We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church

Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church
Book In Advance
$50*
and up
Native's Park ATV Adventure in Playa del Carmen Including Cenote Swim
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scotland
Level Contributor
299 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Located on 5th Avenue,this is a beautiful church. It's open day and night to pop in for a visit. 10 AM mass on Sundays is in English.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank visit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    202
    50
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were delighted to attend church here twice while staying in Playa del Car.The Sunday mass was complete with mariachi band.We felt very welcome here and enjoyed the music and the service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ANNE MARIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this Church!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed being able to go to Mass at Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church and at Capilla de Nta Señora del Carmen on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank reddenpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“an oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

a really nice surprise to find this chapel! It was beautiful and a very peaceful stop. My kids were our scuba diving in fairly rough conditions and I was glad to have a quiet moment to ask Mary to watch over them!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I got to attend Sunday Mass at Nuestra Senora del Carmen and it was such a lovely experience. It was all in Spanish (as expected), but they did provide a pamphlet with the readings in English. It isn't air-conditioned, but there was good ventilation and I was fairly comfortable. The Mass only lasted 50 minutes and that was even with it being a First Communion day. The fantastic music was a highlight.
Note: if you'd like to attend Mass in English, the church has a pretty chapel at the end of 5th Ave. near the ferry dock. They have many English Mass options on Sundays.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura-MarisStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing