We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Fabulous”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #25 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My sister and I and our husbands just enjoyed our fourth stay (in as many years) at the fabulous Aventura Mexicana. This trip seemed better than ever, only because this is the best place to stay in Playa del Carmen and we enjoy it more every time we’re there. We’re treated like royalty, starting with the minute we make our reservation (Andrew Mortensen is the best). Unlike the very large resorts, it’s a smaller boutique hotel where you don’t get lost in the crowds. You get to know practically all the staff, especially in the Mayan Bistro Restaurant, and you’re always treated special.
When you check in, you’ll most likely be assisted by the Guest Services Manager, Luis Ortiz. Luis is so fun and personable, and he’ll do whatever he can to ensure you’re taken care of and happy with your accommodations. We had an unfortunate problem before arriving at the hotel, and Luis was able to quickly get us the assistance we needed to resolve the problem.
We stayed in delux king rooms with garden/pool view, which are located on the main floor in the adult section of the hotel. There’s also a family section, with a separate family pool. In the past, we’ve also stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floors and have never had problems with any of our rooms. There are no elevators between floors, so be sure to request a ground floor room if steps are difficult for you. I actually prefer upper floors so that I get some exercise since I tend to eat too much of the great food from the Mayan Bistro. Our rooms were spacious; and the beds and pillows were comfortable, and you’ll be provided with sufficient organic toiletries, which are replenished each day after use. The rooms were always cleaned very well each day.
The Aventura Mexicana is not located directly on the beach, however, it’s about a 2 block walk to the beach, and you have beach access from the hotel. It seems that most guests prefer going to the beach every day, so we had the adult pool practically to ourselves every day. There are 8 lounges and several tables located around the adult pool. Both the 2nd and 3rd levels also have lounges, and we used lounges on every level at different times. The pool is also located right next to the Mayan Bistro, where there are tables both outside and inside the restaurant. This made it convenient for us to walk from our lounges to the restaurant when we were ready for lunch or snacks.
We purchased the VIP All-Inclusive Plan, which we’ve done for our last 3 stays here (it wasn’t available the first time). With this plan, you can have unlimited food and drinks from the Mayan Bistro Restaurant, and this restaurant is fabulous. The VIP plan can only be purchased through the Aventura Mexicana website and its well worth it. The restaurant is relatively small, and we have gotten to know each and every person on staff whom we always look forward to seeing when we return each year. (Staff turnover is rare.) You also don’t have to be a guest of the hotel in order to eat at this restaurant. Since there are so many great things to say about the Mayan Bistro, I don’t know where to start. The Shrimp or Fish a La Plancha is extraordinary. We all agreed that the extra large shrimp tastes just like lobster! My hubby raved about the Tortilla Soup and the Cream of Celery and Gorgonzola Soup. The Mayan Salad was my favorite starter, while my sis and her hubby ate the Cesar Salad almost every day with their meals. (For more great information about this restaurant, you should visit the Trip Advisor Restaurant reviews.) A big thanks to all the Mayan Bistro staff, who have always made us feel special: Chris (manager), Dora, Candy and Sarah (breakfast and lunch servers), Gaby and Nicholas (dinner servers), and a special thanks to our favorite bartender Jorge!
A final big thanks to Rob Smearing for being our Aventura Mexicana friend and operating a fabulous hotel! We WILL see all of you again next year!!!!

Room Tip: Since there are no elevators, you might want to request a room on the main floor if you have difficu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GizzieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hola GizzieLou,

WOW...is all I can think after reading your most thorough review of your 4th vacation experience with us. You and your husband are truly great guests and the team enjoys having you visit each year. Now we need to just find a way to get you here more often....which I believe you are already working on:)

Thanks so much for your time in writing your review. I know it will give future travelers a great idea of what to expect when staying with us.

All the best to you both and see you again sooner than later I hope.

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had another wonderful stay,everything was perfect. The property was very well maintained, and the pool and gardens were abundant with flowers and birds singing!! We did the VIP program and could not of been taken care of any better, the food was delicious and drinks refreshing. All of the staff were happy to serve you and went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Thanks to everyone for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulyc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Well hello there Paulyc54,

The team and I are happy to know you had another enjoyable vacation with us and you felt everything was perfect! I am glad you enjoyed our gardens...I would venture to say we have the best gardens of any boutique hotel in Playa! We take great pride and care in maintaining them as they are a true asset for us, our guests, and the wildlife that enjoys them.

We look forward to your return trip and the opportunity to make your next vacation even better than the last.

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2014 instead of going the all inclusive route. Our room was small but clean. The staff were all very accommodating and friendly. The pools were very small but if you are a sun worshipper the beach is only 4 blocks away. Continental breakfast was great, we did have a full breakfast the last morning and it was great as well, as well as very reasonable. If you're looking for an affordable, quiet, clean hotel close to 5 th ave, this place is great, we will definately be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank riderfan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hola Riderfan20,

I am happy that you enjoyed your time at our "Oasis" within the beautiful Playa del Carmen. I am sure it was a great escape from the cold of Canada! I am also glad you mentioned your satisfaction with our lite continental breakfast. We have made many improvements over the past year based on our guests feedback. We want to provide a quality lite breakfast with our room rates while still keeping our rates budget friendly. For our guests that wish to have a more substantial breakfast we have some great options at very reasonable prices.

Thanks for choosing us over the "All Inclusive route" and we look forward to your return visit.

All the best to you and your family!

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed January 26 to February 2, 2014. We booked back in August directly through the Hotel website.
The location is excellent, only half a block from 5th avenue and a few blocks from the Mega.
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was excellent. They all provided 5 Star service. Our room was always spotless.
We spent our days at the Indigo Beach Club. The hotel has an arrangement for access at no charge. The service provide there was fantastic as well.
If you want a break from the all inclusive the Aventura Mexicana is an excellent choice. We didn't sign up for the VIP option because we wanted to experience the local restaurants. The meals we did have at the Mayan bistro were delicious and the service from Nicholas and the other staff was first rate.
We met Rob the General Manager and he truly understands customer/client service.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Our only negative was the hard beds, a foam topper would be awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koolieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hola Koolieca,

Thanks for the shout out and the kind words about your experience with us. We were glad to provide you with a paradise escape from the cold in Canada!

Just a note for future travelers: Providing bed preference is always a challenge in the hotel business but please know that we are hear to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. We have foam bed toppers available upon request. We also ensure all of our mattress are in excellent condition but if you like a little extra cushion please just let us know.

Keep warm Koolieca until your next Playa escape!

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Very good!
Well, if I need to summarize our 8 nights vecation in few words I will say:
Great location great service goid rooms and bad restaurant.
The rooms are big, clean with refrigerator.  The bads are comfortable.  In the shower the hot water are not so hot but good for shower in this weather.
The services:
Well, Luise from the customer support was very nice and answer all my qastions by mail before we arrive and in the front desk during our stay.
In addition all the front desk employees was very nice and help us in any question.
The restorant: our room include American breakfast.  Well, I can't call it breakfast.... bouild eggs bread butter and orange juice for my opinion is not breakfast especially when you with childrens. The service in the restaurant is bad, even if you want to order somting from the menu.

Another last thing: if you need texi or tickets to attractions in or around Playa Del Carmen don't reserve from the hotel. You're on the 5th Avenue evety meter you have taxi dreviers with cheaper price as well as tours and attentions.

Hope this helps you to decide if you want to go to this hotel.  I will definitely return to Aventura Mexicana.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Naama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Namma B,

I am happy to hear that you had a very good experience with us on your 8 day vacation. I am sorry that your restaurant experience was not as expected. As far as I know there is no room rates on the internet for us that include an American Breakfast with the room so I apologize if there was some miss understanding. All of our rooms come with a lite continental breakfast that includes: fresh juices, coffee, tea, hard boiled eggs, whole fruit, yogurt, granola, cereal, white and wheat toast and in house made pastries. I would like to ensure that there is no miss leading information on the internet so if you have a moment please email me the details of your reservation. rsmearing@aventuramexicana.com

We look forward to your return and the opportunity to improve on your very good vacation!

All the best to you and your family!

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a charming hotel that has a perfect location, friendly and helpful staff and is very clean. This is not your typical all inclusive generic American style hotel. If you want the chain hotel experience, this is not for you. The rooms are entered via a sliding doorwall that has a key lock. The bathroom has a 3/4 wall partition and no door. There is a coffee maker, small fridge, microwave and a small cruise ship style safe with a key lock. The bed was very firm but comfortable. a ceiling fan and individual room air conditioning allows for complete temperature control. Hot water is scarce during peak periods, but luke warm is OK for us. We were on the third floor and a mobility impaired person could not manage the 35 steps. The pools were very clean and well maintained and the grounds are beyond compare. You are literally steps from 5th avenue with all of the restaurants and shopping. Louis Ortiz is the best concierge for booking excursions, restaurant reservations and any information you require. Many thanks to Louis (we really loved the fantastic Valentine's evening reservation you secured for us at Alux) and the staff for their kindness and excellent service. Although this hotel was not the ocean front luxury style hotel we usually choose, we were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the adult side courtyard are very nice, but there are many stairs to get to the upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hola BrightonLarry,

I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us for your two week stay. It is very important to us that our guests are comfortable and are able to enjoy their paradise vacation. Just so you are aware we have many projects this year that will make your next visit even better!

Luis say's hello and he agrees that he is the best concierge to assist with the booking of our guests tours:) He is very knowledgeable and only works with reputable vendors that guarantee our guests satisfaction. Just sit with him upon arrival and let him know what Adventures you seek and he will guide the way.

We wish you all the best BrightonLarry and hope you can stay 3 weeks on your next visit!

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and have stayed here numerous times and most recently in early February. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. Need a rental car - done, Restaurant suggestion - a good one - all set, beach club to visit for a day in Tulum - yeah they suggested a great one. Beautiful courtyard, good coffee in the morning, 3,blocks from the beach and very reasonably priced. Your gonna really like it here and your gonna come back - guarenteed.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank NHRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hola NHRick family,

It was great to have you visit us again! Your review is perfect because I think one of our best traits is our willingness and ability to sit with our guests to understand what adventures they are looking for so we can point them in the right direction. Our staff is very knowledgeable, especially Luis, of all that the Riviera Maya has to offer and we have great relationships with reputable tour operators and business owners to ensure our guests are taken care of.

We look forward to your next stay NHRick family and the opportunity to make your next Playa adventure even better than the last!

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $95 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing