We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomely Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #74 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

4 overall. Highly recomend this site. Stayed there for part of honeymoon. Extremely nice service and people.

Not near all the clubs. Noise was never an issue.

Just had an issue with the breakfast. I was under the impression we had paid for it but turns out we didn't. I really didn't care for it. We paid 60-65 us dlls. So it was a really good barging.

Nice place overlooking the 5th Avenue. At least the room we got (room #1). Nice for drunk chill nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cygnusmando85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear ambasssador( as we kindly name our guests),

On behalf of the Xperience Family, we would llike to thank you for your preference on your recent stay at one of our hotels in the heart Playa del Carmen : Xtudio Comfort. We feel honored for being chosen to become part of this special celebration in your lifes, your honeymoon!!.Its is very rewarding to know that you had an awsome stay, enjoyed our facilities, attentive staff and breakfast at our Restaurant Casa Nostra.

We look forward to have the opportunity to serve you in a near future!

Warm regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 275 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice hotel. I looked online for a couple hours to find a nice place and Xtudio seemed perfect. The price shown on the website read $335 pesos per night. Awesome. I went there with full intentions to stay for an entire month.

BUT . . .

At the front desk it was suddenly shocking to be told the price per night is $800 pesos, for one person.

The guy at the front desk then said, $600 per night is the lowest price.

Chock it up to false advertising, or perhaps the front desk guy is on commission.

Just my heads up . . . hope it helps.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank Online-Today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Sir.,

Your comments are very important for us, since it is very important to guarantee the right information to our guests. We are very sorry for the misunderstanding, we have a strict control of the rates at the official rates where we promote our services at and it may be an isolated situation that is important to clarify. In order to make a proper follow up of your kind report we appreciate you provide us with more details or documents of the rate you saw that day in order to clarify the misunderstanding in person. Please provide a contact number or e-mail at your earliest convenience to reach you.

Looking forward for your response,

Carolina Baca
Guests Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We found this hotel by chance, thanks to the generousity of the man at the desk Praxedes (Actually a greek name), who recommended us about the place.
Well, the ratio between what we got and what we paid was so huge!
We had our apartment, fully equipped (kitchen especially), air-conditioned, very clean, with wi-fi and very cute design for about 500 MXN only! and add to that breakfast that was included, and add to that the fact that you actually have a balcony just ABOVE the 5th avenue, and you feel the atmosphere very close (don't worry, it's not noisy or something).
Pay attention that it was brand new when we entered, so the price might have been quite friendly.
Anyway, very recommended for longer stay, and for couples, partners or families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orenahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Ambassador(as we kindly name our guests),

Thank you for the 5 star comment!!,we are very honored for your preference for Xtudio Comfort Hotel on your recent visit ,your valuable feedback motivates us to continue making our best every day in order to succeed our guest’s expectations. We are glad to know that you loved the attentive and professional service of Prax, we will this effort of him. We also appreciate your recommendations to other future travelers, a better recommendation than your “own Xperience with us” could not exist!

Looking forward to having the opportunity to pamper you soon.

Warm regards,

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have stayed in what I consider to be a downtown hotel before ( the Illusion on calle 8 between 5th and the beach-which I loved) but didn't realize how much noise could come from the clubs in the area. We arrived at the Xtudio only to be bumped to one of their sister properties Aqualuna. What are you going to do? Thought we'd try it, it might be lovely. I'll review Aqualuna also, but I'll just say it was an older hotel and the Xtudio was newly redone and from the pics online looked much nicer. (Also had a bit of noise from Coco Bongo's.) We went back to the Xtudio the next day just to check out the rooms so I could at least know what they looked like in person. My husband and I agreed we would like to spend some of our vacation at the hotel we booked. Andrea (?) was kind enough to call around and we were able to come back halfway through our six day vacation. We were in room 10 on the 4th floor. I don't know exactly where all the noise came from and I don't blame the hotel at all....but it was pretty noisy until 4 or 5 am. We kind of wished for our Coco Bongo crowd that let out and left. These were partiers at some bar in the area and there were times I thought they were right in our bathroom. Odd acoustics where we could make out conversations from three floors down with our bathroom window shut. I know some people weren't as bothered by the noise and I'm sure different nights are quieter, but it was a real issue for us. I didn't complain to management as they have absolutely no control over something like that. I will say all the employees at both Xtudio and Aqualuna were very nice people and always asked if everything was good in our room. "Prax" was kind enough to get us an extra blanket when I told him my husband and I had made it through nearly thirty years of marriage due to not having to share a blanket at home. :)

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank MNhasSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a nice place if you are on a budget and can stand a lot of noise overnight, they party next door til 5 am every nite!

We were in room 10 on the top floor. There's a small kitchen with appliances, which was nice. Bedroom was big, comfy king bed. Bathroom is small, a tight squeeze around the toilet to get to the shower. Decent shower.

Prax at the front desk is the nicest man! We had many good chats and he suggested Nativo restaurant on 30th St. for dinner and it was great. Thank you Prax for your kindness and help.

Xtudio is a nice place, we'd stay there again if we had to. The only problem with it is the noise at night, and there's nothing they can do about it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor at the back to lessen the noise at night. Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funkynassau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear ambassador( as we kindly name our guests),

Thank you for your comments, it was an honor to host and serve you during your recent vacation. We are grateful to know through your review that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the attentive service of our staff, specially Prax's. We understand how important relaxation is and although our facilities were designed as comfortable as possible, however, the fact of being located on the core of the crowded Fifth Avenue, make it challenging to control noise, unfortunately a situation out of our hands. We hope this situation had not represented a blemish on your overall Xperience with us.

We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you soon.

Carolina Baca
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very comfortable sweet little hotel on 5th ave, few blocks from the ADO bus station and few from the beach! Very clean and well air conditioned, kitchenette equipped with full size refrigerator/freezer, ceiling fan was a plus. We brought a small speaker and played music from an internet radio, street noise was no problem. Walked to Mega for grocery and having coffee and breakfast in the room was convenient and fun. Water cooler downstairs was very convenient to fill up our bottles. Restaurants everywhere and great finds away from 5th ave! Complimentary Wifi worked great and beach towels were huge and clean. All of the staff were friendly and very attentive! Will be back very soon! Great value!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LeanPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Xtudio Comfort Hotel was recently acquired by the Xperience chain. We were sent here after booking a room through Booking.com at their companion Aqualuna Boutique Hotel. All the other guests that we met were in a similar situation, most likely because of overbooking.

In addition to the disappointment with Xperience management, we found that this hotel was overpriced. It's very noisy during the night, it has no garden, no elevator, no concierce service, and no mini bar in the rooms. We had to go to yet another Xperience hotel a couple of blocks away for breakfast and the beach club at Mamita's was very far, 30 minutes walk at least.

I suppose it's not a bad accommodation in case you're searching for a studio apartment with kitchenette, especially if you book directly and are not sent here "by chance" coming from a better and more expensive hotel. I'd not recommend any hotel of the Xperience chain, though, due to our bad experience with overbooking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#48 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#92 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Serenity Eco Luxury Tented Camp
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#107 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
654 reviews
1 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#79 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: 5th Avenue Between 4th And 6th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel El Sol del Caribe)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $71 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtudio is a beautifully priced comfortable hotel located in the very heart of the world famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen. Its essence lies in the simplicity, functionality and safety of the 10 spacious studio-apartments coupled with a distinguished "Infinite Hospitality" provided by Xperience Hotels. Xtudio best trait is the premium location, at literally steps from the pristine beach and the variety of things to see and do in Playa del Carmen. Each studio features a kitchenette, dining room and some of them a balcony overviewing 5th avenue. Xtudio counts with safe deposit box and free wifi in each room. Relax on the sun lounges and enjoy an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea from the new roof top of Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels. The excitement of the trendy restaurants, bars and clubs, the convenience of all the exclusive shops and services, make Xtudio the right place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtudio Comfort Hotel By Xperience Hotels Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing