experienced with us and be treated as you deserve.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Myself & my husband and 3 friends who are in our late 20s, along with my mother, my sister her husband their 2 kids ( 2 & 4 years old) went to this resort for 10days in November. We stayed on the kids side 90% off the time except to eat some nights. Not only was this resort amazing for kids but catered to adults as well. I have been to many hotels/resorts around the world and I have never seen friendly staff like I have seen in this resort. The pool had a pirate ship with slides for the kids to play on along with a kiddie pool beside the sun chairs so parents could watch the younger kids. The poolside service was exceptional mostly because our waiter was a guy called Luis. He took extremely good care of use every single day. His friendliness and personality made our days by the pool even better along with his attentiveness. Barnaby was another waiter also who was excellent also. Look for either of them if you are at the kiddie pool you wont be disappointed ! ( And tip them!!, they work extremely hard) . This resort also has kids zone which is open all day until 10pm which will take 2-4year olds i believe if parents need a break during the day or just want to have dinner in any of the restaurants on the adults side. My 4 year old niece loved kid zone! We tried nearly every restaurant which where all very good but our favorite was definitely Bana which is Thai food alonf with a sushi menu & hibachi . We ate there 4 times and the sushi was excellent extremely fresh! The highlight of our trip was spent in the North Bar where we went every night because was had 2 of the best bartenders & staff in the resort. Alejandro & Usias ! Not only do they know how to make any drink you can think of but they where so much fun and so friendly. These guys know how to have fun with the guests and work hard at the same time. All the liquor is top self like Grey Goose, Captain Morgan, Jack Daniels etc..which you never get at most all inclusive resorts. I have to say I was very impressed with both these guys and hope when we go back next year that they are still there! Overall I would definitely recommend this resort , Is caters for all ages and myself & my family are going back again next year along with other friends who want to check it out now! You will not be disappointed with this resort!

Room Tip: When checking in ask for a room with a balcony jacuzzi that faces the pool as they are the same pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We can read between the lines from your comment that you were even smiling when you were writing your review.

We are happy to know that all your family members and yourself were able to live the Paradisus experience, and all of you loved it. Luis, Barnaby, Alejandro and Usias have been informed about your recognition to their outstanding job. All of them are a true example of the warm service we strive to provide every day in our resort.

Thank your highlighting our Paradisus atmosphere ideal for everybody! Our guests from all ages find the way to enjoy their vacations as they want: fun, relaxation, tan, food, drinks, details, comfort, treats, games, smiles, beach, pool, and so on.

We will be waiting for your return next year with your family or to our little piece of Paradise and we treasure your wide recommendation to future visitors.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My subject says it all.
Ive spent an amazing week at the resort, if your looking for an all inclusive resort in Mexico, your search ends here. Im a picky customer and im only looking for luxurious, new and clean hotels.
The design of the hotel is superb, everywhere i looked i was wondering how expensive building such a resort must have cost. Its within an hour of drive from the airport. The staff was friendly, not a single bad word to say, of course not everybody speaks perfect fluent English but they all tried their best to communicate as best as they could with us. The beach is amazing, it was pretty crowded but we always managed to get chairs. I also saw the staff accommodating large groups with chairs. The food is great, I cook for a living so this part of the experience was very important to my satisfaction. it really went beyond my expectations. There is even a BBq right on the beach: what could you ask more!?!? Our rooms were great. Turned over twice a day, witch ive never seen before. Special thanks to Jeronimo who provided drinks to us on the beach.
There are many other waiter who did a great job but unfortunately i dont remember their names.
If i would like to dig deep and find cons about the place, it would probably be that its not as secluded from the city streets but really once your in there you forget about it. And the Buffet section in the morning was a little bit dark.
Appart from that, ive spend an amazing week. We will definitely be back, there must be thousands of similar hotel but each time you choose one you make a gamble on how your vacations will be, i wont take that gamble!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeromeDespault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for selecting Paradisus La Esmeralda for your recent vacations.
Now you know that we are committed to satisfy every guest need and we pay attention in every single detail. All of these just to create an unforgettable and amazing experience. We are glad to read you got home with this sense after your stay with us.

Please be sure that Jerónimo will be notified about your recognition to his amazing labor and his importance on your overall experience. We are proud of having him as part of our staff.
The same way, we were content you really enjoyed our delicacies at our restaurants due your experience in the field, as well as the comfort and elegance from your room and our “pure freedom” philosophy, in which all that matters is your full relaxation, letting us taking care of everything.

Thank you again for your preference and recommendation to future tourists to live the Paradisus experience.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had an amazing time, will definitely be back next year; food was good (albeit a little bit salty), the rooms large and the bed was extremely comfy.
Only drawback is the beach which is narrow and crowded and you are allowed to smoke; unfortunately most of the smokers just bury the cigarettes in the sand.
Our daughter (3 years old) enjoyed the kids activities room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maratoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind words and comments from your recent stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

Our guest satisfaction is our priority and your comments about the cigarettes at the beach will be taken under consideration. We are committed with the natural environment and this behavior from some guests affects our beach conditions.

Thank you very much for uploading some photos in your post and we will be waiting for your return next year to our portion of Paradise!


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,716 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,660 reviews
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#43 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,422 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,977 reviews
16.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing