We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 10th year Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #31 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our 10th year Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our trip to the Paradisus was truly an amazing experience! All of the staff were very professional and treated us like royalty. If you are considering going with your family, I would highly recommend the Family Concierge service.Our butler, Jose, and his peer, Alberto, helped create a truly wonderful memory for our children. The Family Concierge pool area was a little slice of heaven. The wait staff of Carlos, Edwin, the most brilliant chefs and all the other employees that served us made us feel like they were part of our family!!! The decor throughout the hotel was top notch as well as all of the food that was served there. There really is not words to describe our experience!! We are very sad that our trip had to end and would love to return here!!!

Room Tip: Worth spending the extra to get a One bedroom master suite if you are taking children for the privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest,

We can read between the lines from your comment that you were even smiling when you were writing your review.

We are happy to know that your family and yourself were able to live the Paradisus experience and you loved it. José, Alberto, Carlos and Edwin have been informed about your recognition to their outstanding job. All of them are a true example of the warm service we strive to provide everyday in our resort.

Please remember that in Family Concierge you will find your home away from home in front of the Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,956
    1,420
    472
    158
    116
See reviews for
5,029
889
31
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nowata, Oklahoma, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Paradisus was beyond incredible. The swim-up suites were fantastic. The service was phenomenal. Anallely in the Snack Sunrise at poolside was so friendly and ensured that we had everything we needed. Antony Ramirez and Termin Lopez greeted us each morning with extraordinary service. This all-inclusive resort doesn't skimp a bit -- the food was chef-prepared and out-of-this-world. The pool was beautiful. We've enjoyed Cancun before but this location and hotel was so much more relaxing. The service was really fantastic. The whole experience totally blew us away. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The convenience of the swim-up suites was really great. No need to pack a bag to go poolside -- jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the unforgettable experience you´ve got during your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We appreciate your recommendation to future guests to enjoy everything Paradisus offers, like delicious food, brand new facilities and attentive staff willing to satisfy all our guests´ needs.

We will be happy to welcome you again in our resort, next to the unique Caribbean Sea.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This Paradisus is an excellent choice. I will give them 5 Stars. The rooms are beautiful comfortable and modern. Overall the Hotel worth every penny you spend. The quality of the food at every restaurant is 5 star cuisine. The attention from the staff was excellent they were extremely attentive to all our needs and made us feel very welcome. We like to go back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad to read you left the property with an unforgettable experience and you would like to come back to Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We will work hard to maintain the warm service, food and beverages excellence and facilities, so you will find them the same way or even better on your next visit.

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is definitely a great choice. It's very beautiful and the rooms were comfortable. The attention from the staff was excellent. What we appreciated and enjoyed the most was the awesome attention from a gentleman in one of the restaurants named Rafael Velasco (Raffa). He was extremely attentive to all our needs and made us feel very welcome and at home. We believe that having employees like him, makes vacationers like us, want to go back again.

The Miami Cubans!! =o)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Receiving comments like yours where some of our employees are mentioned make us feel proud of their service attitude and devotion they have to their job. Please be sure that Rafa Velasco will be informed about this recognition to his work.

We would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I visited this hotel from 9/11/12 to 9/17/12, the place is beautiful, the restaurants were all terrific. We happened to be there at a time when it wasn't that busy and we loved that.
The staff were so accommodating I have to compliment first and foremost Griselda in the Club Melia office who was so sweet and helped us with dinner reservations and tours, she was a joy to work with, she gave us great info about the hotel and the area. I also want to compliment several employees Nazario (I'm not sure if its spelled right) he's a Doorman and Hector a Bellboy; also Rafael Velasco and Miguel. I also want the compliment Nicholas a waiter in LaFuego Restaurant he was wonderful, also all the bartenders at the Sunset Grill down by the pool and the waiters there were just great, I wish I had all their names, but they were indeed great. Loved it! This part of the hotel is family friendly catered to children, I would definitely go back as soon as my soon to be born grandchild is old enough. The Mexican people get a bad rap sometime and I have to say they opened my eyes, they were like our family by the time we left. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Our most important asset is our personnel, as you could experience in diverse areas from the resort: at the entrance with Nazario and Héctor, at our restaurants with Rafael and Nicolas or at the Club Meliá with Griselda. We are completely sure that their attentiveness combined with our innovative facilities and our magnificent location in front of the turquoise ocean have been crucial for us to rank the resort between the tourists´ favorite All Inclusive resorts in Playa del Carmen.

We feel satisfied to read you left the property with a wonderful overall experience and remember that your new family will be waiting for you at Paradisus.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at this place in February and there really wasn't anything of significance to complain about. Food was outstanding, pool was great for the kids. Staff were friendly and mostly available when you wanted them. Biggest complaint? No Canadian whiskey and getting the in-room bar restocked was hard, even when we dropped big tips. The food was so good that we were kind of tired of it after 5 days. It was pricey, but when you look at all the amenities for the price, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canuck_Rawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your Paradisus experience, even 7 months after your stay with us.
We are pleased to read that our kids’ oriented facilities were a great place for your children, that you enjoyed our gastronomic tour and that you were pampered by our attentive staff.

It would be great for us to receive you again at our little piece of Paradise next to the Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 12 days, August 29th through September 9th. Even though this is my first official review on TA, I have been travelling for 23 years and 2 to 3 times a year. I will cover the negative first!

Paradisus could be a 5 star resort with a little attention to detail. I received on a daily basis, a glass that was either visably dirty or cracked or my drink would have something in it. This happened at different areas of the resort (I.e. restaurant, bars). It would always get changed right away and the server would genuinely apologize. In our room, the rugs, glass partition and balcony glass door were dirty for the entire stay. The leather headboard had ink marks all over the left side. Even at a four star resort, quality control should always be practiced. We had to call to have the mini bar stocked at least five out of our 12 days. There were always little bugs flying over the treats in the Family Conceirge. I also noticed this at the buffet a few times. Maybe the resort shoud consider using the clear serving trays that open and close to try and avoid the bugs getting in. Did these incidents ruin our vacation....NO, but when you advertise LUXURY and 4.5 stars, these are things that should NOT be occurring. Now on to the good.

Paradisus is a BEAUTIFUL resort and the staff is FANTASTIC! Every time you ask for something it was "No problem, it's my pleasure". The staff truly is the reason our vacation was enjoyable! From the time we checked in Georgina (Gina) was at my beck and call. She is the sweetest. Gina was so helpful. When she was working, she would always ask if we were ok and if she could do anything to make our stay better. THANKS GINA for your geniune hospitality.

The food here is definitely 5 star. We tried every restaurant at least once. The food at all of them was DELICIOUS. Especially MOLE, PASSIONS and LA PALAPA, which were our favorites. The servers at all restaurants addressed you by your last name and put your napkin on your lap, opened and closed the doors for you, always greeting you with an Hola and a smile. Customer service at its BEST! Ernesto at BANA was so sweet and helpful. Offering recommendations of sake and food. I fell in love with the salmon salad he suggested. He was my server every time I ate at the sushi bar. He was always smiling and very attentive. He is a true star. Other true stars were Cabalan and Mario at LA PALAPA, Eddie and Ali at NORTH BAR, Rigoberto and Bianca at the SOUTH BAR, Luis at MOLE, Wilder, Fernando Lopez, Rafael Velasco, Antonio, Carlos, Ivan, Miguel, and the hostess Liliana at NAOS. They are all true STARS. THANKS to all of you, our vacation was a blast! I can't say THANK YOU enough.

The pools were nice with excellent service, drinks and food. The beach is rocky but the sand white and so soft and smooth and the water is beautiful. Service at the beach was great as well.

Entertainment was typical resort style. It was just ok in my opinion.

Paradisus has got it right in terms of customer service, ambiance and food. Like I said, with a little attention to detail, it can definitely be a 5 star resort.

I would recommend this resort in a heart beat even with its flaws. We had a great vacation and I hope when we return in December the areas of concern have been addressed.

Again thanks to all the staff whom helped make our decision to come back an easy one.

Adios mi amigas y amigos. THE RANSOM FAMILY.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divatraveler512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Ransom Family,

Thank you very much for your full review including your observations. As you may know, comments from our guests are important for us because you let us know the exact elements in which we have to work on. Please be sure that your notes will be taken under consideration.

We are pleased to read that after spending fantastic 12 days at Paradisus La Esmeralda, you were impressed by the service provided by our attentive personnel. We will inform to all of them about your recognition to their amazing job, as they were a significant part from your Paradisus overall experience.

We are happy already about your return in December and we appreciate your wide recommendation to future Paradisus guests.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#22 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,527 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,258 reviews
9.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,917 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida | corner Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus By Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing