We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #26 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
marimar75
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Fantastic time at a quaint and beautiful hotel. Our family of three had a wonderful time. The only thing we wish to see in our next stay is child seat/chair at the Mayan Bistro, which by the way had the best Margaritas in Playa.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of rooms and quaint feeling of the hotel
  • Disliked — Availability of child seat at Mayan bistro.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marimar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    468
    84
    15
    9
See reviews for
377
882
88
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Aventura Mexicana is a great deal -- the grounds are well kept and attractive, the room was cleaned daily, the breakfast was fine, and the staff is very helpful. The hotel has an amazing location in the less honky tonk part of Playa -- one block from Fifth Avenue, five blocks from the best beach. Right next door to a great Italian restaurant owned and run by a lovely woman from Rome. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Price, location, cleanliness, grounds, hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank drewfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Aventura Mexicana for 6 nights from Dec 1st. The hotel is an attractive building located around an open, palm filled courtyard and was spotlessly clean everywhere. Front Desk staff were friendly and courteous at all times as were all the employees we encountered. It's one block off the northern end of 5th Ave.

Our room was spacious and kept very clean by Lupita. Sheets and towels were changed daily and the bathroom was fully supplied with soap, shampoo, conditioner etc. There was also a small refrigerator, coffee machine, fresh water dispenser, safe deposit box and TV in the room. The bed was a king size and, while quite firm, was also very comfortable and we slept well.
Other than the fact that the semi-private bathroom (wall does not reach to ceiling) is not ideal, everything else about the room was fine.

Despite being just off 5th Ave the hotel is very quiet and peaceful and the courtyard is an oasis of tranquility, especially at night when the lit torches and pool lighting give it a wonderful ambiance.
Continental breakfast at the hotel restaurant, the Mayan Bistro, is good and you can pay an extra $5 for a cooked breakfast or visit one of the many restaurants serving breakfast within a few minutes walk.
We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks nightly at the Mayan Bistro bar where we received very friendly service from Angel and Jolie and also had an excellent dinner on our last night.

The hotel recommends Kool Beach Club which is just a few blocks away. The hotel supplies towels and you pay $7 per person for the wooden loungers at Kool. There are also cheaper and more expensive options. Our average bill at Kool, where we usually spent 4 to 5 hours on several days, came to about $40-45 USD, which we thought was great value. This included lunch for two, 4 or 5 beers, bottled water, lounger charge and tip . Food was very good (try the fish and shrimp tacos), beers were cold and service was fast and friendly.
The sand is total powder and stays cool no matter how high the temperature. Note that topless sunbathers are in abundance all along the beach, in case you are of a conservative bent or traveling with children.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Aventura Mexicana and will definitely return.

  • Liked — The size of the room and teh cleanliness
  • Disliked — The fact that the bathroom is not fully enclosed.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LINYKenmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights in November. The room was very spacious & kept clean. They had serious A/C & wireless internet in the lobby, which were nice treats. The property was really pretty & the location was perfect - a 1 minute walk to 5th ave, 5 minutes to the beach. The hotel was really quiet & I felt safe & comfortable there.
My only issues are that 1) i booked through Orbitz, and they quoted me as getting a "Superior King Room with Garden View & Balcony". When we checked in, we got a 1st floor room with a view of the street, and no balcony. They simply shrugged at the front desk, and said they couldn't do anything. They offered to let us change rooms for our 2nd & 3rd nights, but we didn't want to deal with the hassle of moving rooms, and at a price of $65 a night, I didn't really care. Just be careful in your expectations with this place. 2) Our room was swamped with mosquitos. Despite wearing tons of bug repellant, my boyfriend & I both got tons of bites on us. 3) They offer massage at the hotel, which s awesome. Except that the woman giving massages was extremely pushy & was walking around the property, wouldn't leave us alone. She kept trying to rub my shoulders, it was very weird.
Overall - for the price, you can't beat the location & cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — mosquitos in room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yohagopelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa bay florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We spent 6 nights in Playa del Carmen for our Honeymoon in November. Hotel Aventura Mexicana was fabulous! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was very good and the room was always nice and clean each day when we returned in the afternoon. We loved the location. It was a short stroll to the beach or to the pedestrian only 5th Ave. The hotel is located in a more quiet part of Playa del Carmen which was perfect for Honeymooners but close enough to walk down to where the action is then escape back to the tranquility of our room. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Staff, layout of the hotel, location, food.
  • Disliked — squeaky ceiling fan
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank atrain19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Our stay at Aventura Mexicana was an enjoyable one. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and nice. Although I booked a reservation via Yahoo travel, the standard room was a good one. It was pleasing to find a 20-liter water dispensing system as well as a microwave and an unstocked refrigerator in the room. Some reviewers have complained about there being no door to the bathroom area in the rooms. Technically, that is true, but it will not really be an issue with most people. Our reservation talked about a room with a “balcony.” What we found upon arrival that our balcony was really the open corridor to the room, which overlooked the pool and courtyard area. In the hallway corridor there was a small table attached to the wall and two chairs. My wife and I frequently used this table for our lunches and for having tea in the evening and found that the arrangement worked pretty well. Previous reviews noted that the hotel had a cat named Olivia. Even though I am a dog person, I found her to be a rather endearing animal with protruding teeth. She was an aggressive beggar that sometimes left me wondering if she was a dog trapped inside of a cat’s body. She seems to eat everything but marmalade. The pool area and lovely grounds were very well kept. On several occasions when we thought about maybe trying the pool, we noticed that a fair amount of plant debris had fallen into the pool. The pool was rarely used by people, but added to the ambience of the hotel. Other reviewers have noted that the hotel is only a few blocks from Mamita beach. Actually, the walk is more like 6 blocks, but it just seems like a lot less because much of the inviting walk is in or near the pedestrian zone, 5th Avenue, with its inviting restaurants and lively ambience. One can rent chairs at the beach at calle 28 or one can simply go south a little ways and there are free umbrellas where one can just sit on the soft sand and let the world go by.

There is a huge supermarket, Mega, about a half dozen blocks from the hotel. We bought bread, fruits, cheese, sliced meat and other goodies for our lunches there. Mega likes to compare its prices to the nearby Wal-Mart and claims its prices are lower. Surprisingly, many vendors on the streets were also making the claim that their prices were lower than Wal-Mart.

Restaurants for tight budget people.
The Mayan bistro at Aventura Mexicana offered specials for only $5 and “two for one” drinks all day long, which turned out to be a decent meal and drinks at a bargain price. Unfortunately, in our 10-day stay, the specials only changed once so that limited the number of times we ate there. At the front desk, if one asks for a map, there is a coupon in the pamphlet for a free dessert at the Mayan bistro. The dessert is enough for two people and very nicely done. Although the restaurant lists special prices for 60 pesos or $5, if one pays in dollars, the price can become $6. The restaurant seems to follow the traditional exchange rate of only 10 pesos per dollar, which is typically found all over the streets. There are money exchange places all over Playa on 5th Avenue where they pay the real exchange rate of about 12 pesos per dollar. Consequently, while one can pay in dollars in most places, it is almost always best to pay in pesos to avoid the extra cost..

On 5th Avenue, as one goes north, there tend to be slightly cheaper restaurant prices than if one goes south. At La Fe, we found a “catch of the day” meal for only 65 pesos (about $5.50). The first time we ate there, the fish was excellent. Several days later, we went back for the same dish. My wife got the same excellent fish, while my piece was a lot less tasty and barely chewable, much to my dismay. La Fe has limited tables on the inside that resembles a campus beer bar in the U.S. The outside tables on the street are much better, but oftentimes there are no free tables and cigar smokers tended to congregate there during our stay.

Many people mention Babes Noodles as a good place for dining. There are actually two of these restaurants in Playa. If one goes north on 5th Avenue from AM, the closest one is found. Babes looks inexpensive, but really is not. While I thought the food there was very good, my wife was less happy with her dinner. The 1847 restaurant right next door has more bargain dinners, and we both found the food to be pretty good. One place to maybe avoid is Aca Los or something like that near Constitution Avenue on the main drag. Their prices looked low, but the portions were so extremely small that one had to order more and more dishes to fill up and even then we went away a little hungry.

Other Things.
We took the ferry to Cozumel to spend a day there. Contrary to a lot of published items, the ferry did not run about every hour, but sometimes there were 3 hours between departures. We had hoped to walk around town and maybe swim on Cozumel beaches. We found the town to have none of the liveliness and ambience of Playa and quickly got tired of walking around the city. Also, there are no beaches within walking distance of the ferry dock. Ferry prices were recently increased to about $12, so round trip tickets for 2 totals about $48. Consequently, the trip for us was a bust and not worth the effort. If one is really into snorkeling (and one has to go outside of town and make arrangements for this) or diving, then Cozumel potentially has something to offer.

X-caret, Tulum and Chichen Itza. We bought tickets on-line for X-caret beforehand supposedly saving 10%. But when buying the tickets on-line, a tax of about 10% gets added back on so it is dubious if buying in advance that way is worth it since it did not look like people buying at the window paid such a tax. I noticed that most people bought the “plus” package which really is not necessary. One gets snorkeling gear as part of the package, but snorkeling in the underground rivers seemed kind of silly given there is no coral or anything to look at in the river or even at the special snorkeling place as far as I could tell. I was advised that one could not bring one’s own food into the park, but no one checks bags and no one seemed to object to us eating our own food in the park. We got to the park using collectivo vans that leave from calle 2 in Playa and then taking the free shuttle bus to the park from the highway. When leaving at closing time, the shuttle bus did not come after waiting a long time so we took the ADO bus back to Playa even though it was a few bucks more that way. The ADO bus is the “Cancun” bus that also stops in Playa and there is only one bus at 8:45 pm. We also used the collectivo van to get to Tulum to see the ruins. One has to get off at the Arqueologica Zona before reaching Tulum itself and then walk a few blocks to get a “train” to the site or to walk another half mile to the entrance. On the trip to Chichen Itza, our bus guide promoted the buying of a pendant (“cartouche”) where one could have one’s initials/name in Mayan symbols made into a piece of jewelry (silver or silver with gold). The jewelry samples that were passed out showed good craftsmanship. My wife ordered such jewelry and found that her finished piece that was available at the end of the day was a cheap, gaudy imitation of what the sample pieces were, probably just silver plated. Fortunately, one did not have to pay in advance, and she refused to buy the piece even though most other people accepted their pieces. The price for the pendent in pesos was equivalent of $44 (based on a 12 to 1 exchange). If one had paid in dollars, the cost was $58, which again, underlined the need to pay for things in pesos.

  • Liked — ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank dognlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

This was my 3rd stay at AM, my Mom's first stay and first time in Playa! She absolutely raved about AM! Once again the hotel has been consistent with cleanliness of rooms/common areas/bar/grounds! Friendliness of staff is so important and AM does not fall short! I booked directly thru the hotel website and recived a 25% discount for a 3 or more night stay! I might add I stayed from Oct 31st - Nov 6th! I will and have recommended this hotel to friends and will stay here again!

  • Liked — price, location, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#21 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing