We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price!”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #25 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2007

I stayed at the Aventura over New Years and the first week of January. I enjoyed my stay and felt that the hotel was great for the price we paid.

The staff - They are exceptional! Whenever we had a request or needed assistance we were able to get assistance and they always followed up and wanted to make sure that our need or request was satisfied. I was very pleased with all of the staff members that I interacted with.

The rooms - When we first arrived we stayed in the small palapa, which was fun, however, they didn't have a mosquito net over the roof, which made it interesting because we had to battle with the mosquito's, however, we were only there for a couple of days before we were transferred to a regular room. The rooms were very clean, I personally didn't have any plumbing issues in the time that I was there.

The food - I was impressed with the breakfast selection that was offered. The food was great; fresh fruit, juice, eggs, and a variety of other breakfast foods depending on the day.

Location - Perfect!

Safety- I am a woman, so I always think about how safe I feel at a hotel. I felt very safe here. There was a security guard up front after 11pm in the evening and the front doors were locked.

This is not an American hotel nor is it a four or five star establishment, so make sure that your expectations are in check. It is a simple hotel that is a great place to stay if you are looking for somewhere safe, affordable and clean.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank Gr8lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2007

Be careful when you book this hotel to be sure you are not placed on the "family" side of the hotel, unless that is what you want. Despite the fact that my reservation made no mention of a "family" room, my partner and I were told that since we booked on Orbitz that is what we got. My Orbitz confirmation just says King Superior.

The first room we were given was accessed by a sliding glass door, its only source of light, which was two feet from a heavily used sidewalk. Just beyond the sidewalk was a small pool where some very noisy children were playing.

To their credit, the staff did show us two other rooms, one of which we chose due to less noise and a greater sense of privacy, though outside our window was the hotel loading zone. All three rooms smelled bad. Not just a little off, but bad, like a serious plumbing problem.

The adult side of the hotel certainly looked more charming, though I can't speak for the rooms on that side.

As for the positives, I did love the location of the hotel. I also found the exteriors to be well maintained. The staff was generally helpful.

I am not a picky traveler. For me, location, price, and noise level are my top three concerns. Having said that, I think that even in Playa Del Carmen, I can find a better deal and will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank etimer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

I stayed at the Aventrura during Xmas break and had a very nice time.. Found the staff pleasant and helpful.. all you have to do is ask as they're not going to read your mind. They are multi lingual and I think conversing in Spanish if you know even a little goes a long way. Ricardo was always very helpful and friendly.
This is a no frills hotel so be advised not to expect pampering if that's your thing. The breakfasts are great, the rooms are clean and well kept. The only issue I had was the plumbing was not always reliable and that is my only complaint. Otherwise, I would definitely stay here again. You can't beat the location ..minutes to the beach and off 5th Ave so it's nice and quiet. I would recommend to friends as well.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rik576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelling_fan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: No tienen ascensor, pero las escaleras son amplias y fáciles de subir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 141mariaisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $95 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing