We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cenote Chaak Tun Av. Juarez, Playa del Carmen, Mexico”
Review of Cenote Chaak Tun

Cenote Chaak Tun
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Cenote Chaak Tun Tour in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cenote Chaak Tun Av. Juarez, Playa del Carmen, Mexico”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Interesting day trip from our hotel. First we toured Chitchen Itza, our guide was very knowledgeable explaining about the Mayan ruins and the people's way of life. Our lbuffet unch was included at the hotel on site. Then on to the caves where you take stairs built in the rock to reach the underwater pond. After our dip into the water went on to this wonderful medieval town of Villadolid. We returned to the Royal at the end of a long but very interesting day.
This visit took place last February while at the Royal Playa del Carmen.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,309
    404
    71
    19
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Palestine, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Experience/Must see!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Visited the Cenotes Oct 2013. Beautifull underwater caves, fantastic formations, very large..quite the experience! Guide kept it well lit for us and took gorgeous pictures for us. Water is cold,but you get used to it right away. It's just one of those places you need to experience..mother nature has again outdone herself!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved Chaak Tun”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We discovered the Chaak Tun cenote through the Playabus tour. It is great that this group of cenotes are located so close to Playa. You just head straight across the highway and stay on Juarez Avenue. Was a great few hours snorkeling/swimming and discovering the underwater caverns and experiencing total silence and darkness in one when we all shut down our lights and were quiet for 5 mins. True relaxation! A must do if you like discovering all the cenotes in the mayan riviera. They have everything there that you need..snorkel equipment, water shoes (we'd bring our own next time), helmets if you want them, life jackets if you want them, and there is a person taking pictures if you like. Picture purchase price is $10. It was 200 pesos to get in.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Samlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“CENOTE LIFE”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

If youve never visited a cenote then your missing out. Even if you just go down the stairs it will put a smile on your face. Unless your a miner it's probably deeper than you have every been. If you swim in it's cool, clean and clear water you'll experience joy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best excursion I've ever been on”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This excursion was great. It was well organized and planned. As soon as your get off the ship they have a sign where you pick up a sticker which gets you on a nice air conditioned ferry ride to Playa Del Carmen. The boat ride can be a little bumpy, so try to find a seat in the center of the boat. Once at Playa Del Carmen you are met with your excursion guide who than places you into a nice air conditioned bus that takes you directly to Cenote Chaak Tun. On the way they give some history of the caves and also some history of Mexico. There's some interesting information shared by the guides. Upon arrival you are given water shoes, life jackets, lockers and helmets. After you change you make your way through the forest to the cave where you are met by a Mayan priest. A brief history is given about the Mayan people and than you begin to enter the caves.
The caves are a great experience. the water is fresh and crystal clear. There are some deep sections, but you have a life vest so there's no reason to panic. You also see some fruit bats, which are harmless. You will get some amazing pictures If you bring a water camera, however they have a photographer which has photos for purchase. The tour lasted about 90 mins.
After the cave excursion you are taken to another cave for a great Mexican buffet. The food is really good and drinks are provided. You are than taken back to Playa Del Carmen where you can go to the beach, shop or go to the bars. The beach is beautiful so make you to check that out also. Your tour guides designate a meeting place where you will catch the bus back to the ferry to Cozumel. This was a great excursion, definitely worth the money, they take care of everything and the food is great. I highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Live_Vicariously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenote Chaak Tun also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenote Chaak Tun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing