We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible place ¡¡” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #32 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible place ¡¡”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Everything in this great hotel was incredible ¡¡¡ As soon as we arrived we were very well Attended
The facilities , there is a lot .. beautiful green area to walk Amazing beach and a beautiful sea..
But it exceeded my expectations was the quality of service of room service..The food was very good, quality and always on time Many boys were commissioned to serve us but a waiter in particular was very friendly his name is IRAM It is funny and helpful, all the time mentioned very well from your place of work and their heads HE advised us to put my comment here ..thanks paradisus ,room service IRAM, CARLOS (chef) AND EDUARDO... On behalf of my family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alissa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know about the outstanding service provided by Iram, Carlos and Eduardo from room service. Their effort is shown on their work and you enjoyed delicious food in your suite´s comfort.

Please consider to stay again in Paradisus La Esmeralda for your next vacations in the Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,490
    1,307
    430
    144
    105
See reviews for
4,527
818
26
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Tappan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just got back from a 10 day vacation from the paradise and more..Ok so much to say about this gem!!! This is truly paradise. Ladies if you want to feel pampered and worth like a million bucks you come here. We were a family of 5, 3 boys, (twins 1year old) and if it was not for the luxury of this place and the help that they gave me I dont think I would have been any happier.My boys were taken care at the kids zone with so much affection by Adriana, Klara and the rest of the girls. Bruno loved all his teachers and the karaoke and movie nights. And the best thing my date nights with my husband where I would go for dinners and drop all the kids at the kids zone from 8-10pm.. 10 dates in a row, I never can go out this much with my husband for the whole year but they made it happen.
So luxury everywhere, this place is so clean, so modern. The attention that they give is superb. Thank you to Pablo who gave us frozen frappucinos at the swim up bars. Thank you Ivan for cleaning up after my boys, and with a smile in his face.
Everyone is not just fake nice here, they are REALLYY NICE

And the best Thanks go to my new Friend Oliver, you are truly amazing. You are so self-confident, you know how to talk to people and how to make them happy. We will never forget the bday party THING 1 THING 2 you threw for my twins 1st bday party. You went out of your way and bought the thing 1 thing 2 shirts and the teachers looked so cute with the boys. Thank you for the delicious cake, thank you for giving us a memorable vacation.
I would have stayed for 1 month in this place if I had a laundry at an affordable price. We thought paying 5$ to wash a shirt was way too much.

Club Melia Thomas rep need to change his attitude a little bit, he shouldnt be so pushy and interrogative. Other than that we had a BLAST!!!!!

We are already looking for deals to come back in 2013, I mean i finally found my place. PAradisus you stole my heart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that your family vacations at Paradisus La Esmeralda were full of surprises and now your family has an unforgettable great experience.

You highlighted the caring and attentive service provided by most of our staff members, specially to Oliver, Adriana and Klara, who went beyond your expectations with the party organized at the Kids Zone for your little twins. We are proud of them and in general with the team we have built in less than a year since the opening and we are confident we will keep the same level of service. Our mayor interest is to create everlasting memories in our guests.

We will be happy to host you again in 2013 and all the times you want a relaxing and pampering family getaway.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Me and my family came back from a vacation at the Paradisus Esmeralda this Summer, and we don't have words to express how much we loved the hotel. the service is simply the BEST.
We stayed in the Family Concierge, which is a personalized service, and if you have a big family you should ask for it.
Everyone in the hotel is very friendly and kind, and always serves you with a big smile in the face. The luxury is something of another world and the beach is just fabulous, the water is so clean and blue...
I've heard some critics about rocks in the sea, but I can assure you that there's any problem with that. Otherwise, I would love to make a very good reference to some of the workers of the Hotel and it was a pleasure be served by them, I just have good things to say about Daniela, who is probably the best concierge of the hotel for me, Agostim, Sérgio, Vivi and specialy Ivan Morales who is extremely friendly.
If you go to this Hotel, you cant miss any of the night shows, they are great. My favorites shows were The Lion King, and Mickael Jackson.
To finish my comment I would like to share one of my favorite memories of these vacations, it was witness the birth of babies turtles on the beach of the hotel and later see a giant turtle spawning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

We are pleased to read you really enjoyed your vacations at Paradisus La Esmeralda – Family Concierge, where you were delighted by their attention to details, tailored amenities and services, and the special assistance provided by your Butler Daniela, Agustín, Sergio, Vivi and Iván. Please be sure that all of them have received your recognition to their job.

Having the opportunity to witness the birth of baby turtles is a fantastic experience. We are pleased you saw it. We have the privilege to receive turtles in our beach from July to September.

We wish you will consider staying again with us for your next family vacations in a paradisiac place.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our trip to the Paradisus was truly an amazing experience! All of the staff were very professional and treated us like royalty. If you are considering going with your family, I would highly recommend the Family Concierge service.Our butler, Jose, and his peer, Alberto, helped create a truly wonderful memory for our children. The Family Concierge pool area was a little slice of heaven. The wait staff of Carlos, Edwin, the most brilliant chefs and all the other employees that served us made us feel like they were part of our family!!! The decor throughout the hotel was top notch as well as all of the food that was served there. There really is not words to describe our experience!! We are very sad that our trip had to end and would love to return here!!!

Room Tip: Worth spending the extra to get a One bedroom master suite if you are taking children for the privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest,

We can read between the lines from your comment that you were even smiling when you were writing your review.

We are happy to know that your family and yourself were able to live the Paradisus experience and you loved it. José, Alberto, Carlos and Edwin have been informed about your recognition to their outstanding job. All of them are a true example of the warm service we strive to provide everyday in our resort.

Please remember that in Family Concierge you will find your home away from home in front of the Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowata, Oklahoma, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Paradisus was beyond incredible. The swim-up suites were fantastic. The service was phenomenal. Anallely in the Snack Sunrise at poolside was so friendly and ensured that we had everything we needed. Antony Ramirez and Termin Lopez greeted us each morning with extraordinary service. This all-inclusive resort doesn't skimp a bit -- the food was chef-prepared and out-of-this-world. The pool was beautiful. We've enjoyed Cancun before but this location and hotel was so much more relaxing. The service was really fantastic. The whole experience totally blew us away. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The convenience of the swim-up suites was really great. No need to pack a bag to go poolside -- jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the unforgettable experience you´ve got during your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We appreciate your recommendation to future guests to enjoy everything Paradisus offers, like delicious food, brand new facilities and attentive staff willing to satisfy all our guests´ needs.

We will be happy to welcome you again in our resort, next to the unique Caribbean Sea.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This Paradisus is an excellent choice. I will give them 5 Stars. The rooms are beautiful comfortable and modern. Overall the Hotel worth every penny you spend. The quality of the food at every restaurant is 5 star cuisine. The attention from the staff was excellent they were extremely attentive to all our needs and made us feel very welcome. We like to go back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad to read you left the property with an unforgettable experience and you would like to come back to Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We will work hard to maintain the warm service, food and beverages excellence and facilities, so you will find them the same way or even better on your next visit.

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is definitely a great choice. It's very beautiful and the rooms were comfortable. The attention from the staff was excellent. What we appreciated and enjoyed the most was the awesome attention from a gentleman in one of the restaurants named Rafael Velasco (Raffa). He was extremely attentive to all our needs and made us feel very welcome and at home. We believe that having employees like him, makes vacationers like us, want to go back again.

The Miami Cubans!! =o)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Receiving comments like yours where some of our employees are mentioned make us feel proud of their service attitude and devotion they have to their job. Please be sure that Rafa Velasco will be informed about this recognition to his work.

We would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,858 reviews
9.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,272 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing